Brands are not mandatory in Oregon, however, livestock
owners are encouraged to brand. A brand is primary proof of ownership; it
serves as a deterrent to theft, and helps inspectors trace missing and stolen
If a livestock owner elects to brand, the brand must be
registered with the Oregon Department of Agriculture (ODA).
Register a new brand
Submit a livestock brand application to ODA and include a
$25.00 fee for each species to be branded per location. Please see the register
a new brand instructions document for more information.
Anyone interested in a brand on the available brands list
may apply for it by submitting the livestock brand application and fee. Be sure
to list the file number, along with the design and location, on the application
Oregon is on a four-year staggered renewal period. The brand
design determines the renewal year. Courtesy notices are mailed on October 1st of the renewal year to the last address on file. ODA must be notified of
any change of contact information.
You can renew your brand online, using the ODA online renewals system. You will need to create an account if you are a new user. You will also need your brand file number, which can be found in the Oregon Brand Book.
Change of brand ownership
Any change of ownership rights to a livestock brand requires
a transfer of brand ownership be completed through the ODA Livestock
There are three critical items needed to complete a
- Transfer of brand ownership form completed and signed by the
current brand owners before a notary public or two disinterested witnesses
- $25.00 fee per brand location, per animal species
- Title of brand ownership form (issued by ODA upon receipt of
the transfer form and fee) signed by the new brand owners
When a brand owner passes away
- Oregon law requires a completed transfer of brand ownership
within six months of the date of death. (Applies whether the decedent was the
sole owner or was one of two or more registered owners.)
- If the transfer is not completed within six months after death
of an owner, the decedent's ownership rights (and in some cases, the ownership
rights of the heirs) are terminated.
Oregon brand book
The book contains cattle, horse, and sheep brands registered
as of August 2, 2016. The Oregon brand book is available for free in a web version or you can purchase a print or CD copy.
- Paper format, $35.00
- CD (pdf format), $10.00
If you wish to obtain a paper or CD copy, send a letter of request with your physical address and the fee to the Livestock Identification Program billing address.
A listing of available brands already in the Brand Registration database, which were never registered. Database of available brands
Livestock Brand Application
The form used to request a new livestock brand. Requires 1) applicant name and address, 2) sketch of proposed brand design, 3) whether for cattle or horses and 4) location (hip, shoulder, etc.). Application for new livestock brand
Oregon brand book (2016)
The web edition of the 2016 Oregon Brand Book contains all currently registered cattle, sheep, and horse brands as of August 2, 2016. This is a large document and may take a while to load. Oregon brand book
Transfer of Brand Ownership
This form is used any time there is a change of registered name(s) on a livestock brand; this could include removal of a name due to death, addition of a name, or change of a business name, etc. Transfer of brand ownership form