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RULE CAPTION 
Requirements for the Display of Vehicle Registration Stickers 
Not more than 15 words that reasonably identify the subject matter of the agency’s intended action. 
   
 RULEMAKING ACTION  
   
ADOPT: 735-032-0036 

 
AMEND:  

 
REPEAL:   

 
RENUMBER: Secure approval of rule numbers with the Administrative Rules Unit prior to filing. 
 
AMEND & RENUMBER: Secure approval of rule numbers with the Administrative Rules Unit prior to filing. 
 
ORS 184.616, 184.619, 802.010 and 803.560  None 
Stat. Auth..  Other Authority 
 
ORS 803.560 
Stats. Implemented  

RULE SUMMARY 
 

ORS 803.560 specifies that a person commits the offense of improper display of validating [registration] stickers if the person owns 
or drives a vehicle that doesn’t display stickers in a manner required by the Department of Transportation. DMV is proposing to adopt 
OAR 735-032-0036 to set forth the requirements for the display and placement of registration stickers. 
 
Requirements for the display of registration stickers are currently available upon request from DMV and at DMV’s website: 
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/vehicle/plates.shtml#Sticker_Placement 
Display requirements are also provided with new registration plates and with registration stickers at the time of initial registration 
(with new license plates), at registration renewal and when replacement stickers are issued. DMV is clarifying these requirements in 
rule. 
 
Text of proposed and recently adopted ODOT rules can be found at web site http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/CS/RULES/.  
 
A public rulemaking hearing may be requested in writing by 10 or more people, or by an association with 10 or more members, within 21 days following the publication 
of the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking in the Oregon Bulletin or 28 days from the date Notice was sent to people on the agency mailing list, whichever is later. If 
sufficient hearing requests are received, the notice of the date and time of the rulemaking hearing must be published in the  Oregon Bulletin at least 14 days before the 
hearing. 
The agency requests public comment on whether other options should be considered for achieving the rule’s substantive goals while reducing the negative economic 
impact of the rule on business. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

September 22, 2008 

  

Last Day for Public Comment Signature  
Last day to submit written comments to the Rules Coordinator  

Lauri Kunze 
 Printed name                                                                                           Date 
  
* The Oregon Bulletin is published on the 1st of each month and updates the rule text found in the Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation. Notice forms must be submitted to the 
Administrative Rules Unit, Oregon State Archives, 800 Summer Street NE, Salem, Oregon 97310 by 5:00 pm on the 15th day of the preceding month unless this deadline falls on a Saturday, 
Sunday or legal holiday when Notice forms are accepted until 5:00 pm on the preceding workday.                                                                                                                          ARC 923-2005 

http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/vehicle/plates.shtml#Sticker_Placement
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/CS/RULES/


 



Secretary of State 
STATEMENT OF NEED AND FISCAL IMPACT 

A Notice of Proposed Rulemaking Hearing or a Notice of Proposed Rulemaking accompanies this form. 
 

Oregon Department of Transportation, Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division 735 
Agency and Division  Administrative Rules Chapter Number 
   
In the Matter of the Adoption of OAR 735-032-0036 
 
Rule Caption: Requirements for the Display of Vehicle Registration Stickers 
 
Statutory Authority: ORS 184.616, 184.619, 802.010 and 803.560 
 
Other Authority: None 
 
Statutes Implemented: 803.560 
 
Need for the Rule(s): ORS 803.560 specifies that a person commits the offense of improper display of validating [registration] 
stickers if the person owns or drives a vehicle that doesn’t display stickers in a manner required by the Department of Transportation. 
DMV is proposing to adopt OAR 735-032-0036 to set forth the requirements for the display and placement of registration stickers. 
 
Requirements for the display of registration stickers are currently available upon request from DMV and at DMV’s website: 
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/vehicle/plates.shtml#Sticker_Placement 
Display requirements are also provided with new registration plates and with registration stickers at the time of initial registration 
(with new license plates), at registration renewal and when replacement stickers are issued. DMV is clarifying these requirements in 
rule. 
 
Documents Relied Upon and where they are available: None 
 
Fiscal and Economic Impact, including Statement of Cost of Compliance: The adoption of this rule has no known fiscal or 
economic impact on state agencies, units of local government, members of the public or businesses, including small businesses. 
 
There are no projected reporting, recordkeeping and other administrative activities required for compliance beyond those required by 
statute. There are no equipment, supplies, labor and administration required beyond those required by statute. 
 
How were small businesses involved in the development of this rule? Small businesses were not involved in the development of 
these rules. Although the rules apply to small businesses, the changes do not affect how they do business with DMV. 
 
 
Administrative Rule Advisory Committee consulted?: No 
     If not, why?: This rule simply sets forth existing procedures and requirements in an administrative rule. For that reason, DMV 
chose not to assemble an advisory committee. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
   

Lauri Kunze 
Authorized Signer Printed name                                                                                Date 
  
Administrative Rules Unit, Archives Division, Secretary of State, 800 Summer Street NE, Salem, Oregon 97310. ARC 925-2005 
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