The Forestland Burning Guide

What the landowner needs to know
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Scope and Purpose

The policy of the State of Oregon is to improve the management of prescribed burning as a
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Protection'\
from Fire Implementation Plan.
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forest management and protection practice, and to minimize emissions consistent with the
air quality objectives of the federal Clean Air Act and the State of Oregon Clean Air Act

The implementation plan has a twofold aim: (1) prevent smoke from prescribed burns
on forestlands from accumulating in smoke-sensitive receptor areas, or SSRAS
(designated cities or populated areas), as well as other areas determined to be

sensitive to smoke, and (2) provide maximum opportunity for essential
forestland burning while minimizing emissions.

Burn procedure summary

To set up a prescribed burn, a landowner or burn boss

should draw up a plan that takes into account:

= How weather will be monitored

= How the burn will be conducted to prevent smoke
from entering an SSRA or other area sensitive to
smoke

= Resources required to ignite the burn and to prevent
it from becoming a wildfire

The Oregon Department of Forestry (ODF) or
Association forester may require a written plan to
address the above concerns before issuing a burn permit.

The forester will also collect information about the site to
be burned and register it in the Oregon Smoke
Management Data System. More information will be
collected and entered into the data system when the burn
unit is planned for ignition, and after the burn is
completed.

Burn registration

Unless the forester waives the requirement, all prescribed
burning on forestland within a protection district must be
registered seven days prior to the ignition.

Information to be provided for registration includes:
name of landowner, location and size of the unit, type of
burn, fuel loading, and reason for the burn. A registration

fee of $0.50 per acre is required on all federal forestland,
and on private forestland west of the Cascade crest. No
fee is required for private burning east of the Cascades.
For small burns, a minimum fee of $30 is required.

Planning a burn

Once the burn registration and written plan are complete,
the burn unit may now be planned. The landowner or
burn boss must call the local forestry office at least a day
ahead of the desired burn day. This allows the office to
coordinate and prioritize burning with other landowners.

The burn boss must provide specific information about
the unit to the district about location, method of burning,
fuel-loading tonnages, and ignition time.

Usually, final approval of the burn will not be made until
after 2:30 p.m. the day before the desired burn date,
when the smoke management forecast and instructions
have been issued.

Once final approval is given, a permit is issued. The
permit specifies:

» Burn site information

» Conditions for burning

= Allowed burning dates and hours

The more communication and early planning between
the landowner and the local forester, the greater the
chance for a successful burn opportunity.
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Conducting a burn
Just prior to burning a unit, the burn boss must verify
that actual on-site conditions are consistent with the
forecasted weather.

The burn boss must also monitor the burn after it has
begun. If it appears that smoke from the burn will affect
an SSRA or other area sensitive to smoke, or is already
affecting an SSRA, the burn boss must terminate the
burn in a manner that does not compromise worker
safety or the ability to prevent escape of the burn.

Upon termination of a prescribed burn, residual fire
should be extinguished as soon as possible. No
additional burning should be attempted until approval is
received from the forester.

Once the unit has been burned, details about the amount
of fuel burned, ignition and weather information must be
provided by the next business day to the forester for
entry into the smoke management data system.

A burn fee will be assessed to the landowner after the
burn according to burn type and acres registered. The fee
assessment will usually occur after the first time the unit
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When weather and wind conditions are optimum, the
smoke from a forest burn will be carried away from
communities. This lessens the likelihood of complaints.

is ignited. The fees are $0.50 per acre for landing and
right-of-way burning, and $3.10 per acre for all other
burning. If landings are burned first, and other types of
burning are accomplished in the unit later, the landings
are charged at $0.50 per acre, and the other registered
burning is charged at $2.60 per acre.

There is no charge for subsequent burning unless the unit
is burned more than two calendar years after the year
registered.

Conclusion

The success of the smoke management program depends
on the actions of the landowner and representatives of
the State Forester. Responsibly managed prescribed
burning minimizes the potential for a negative impact on
the population of nearby communities.

For additional information about the smoke management
program, visit us on the web:
www.oregon.gov/ODF/Pages/FIRE/fire.aspx#

In 2007, the rules on prescribed forest burning tightened.
These changes were necessary to retain this important T
management tool for landowners and operators.
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