Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image
Cooperative Weed Management Areas of Oregon
CWMAs in Oregon
Currently there are 27 Cooperative Weed Management Areas(CWMA) in Oregon. The first was formed in 1994 in NE Oregon (Tri-County CWMA) and another quickly followed in SE Oregon (Harney County CWMA). Since then many others have formed across the State. The structure in Oregon varies from small landowner groups focusing on a specific project to full fledged multi agency organizations running three quarter of a million dollar budgets.
The Oregon Department of Agriculture has put together a series of web pages that include a statewide CWMA locator map and a statewide CWMA contact list. Included within the pages is individual information and maps for each CWMA.

Please be patiant ODA is working with CWMAs and currently updating this map for 2013. The CWMA Contact List has the most current information.
Jackson County CWMAWallowa Canyonlands PartnershipTri County CWMAUpper Willamette CWMADouglasUpper Burnt River CWMASixes CWMANorth Fork John Day CWMAMid Willamette CWMAMid Coast CWMAMalheur CWMALower Willow Creek CWMALower Burnt River CWMAThirtymile Lonerock CWMALake County CWMAJuntura CWMAJosephine County CWMAJordan Valley CWMAHay Creek Scott Canyon CWMAHarney County CWMAGrant County CWMACrooked River CWMACox Creek CWMAColumbia Gorge CWMA4-County CWMAClatsop CWMANorth Coast CWMA
Oregon Cooperative Weed Management Association
Mission: The purpose of the Oregon Cooperative Weed Management Association (ORCWMA) is to lessen the impact of invasive plant species and their threat to the economy, environment, and human health by working cooperatively to provide leadership, facilitate information development and exchange, and coordinate regional efforts. 
ORCWMA is made up of twenty-seven cooperative weed management areas in Oregon that occupy 85% of the land base.  Our Boards represent private landowners, county, state and federal agencies, non profits, private industry and others concerned about noxious weed control.  Although individual CWMAs are uniquely organized, our goal is to reduce noxious weed populations by providing the following priority programs:
  • Public education
  • Monitoring and mapping
  • Weed prevention
  • Cost-share funds for weed control
  • Partnerships between agencies and the community
  • Weed control and restoration (manual, biological and chemical methods)
Board of Directors
Northeast Region:  TBD
Northwest Region: Vern Holm
                            Western Invasives Network
Southwest Region: Crissy Morgan (Secretary)
                            Douglas County CWMA
Southeast Region:  Jim Campbell
                            Harney County CWMA
Central Region:      TBD
Contact information
PO Box 204 Paisley, OR 97636
What is a Cooperative Weed Management Area (CWMA)?
CWMAs are local organizations that bring together landowners and land managers to coordinate action and share expertise and resources to manage common weed species. CWMAs often function under the authority of a mutually developed Memorandum of Understanding or Cooperative Agreement and are governed by a steering committee. Together, CWMA partners develop a comprehensive weed management plan for their area. At the least, CWMA plans include weed surveying and mapping components as well as plans for integrated weed management. More comprehensive plans may include education and training, early detection of new invaders, monitoring, revegetation, and annual evaluation and adaptation of the weed management plan.
Locally-driven CWMAs are especially effective at generating public interest in weed management and organizing community groups to support on-the-ground programs. States that traditionally have organized weed management on jurisdictional boundaries are finding that CWMAs organized by watersheds, for example, provide additional energy and cross-jurisdictional cooperation to augment existing programs.
A Cooperative Weed Management Area is a partnership of federal, state, and local government agencies, tribes, individuals, and various interested groups that manage noxious weeds or invasive plants in a defined area.
Five characteristics of a CWMA:
  • Defined geographical area distinguished by a common geography, weed problem, community, climate, political boundary, or land use.
  • Involvement or representation of the majority of landowners and natural resource managers in the defined area.
  • Steering committee.
  • Commitment to cooperation.
  • Comprehensive plan that addresses the management of prevention of one or more noxious weeds or invasive plants. (Janet Clark Center for Invasive Plant Management
    February 20, 2009)