Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image
  • Welcome to the Oregon Department of Forestry's Central Oregon District
    Central Oregon District
    The Central Oregon District, of the Oregon Department of Forestry, is one of the agency's 13 districts across the state of Oregon. It is composed of three Units and five operating centers located in Prineville, Sisters, John Day, Fossil, and The Dalles.
    The District is responsible for the protection of 2.2 million acres of private and public forest and rangeland in 11 counties in the north-central portion of Oregon. In addition the District administers the state's Forest Practices Act, provides technical forestry assistance to landowners, and administers a variety of federal grants for the purposes of wildfire hazard reduction and forest health. The District has 35 permanent and 90 seasonal employees (view Org Chart). Information on employment opportunities can be found by clicking here.
News & Landowner Information Fire & Contact Information
News Releases and Meeting Information 
News releases
Here you will find the latest news releases issued by the Central Oregon District, including information on our local budgets, fire season activity and public use restrictions.

Maps and Publications
Publications and MapsView Central Oregon District informational publications and maps by protection unit.


Today's Forest Fire Danger Level 
Fire Danger and Restrictions
The Fire Danger Rating System alerts people to the current fire danger. Please contact a Central Oregon District unit for further burning and fire information. 
Fire Information
Fire InformationGet the latest information about fires on the Central Oregon District, as well as large fires burning in Oregon.