
Oregon Dept. of Forestry
DO NOT ALTER OR DUPLICATE

Certifier’s signature ________________________________________________________________________ 	 Date_____________________

Certifier is (circle one):	 Property Owner	 Accredited Assessor _______________________________

By signing below, you certify that the property identified above meets the standards and conditions described in the Oregon Forestland-Urban Interface Fire Protection Act. Certification does not guarantee 
that structures on this property will survive a wildland fire. Certification relieves the property owner, for a period of five years, of liabilities described in ORS 477.059 (4), but does not relieve the property 
owner from other responsibilities and liabilities described in other portions of ORS 477. Recertification must take place in 5 years, or when a structure is added to the property, or when the property 
changes ownership. In the event that the ownership of this property changes, through sale or other transaction, it is the responsibility of the current property owner to notify the new owner that he or she 
needs to contact ODF to receive a new certification card for the property. 

County: ___________________________________________________________

County taxlot #: ____________________________________________________

Site address: _______________________________________________________

Property owner’s name:______________________________________________

Mailing address street: _______________________________________________

Mailing city:___________________________ State________ Zip_______________

Telephone number: _ ________________________________________________

E-mail address:_ ____________________________________________________

1. Structure/Primary fuel break YES N/A

2. Roadside fuel break YES N/A

3. Property line fuel break YES N/A

4. Secondary fuel break YES N/A

5. Driveway fuel break YES N/A

6. Chimney/stove pipe clearance YES N/A

7. Dead vegetation above roof YES N/A

8. Flammable material under decks YES N/A

9. Firewood and lumber piles YES N/A
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C Certification Form
for a forestland-urban interface property in an area classified High-Density Extreme

Accredited assessor number

Certification Form Instructions
Checking “YES” means the standard or step has been met or satisfied. Checking “N/A” means the step or standard does not apply to your 
property or situation. To obtain a copy of the “Property Evaluation & Self Certification Guide,” contact your local Oregon Department of 
Forestry or forest protective association office, or download a copy from oregon.gov/ODF/FIRE/SB360/sb360.shtml.

1. A 30-foot primary fuel break is required around the home and other qualifying structures. The primary fuel break is measured along the slope, 
begins at the furthest extension of the structure and continues for the full distance of 30 feet, or to the roadside, or to the property line. If 
there are no structures on the property, check the “N/A” box. For more information, see page 8 of the “Property Evaluation & Self-Certification 
Guide.”

2. A 20-foot roadside fuel break is required on all properties within an area classified “High-Density Extreme,” in which case this fuel break is 
required on properties with and without structures. The fuel break is measured along the slope, begins at the road edge (the edge of the driving 
surface) and continues into the property for the full distance of 20 feet, or to the property line. If your lot is in an area classified anything other 
than “High-Density Extreme,” you are not required to make a roadside fuel break and you may check the “N/A” box.  For more information, see 
page 18 of the “Property Evaluation & Self-Certification Guide.”

3. A 20-foot property line fuel break is required on all properties within an area classified “High-Density Extreme,” in which case this fuel break 
is required on properties with and without structures. The fuel break is measured along the slope, begins at the property line and continues 
into the property for the full distance of 20 feet, or to another property line. If your lot is in an area classified anything other than “High-Den-
sity Extreme,” you are not required to make a roadside fuel break and you may check the “N/A” box. For more information, see page 18 of the 
“Property Evaluation & Self-Certification Guide.”

4. A secondary fuel break around a structure begins where the primary fuel break ends. As with other fuel breaks, the distance must be measured 
along the slope, and need not continue beyond roadsides and property boundaries. The size of the secondary fuel break is determined by a com-
bination of your area’s classification and the structure’s roofing type. Determine the size of the secondary fuel break required on your property 
using the table on page 9 of the “Property Evaluation & Self-Certification Guide.” If a secondary fuel break is not required on your lot, check the 
“N/A” box.

5. The driveway fuel break standards apply only if the driveway to the primary residence is at least 150 feet long. If the driveway is shorter than 
this, check the “N/A” box. The fuel break’s horizontal distances are measured along the slope and shall extend ten feet on each side of the 
driveway’s centerline. In addition, overhanging vegetation must be cleared above the driving surface to a width 
of 12 feet and a height of 13½ feet. For more information, see page 14 of the “Property Evaluation & Self-Cer-
tification Guide.”

6. Tree branches or other vegetation within 10 feet of a chimney or stovepipe need to be cleared away. See 
page 15 of the “Property Evaluation & Self-Certification Guide.”

7. Trees that overhang the structure must be substantially free of dead plant material. See page 15 of the 
“Property Evaluation & Self-Certification Guide.”

8. The area beneath a deck must be substantially free of flammable material, such as firewood or lumber, dry 
needles and leaves, cans of gasoline or paint, bottles of propane, charcoal briquets and lighter fluid. See page 
16 of the “Property Evaluation & Self-Certification Guide.”

9. During fire season, firewood and/or lumber piles must be moved at least 20 feet from a structure or be fully 
enclosed. See page 17 of the “Property Evaluation & Self-Certification Guide.”
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