The Oregon Department of Agriculture (ODA) is now accepting applications for registration to grow and handle industrial hemp for the 2016 growing season. Registrations (used to be called a license or permit) are issued on an annual basis rather than the previous 3-year term. ODA has issued an Industrial Hemp Permanent Rule to modify the registration following changes to Oregon’s industrial hemp law made by the 2016 legislature.
In addition to registrations for growing and handling industrial hemp, a registration is needed for those wishing to produce or handle agricultural hemp seed.
Growers and handlers who are already licensed will receive a complimentary registration for the remainder of the term of their license. An emergency rule increasing the cost of the annual registration has been filled as of January 18, 2017, resulting in $1300 for grower, $1300 for handler and $120 for agricultural hemp seed production registration. Collected fees are used to administer ODA’s Industrial Hemp Program. More information on Industrial hemp registration fee changes.
Industrial hemp email list
Register to receive email correspondence regarding industrial hemp industry implementation and regulation.
Industrial Hemp Rules Advisory Committee (RAC)
Permanent rules have been adopted and the department is working with the Oregon Health Authority (OHA) to adopt rules implementing section 9 of the new statute, pertaining to testing of Industrial Hemp.