
 

Burn procedure summary 

To set up a prescribed burn, a landowner or burn boss 

should draw up a plan that takes into account: 

 How weather will be monitored 

 How the burn will be conducted to prevent smoke   

from entering an SSRA or other area sensitive to 

smoke 

 Resources required to ignite the burn and to prevent 

it from becoming a wildfire 
 

The local Oregon Department of Forestry (ODF) or 

Association forester may require a written plan to 

address the above concerns before issuing a burn permit. 
 

The forester will also collect information about the site to 

be burned and register it in the Oregon Smoke 

Management Data System. More information will be 

collected and entered into the data system when the burn 

unit is planned for ignition, and after the burn is 

completed. 
 

Burn registration 

Unless the forester waives the requirement, all prescribed 

burning on forestland within a protection district must be 

registered seven days prior to the ignition.  
 

Information to be provided for registration includes: 

name of landowner, location and size of the unit, type of 

burn, fuel loading, and reason for the burn. A registration 

fee of $0.50 per acre is required on all federal forestland, 

and on private forestland west of the Cascade crest. No 

fee is required for private burning east of the Cascades.  

For small burns, a minimum fee of $30 is required. 
 

Planning a burn 

Once the burn registration and written plan are complete, 

the burn unit may now be planned. The landowner or 

burn boss may call the local forestry office up to the 

morning of the desired burn day.  
 

The burn boss must provide specific information about 

the unit to the district about location, method of burning, 

fuel-loading tonnages, and ignition time. 
 

Usually, final approval of the burn will not be made until 

after 2:30 p.m. the day before the desired burn date, 

when the smoke management forecast and instructions 

have been issued. 
 

Once final approval is given, a permit is issued. The 

permit specifies:  

 Burn site information 

 Conditions for burning 

 Allowed burning dates and hours 
 

The more communication and early planning between 

the landowner and the local forester, the greater the 

chance for a successful burn opportunity. 
 

Scope and Purpose   

The policy of the State of Oregon is to improve the management of prescribed burning as a 

responsible forest management and protection practice, and to minimize emissions 

consistent with the air quality objectives of the federal Clean Air Act and the State of 

Oregon Clean Air Act Implementation Plan. 

The implementation plan has a twofold aim: (1) prevent smoke from prescribed burns 

on forestlands from accumulating in smoke-sensitive receptor areas, or SSRAs 

(designated cities or populated areas), as well as other areas determined to be 

sensitive to smoke, and (2) provide maximum opportunity for essential 

forestland burning while minimizing emissions.  
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Conducting a burn  

Just prior to burning a unit, the burn boss must verify 

that actual on-site conditions are consistent with the 

forecasted weather. 
 

The burn boss must also monitor the burn after it has 

begun. If it appears that smoke from the burn will affect 

an SSRA or other area sensitive to smoke, or is already 

affecting an SSRA, the burn boss must terminate the 

burn in a manner that does not compromise worker 

safety or the ability to prevent escape of the burn. 
 

Upon termination of a prescribed burn, the residual fire 

should be extinguished as soon as possible. No 

additional burning should be attempted until approval is 

received from the forester. 
 

Once the unit has been burned, details about the amount 

of fuel burned, ignition and weather information must be 

provided by the next business day to the forester for 

entry into the smoke management data system.  
 

A burn fee will be assessed to the landowner after the 

burn according to burn type and acres registered. The fee 

assessment will occur after the first time the unit is 

ignited. The fees are $0.50 per acre for landing and right-

of-way burning, and $3.10 per acre for all other burning. 

If landings and other types of burning are accomplished 

in the same unit, the landings are charged at $0.50 per 

acre, and the other registered burning is charged at $2.60 

per acre.  
 

There is no charge for subsequent burning unless the unit 

is burned more than two calendar years after the year 

registered. 
 

Conclusion 

The success of the smoke management program depends 

on the actions of the landowner and representatives of 

the State Forester. Responsibly managed prescribed 

burning minimizes the potential for a negative impact on 

the population of nearby communities. 
 

For additional information about the smoke management 

program, visit us on the web:                             

www.oregon.gov/ODF/Fire/Pages/Burn.aspx or call 503-945-

7451. 

 

In 2007 and 2012, rules on prescribed forest burning 

tightened. These changes were necessary to retain this 

important management tool for landowners and operators.  

When weather and wind conditions are optimum, the 

smoke from a forest burn will be carried away from 

communities. This lessens the likelihood of complaints.  


