Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image
State Forests Division
This is a photo of a riparian area in a western Oregon State Forest.
The Oregon Department of Forestry manages approximately 818,800 acres of forestlands – about three percent of Oregon’s forests. State forestlands are concentrated in six state forests, the Clatsop, Elliott, Gilchrist, Santiam, Sun Pass and Tillamook state forests. There are also a number of smaller tracts, scattered mostly in western Oregon’s Coast Range.

Oregon’s state forests are managed under broad forest management plans. By law, the almost 698,000 acres owned by the Board of Forestry forestlands are managed to secure greatest permanent value – defined as healthy, productive, and sustainable forest ecosystems that over time and across the landscape provide a full range of social, economic, and environmental benefits to the people of Oregon.
By contract, the Oregon Department of Forestry also manages about 120,000 acres of Common School forestlands owned by the State Land Board.  Most of these Common School lands are in the Elliott State Forest, near Coos Bay.  These lands were granted to the state by the federal government at the time of statehood to support Oregon’s public schools. Under Oregon’s Constitution, the State Land Board must manage these lands to obtain the greatest benefit for the people of this state, consistent with the conservation of this resource under sound techniques of land management”, maximizing long-term revenue to the Common School Fund, within the context of environmentally sound management.
State Forests Division Web Site