2005/06 OREGON FORESTLAND

TAXES, ASSESSMENTS AND CREDITS
(Updated semi-annually —January 2006 Edition)

LAW REFERENCE PURPOSE APPLIES TO TYPE OF TAX/ASSESSMENT ADMIN. BY

FORESTLAND
ORS 321.347-390 Revenues paid Applies to all lands previously classified as either Land Tax: Land is taxed at a special rate that is County Assessors
ORS 321.805-855 as property highest and best use forestland or qualified for special based on the typical price paid for land managed

taxes will designation as forestland. for the production of harvestable timber.

provide local Owners wishing to qualify 2 acres or more of forestland  Detailed program information is available at:

revenue. must apply to the county assessor by April 1, 2006 to http://egov.oregon.qov/DOR/TIMBER/index.shtml

enter the program beginning July 1, 2006.

Small Tract Forestland Provide an Owners of 10 to 5,000 acres of forestland in Oregon are  Land Tax: Annual property tax based on 20% of County Assessors
Option optional property eligible. Other limitations apply for lands classified forestland special assessment land values.
ORS 321.700-722 tax payment under the Small Tract Forestland option. Must apply to

method for small
tract owners.

the county assessor by April 1, 2006 to enter this
program beginning July 1, 2006.

Small Tract Severance Recover Severance Tax applies to timber harvested after Severance Tax: Intended to recover projected Department of
Tax property taxes January 2004 that is assessed under the Small Tract unpaid property tax in year timber harvests occur. Revenue
~ forgone Forestland option. For more info see web link below: Rate is recalculated each year in June. Estimate of
ORS 321.726-754 for 2 i 2 | %. Check
http://egov.oregon.gov/DOR/TIMBER/index.shtml tax for 2006 is 2005 rate p us3 o Chec
Department of Revenue web site in June or look for
the update to this reference in July for actual rate.
Eastern Oregon rate - $3.12 per MBF (2005 rate)
Western Oregon rate - $4.00 per MBF (2005 rate)
Farm Wood Lot Provide local Owners of land taxed as farmland may put up to 20 Land Tax: Land is taxed at a special rate that is County Assessors
ORS 308A.056(3)(h) revenue. acres of contiguous timbered land into the farm special based on the ability of the land to support farm
assessment programs. products.
Forest Products Timber harvested from all public and private lands. First 25 MBF harvested by taxpayer excluded. Department of
Harvest Tax Revenue
ORS 321.015 OSU Forest Rates for Calendar year 2006 67¢ per MBF
Research Lab Taxed per thousand board feet = MBF
ORS 321.015 Forestland 50¢ per MBF
Protection Fund e 50¢ when fund is $22.5 million or less
e Reduced 50% when fund is between $22.5
million and $30 million
¢ Not assessed when fund exceeds $30 million
ORS 321.015 Forest Practices 55¢ per MBF
Act
ORS 321.017 Oregon Forest 89¢ per MBF

Resources
Institute

Rates apply for calendar year 2006

ORTAX-06 MISEK 1-1-06.DOC/JAZ D (RP)

$2.61 per MBF = TOTAL
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2005/06 OREGON FORESTLAND

TAXES, ASSESSMENTS AND CREDITS
(Updated semi-annually —January 2006 Edition)

LAW REFERENCE

PURPOSE

APPLIES TO

TYPE OF TAX/ASSESSMENT

ADMIN. BY

Forest Protection
District

ORS 477.060

ORS 477.205 - 477.291

ORS 477.295

Wildland-urban
Interface fire
protection

Fire Protection

Minimum Lot
Assessment

Fire Patrol Assessment surcharge on lands protected by the
Department of Forestry and which have been classified as
forestland-urban interface. Applies in forest protection
districts which have activated the surcharge, to help pay the
special or additional costs of protection to such lands.

Fire Patrol Assessment on lands protected by the
Department of Forestry.

All Oregon Department of Forestry protected forest and
grazing land where district assessment would be less
than the minimum.

Not currently being assessed. Up to $25 per lot.
Amount set in accordance with an annual plan

approved by a committee of local forest landowners.

Per acre rate, determined by forest protection district
budget divided by the number of acres protected. For
private lands, 50% is paid by the General Fund.

$15 per lot

County Assessors
and Department of
Forestry

Emergency Fire
Protection Assessment

ORS 477.880

ORS 477.277

ORS 477.295

Emergency Fire
Funding

Acreage Assessment on lands protected by the
Department of Forestry:

Fire Patrol Assessment on lands protected by the
Department of Forestry and which contain
improvements.

Minimum lot assessment.

Rates effective for fiscal year beginning July 1, 2005 through June 30,2006.

Oregon Forest Land Protection Fund

Rates when fund is $22.5 million or less

e Eastern Oregon lands - 6¢ per acre

e Western Oregon forestland - 4¢ per acre

e Western Oregon grazing land - 6¢ per acre

Rates reduced by 50% when fund is between
$22.5 million and $30 million

Not assessed when fund exceeds $30 million
$38 per lot when fund is $22.5 million or less
Rates reduced by 50% when fund is between
$22.5 million and $30 million

e Not assessed when fund exceeds $30 million
$3 per lot when fund is $22.5 million or less
$1.50 per lot when fund is between $22.5
million and $30 million

e Not assessed when fund exceeds $30 million

County Assessors
and Department of
Forestry

50% Forestation Credit
ORS 315.104

Encourage
forestation of

Forestation of all underproductive private forest lands.
For more information on program details go to:

State income tax credit for 50% of eligible forest
establishment costs. Per 2005 legislative action

Department of
Forestry

underproductive  http://egov.oregon.gov/ODF/PRIVATE _FORESTS/taxes. the Department will begin charging a fee in 2006
forestland. shtml#Tax_Credit for processing tax credits to cover administrative
expenses.
Riparian Land Protect, The stream and associated riparian land are outside Property tax exemption for eligible areas under a Oregon Department

Assessment
Incentive
ORS 308A.350-383

conserve, or
restore healthy
riparian habitat.

ORTAX-06 MISEK 1-1-06.DOC/JAZ D (RP)

UGB and are zoned as forest or agricultural lands
(including rangeland), or eligible land that was as of July
1, 1997 outside the UGB. Includes land up to 100 feet
landward from the line of non-aquatic vegetation.
Limited to 200 miles per county per year.

plan with ODFW.

of Fish and Wildlife
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