The Soil and Water Conservation Commission provides assistance and direction to Oregon's 45 conservation districts and advises and develops policy with the department in the administration of its duties. To assist with this advisory role, the chair of the commission, by statute, is also a member of the State Board of Agriculture. The commission also has a major role in overseeing the SWCD support grant.

Soil and Water Conservation Commission members

Barbara Boyer

Location: McMinnville, Oregon
Position: Chair
Term Expires: November 2016
Lower Willamette Area, representing: Benton SWCD, Douglas SWCD, Lincoln SWCD, Polk SWCD, Siuslaw SWCD, Umpqua SWCD, and Yamhill SWCD. Phone: 503.472.5974. Email: gourmethay@onlinemac.com​.

View Profile

Tim Kerns

Location: Haines, Oregon
Position: Vice Chair​
Term Expires: June 2017
Eastern Oregon Area, representing: Baker Valley SWCD, Burnt River SWCD, Eagle Valley SWCD, Keating SWCD, Malheur SWCD, Union SWCD, and Wallowa SWCD. Phone: 541.856.3494. Email: takerns@bmi.net​.

View Profile

Gary Jensen

Location: Eugene, Oregon
Term Expires: July 2016
Upper Willamette Area, representing: Clackamas County SWCD East Multnomah SWCD, Linn SWCD, Marion SWCD, and Upper Willamette SWCD. Phone: 541.935.8653. Email: Treegary@aol.com​.

View Profile

Aaron Madison

Location: Hermiston, Oregon
Term Expires: June 2018
John Day Area representing: Gilliam County SWCD, Grant SWCD, Harney SWCD, Monument SWCD, Morrow SWCD, Umatilla County SWCD, and Wheeler SWCD. Phone: 541.571.0589. Email: aaron@madisonranches.com​.

View Profile

​Mel Omeg

Location: The Dalles, Oregon
Term Expires: August 2019
Deschutes Area, representing: Crook County SWCD, Deschutes SWCD, Hood River SWCD, Jefferson County SWCD, Sherman County SWCD, and Wasco County SWCD​​​. Phone: 541.296.4447. Email: melomeg@charter.net

View Profile

Marilyn Bohnert Rice

Location: Central Point, Oregon
Term Expires: June 2016
Southern Oregon Area, representing: Coos SWCD, Curry County SWCD, Fort Rock/Silver Lake SWCD, Illinois Valley SWCD, Jackson SWCD, Josephine SWCD, Klamath SWCD, and Lakeview SWCD. Phone: 541.661.1785. Email: emrice@q.com​.

View Profile

Jerry Ward

Location: Newberg, Oregon
Term Expires: June 2019
North Coast Area, representing: Clatsop SWCD, Columbia SWCD, Tillamook County SWCD, Tualatin SWCD, and West Multnomah SWCD​. Phone: 503.628.0691. Email: jw.dw1@frontier.com​.

View Profile


Soil and Water Conservation Commission advisors

Phil Ward
7620 SW Mohawk
Tualatin, OR 97062
Phone: 503-692-1973, Ext. 222
Ron Alvarado
1201 NE Lloyd Blvd, Suite 900
Portland, OR 97232
Phone: 503-414-3200 
Meta Loftsgaarden
775 Summer St NE, Suite 360
Salem, OR 97301
Phone: 503-986-0203
Mark Saelens
275 NE San Bay O Circle
Newport, OR 9736
Phone: 541-270-1889
Jason Faucera
221 Molalla Ave, Suite 102
Oregon City, OR 97045
Phone: 503-210-6013 
Jim Cathcart
2600 State St., Bldg. D
Salem, OR 97301
Phone: 503-945-7493
Mike Borman
Strand Ag Hall 138D
Corvallis, OR 97331
Phone: 541-737-1614
Lyell Gardner
2320 Main St.
Forest Grove, OR 97116
Phone: 503-640-4123
​​ ​​

More info from ODA

​SWCC meetings​


Manette Simpson
SWCD Program Lead
Phone: 503-986-4715