Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
Description of Licenses

Program overview

produce  
The Oregon Department of Agriculture (ODA), Commodity Inspection Program is responsible for regulating wholesale produce dealers, cash buyers, and retail produce peddler operations which purchase produce from Oregon producers. The ODA issues annual licenses, and requires a surety bond of wholesale produce dealers for the protection of producers in cases where the dealer fails to pay growers for the purchase of products. 

The Transaction Verification Program​ at ODA also enforces proper labeling as to the content, weight, address of shipper or dealer, and any pertinent established grade. 

Back to Top

Wholesale produce dealer

NOTE: Licenses and bonds for Produce Dealers are no longer required. This includes license types: Wholesale Produce Dealers, Retail Produce Peddlers, and Cash Buyers. The effective date for this change is July 1, 2013, which coincides with the date a new license would have been required.
Back to Top

Retail produce peddler

NOTE: Licenses and bonds for Produce Dealers are no longer required. This includes license types: Wholesale Produce Dealers, Retail Produce Peddlers, and Cash Buyers. The effective date for this change is July 1, 2013, which coincides with the date a new license would have been required.
Back to Top

Cash buyer of produce

NOTE: Licenses and bonds for Produce Dealers are no longer required. This includes license types: Wholesale Produce Dealers, Retail Produce Peddlers, and Cash Buyers. The effective date for this change is July 1, 2013, which coincides with the date a new license would have been required.
Back to Top

Retail seed dealer

A retail seed dealer is any person who sells fruit or vegetable seed directly to the consumer or grower for planting. A license is required.

Retail Seed Dealer License Application (62.6KB pdf)
 
For questions, call the Commodity Inspection Program at (503) 986-4620.
Back to Top

Wholesale seed dealer

A wholesale seed dealer is any person who sells vegetable or flower seeds to retailers, distributors, brokers, or other wholesalers for resale. A license is required.

Wholesale Seed Dealer Application (52.6KB pdf)
 
For questions, call Commodity Inspection Program at (503) 986-4620.
 

Back to Top

Late penalty fees

The Department of Agriculture charges a penalty fee on delinquent licenses. If you do not pay your license or registration fee within 60 days after the license or registration expires, the department will charge the following fees:   
  • For each license fee equal to the amount of $100 or less, a $30 fee will be accessed or the amount of the license fee, whichever sum is less. 
  •   
  • For each license fee greater than $100, thirty percent of the amount of the license fee or $750 whichever amount is less. 

Back to Top

Applications and bonds

Application and bond forms are now available online for wholesale and retail produce and seed dealers. For grain warehouse forms, please contact us .
Back to Top