Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image
District Implementation Plans and Forest Land Management Classification
District Implementation Plans
A foggy day in the forest

Eight of the nine ODF districts that manage state forest lands have 10-year implementation plans, which use the overarching, long-range forest management plans for policy and guidance. Annual operations plans are driven by the implementation plans.
These implementation plans project a “desired future condition” for the forests that extends several decades into the future. The plans also provide a starting point, an assessment of their current condition.
Districts identify the types of management activities (thinning, partial cuts, clearcuts and reforestation), and show how and why they will be used to move basins toward their desired future condition.
District implementation plans also describe planned management activities for other forest resource values and assets, including roads, slope stability, recreation, and aquatic resources such as stream enhancement projects.

New implementation plans and major revisions to existing implementation plans undergo a 45 day public comment period prior to their approval by the State Forester. Minor revisions to implementation plans are described in an Appendix to the Draft Annual Plans during the public comment period for the Annual Operations Plans, prior to being approved by the District Forester. 

Forest Land Management Classification (FLMC)

The Forest Land Management Classification System (OAR 629-350-005) was adopted by the Board of Forestry in 1998. This rule states that the State Forests in the planning area (District) be classified for the purposes of implementing the plan's forest resource management strategies. The FLMCS is a method of describing the management emphasis of an area of state forest land. The management emphasis identifies the extent to which an area if land can be managed for a variety of forest resources. It also identifies when a particular forest resource may need a more focused approach in its management, or possibly an exclusive priority in its management.

The current framework of the FLMCS places all state forest land within one of three land management classifications. The classifications are: (1) General Stewardship, (2) Focused Stewardship, and (3) Special Stewardship. Subclasses are assigned for the specific forest resources that require a Focused Stewardship or Special Stewardship Classification. Focused Stewardship has thirteen subclasses, while Special Stewardship has 16 subclasses. Some of the subclasses identify areas for the conservation of natural resources, such as Aquatic and Riparian for streams and plants for threatened and endangered plants or unique plant communities. Other subclasses identify areas for the conservation of social values, including Recreation for campgrounds and day use areas. Finally, there are subclasses that identify administrative areas on the forests, such as Energy and Minerals for the rock quarries that supply the surfacing of the forest roads, or Transmission that identify the right-of-ways of the large power lines that cross state forests.

FLMCS receives a complete evaluation and validation during each major revision of the district implementation plans. In addition, interim changes can be made to FLMCS through the district Annual Operations Plans. The public has an opportunity to comment on the specific site classifications within FLMCS during the public comment period for both the Implementation Plans and Annual Operations Plans.

Current Plans and Forest Land Management Classifications

The links below are to district implementation plans and the Land Management Classification Maps. Any minor revisions to these plans or the Land Management Classification maps are appended to the end of the plan.

  • Astoria District [Clatsop State Forest] [Approved 2011 with FLMC change in 2014]
  • Coos District [Elliott State Forest] [Approved 2011 with FLMC change in 2014]
  • Forest Grove District [eastern portion of Tillamook State Forest] [Approved 2011 with FLMC change is 2014]
  • North Cascade [Santiam State Forest] [Approved 2012 with FLMC change in 2014]
  • Southwest Oregon (Grants Pass Unit) [Approved 2003 with minor modifications to harvest acres in 2007, landscape design in 2009, and FLMC change in 2014]
  • West Oregon [Approved 2012 with FLMC change in 2014]
  • Western Lane [Approved 2003 with landscape design modifications in 2010 and 2012 and FLMC change in 2014]
  • Tillamook [western portion of the Tillamook State Forest) [Approved 2009 with landscape design modification in 2012 and FLMC change in 2014]

Back to Forest Management and Planning