Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image

Central Oregon Area Commission on Transportation

Central Oregon ACT
Central Oregon ACT map
Central Oregon ACT
About the ACT
Area: Crook, Deschutes and Jefferson counties.
History: Initial charter approved by OTC on Nov. 17, 1998. Most recent charter approved April 27, 2006.
Membership: 15 voting members.
  • 3 county commissioners (one from each county)
  • 8 city members (one from each of the incorporated cities in the area)
  • 1 tribal council
  • 1 ODOT area manager
  • 2 private sector representatives
  • State legislators
  • Congressional aides
  • All Oregon Transportation Commissioners
  • Aviation representative
  • Bicycle and Pedestrian representative
  • Transit representative
  • Special transportation issue representative
  • General public representative (education, special districts)
  • Federal agency representative (BLM, U.S. Forest Service)
Leadership: Chair, vice-chair, and executive committee. Executive committee meets bi-monthly to develop agendas for COACT.
Staffing: ODOT contracts staff support from Central Oregon Intergovernmental Council.
Work Program: Develop integrated long-range transportation plan for area; prioritize STIP projects; provide educational programs about ODOT; evaluate U.S. 97 becoming an interstate or expressway; and conduct regional transportation forum.

Operating Documents:
ACT Chair:
Alan Unger  
Deschutes County Commissioner
1300 NW Wall Street, Suite 200
Bend, Oregon 97701
(541) 388-6570 
ODOT Contact:  
Gary Farnsworth
ODOT Region 4
Central Oregon Area Manager
(541) 388-6071
Technical Assistance:
Andrew Spreadborough
Central Oregon Intergovernmental Council
334 NE Hawthorne Ave
Bend, OR 97701
(541) 504-3306
(541) 548-9549 fax
Administrative Assistant:
Kiley Rucker-Clamons
Central Oregon Intergovernmental Council
334 NE Hawthorne Ave
Bend, OR 97701
(541) 548-9521
Fax: (541) 548-9549 

Meetings are every other month (starting in January) on the second Thursday from 3 to 5 p.m.
The COACT Executive Committee meets on the second Thursday in months without a COACT meeting.
Gary Farnsworth
Phone: (541) 388-6071
E-mail: Gary.C.Farnsworth@odot.state.or.us

Agendas and Minutes
Agendas and Minutes 
Meeting agendas and minutes are posted on the COACT website.  

Other ACTs
Northwest Oregon
Mid-Willamette Valley
Cascades West
South West
Rogue Valley
Lower John Day
Central Oregon
South Central Oregon
North East
South East
Region 1 ACT