Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image
Regional Forest Practice Committees

Meetings & Minutes

PDF File Accessibility:
Acrobat® Adobe Reader is required for downloading, viewing, and printing documents on this webpage. Adobe Reader is free and available to download using the link provided at the bottom of this page. For questions regarding the schedule or minutes contact Susan Dominique 503-945-7502.
Next Meeting(s):
January 22nd, 2015 - Weyerhaeuser, Springfield, OR


Past Meeting Minutes


Back to Top

Authority & Purpose

Pursuant to ORS 527.650, 527.660, and OAR 629-676-0100, Regional Forest Practice Committees (RFPC) are advisory committees established for each forest region to assist the Board of Forestry in developing appropriate forest practice rules.
  • The committees may review proposed forest practice rules, identify the need to amend forest practice rules or propose amended forest practice rules.
  • The regional committees will be requested to review proposed forest practice rules whenever:
    • The proposed rule prescribes operating practices needing review to ensure clarity, technical feasibility and practicality;
    • The proposed rule deals with administrative matters that the Board determines to be of importance to operators and landowners; or
    • The Board determines that there is a need to provide for greater public involvement in the rulemaking process for a given rule and chooses the regional committees as a vehicle of that public involvement.
When proposed rules have been reviewed, the regional committees shall report back to the Board regarding the clarity, technical feasibility, and practicality of the proposed rule as well as any other comments or recommendations the committee may have.

Back to Top


  • Each committee consists of nine members, a majority of whom reside in the region.
  • The committees are comprised of citizens qualified by education or experience in natural resource management.
  • Not less than two-thirds of the members of each committee shall be private timber owners or authorized representatives or timber owners who regularly engage in operations.
  • Committee members are appointed or reappointed by the Board of Forestry at its September meetings, for three-year terms.
  • There are no restrictions on the number of consecutive terms a member may serve.
  • The Board of Forestry shall appoint new members to fill vacancies immediately.
  • The chairperson and vice-chairperson of each committee shall be selected by the committee members.
  • The State Forester shall appoint a member of the Department of Forestry to serve as secretary for each of the committees. The secretary does not vote.
  • Reports to the Board of Forestry shall be made by the respective regional committee chairperson or the chair's designee.
(See ORS 527.650 and OAR 629-676-200)

Northwest Oregon RFPC
Name Position
Mike Barnes, Chair Private Landowner/Representative
Scott Gray Private Landowner/Representative
Wendell Locke Public Member
Steven L. McNulty Private Landowner/Representative
Jim Hunt Private Landowner/Representative
Tally Patton Private Landowner/Representative
Randy Silbernagel Private Landowner/Representative
Jon Stewart Public Member
Candace Bonner Public Member

Southwest Oregon RFPC

Name Position
Dave Erickson Private Landowner/Representative
Dale Cuyler Private Landowner/Representative
Daniel Fugate Private Landowner/Representative
Sanford Hillman Public Member
Eric Farm Private Landowner/Representative
Dana Kjos Private Landowner/Representative
Mike Meredith Private Landowner/Representative
Mike Maguire Private Landowner/Representative
Brian Schlaefli, Chair Private Landowner/Representative

Eastern Oregon RFPC
Name Position
Elwayne Henderson Private Landowner/Representative
Stanley A. Benson Public Member
Lee Fledderjohann Private Landowner/Representative
Irene K. Jerome Public Member
Chris Johnson Private Landowner/Representative
Paul Jones Private Landowner/Representative
Bob Messinger, Chair Private Landowner/Representative
Joe Justice Private Landowner/Representative
James Dahm Private Landowner/Representative

Back to Top

Meeting Conduct

  • The committees may determine operating procedures governing the transaction of their business.
  • The chairperson shall have the usual duties and power of a presiding officer.
  • All meetings will be conducted as open public meetings. However, although most meetings will provide for the opportunity for public testimony as a necessary means of conducting business, such an opportunity is not required and may be excluded at the discretion of the chairperson when necessary to conduct business.
  • The committee secretary shall send an agenda together with minutes of the previously held meeting to all members of the committee prior to each committee meeting.
  • At least one meeting a year is held at a location within the committee’s area.
  • Special meetings are held when necessary.
  • Selects annual Operator of the Year and Merit Award winners. 
(See ORS 527.660 and OAR 629-676-300)

Back to Top