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RULE CAPTION 
Establishes Procedures and Requirements for Oregon’s Vehicle Appraiser Education Program 
Not more than 15 words that reasonably identify the subject matter of the agency’s intended action. 
   
 RULEMAKING ACTION  
   
ADOPT: 735-158-0005, 735-158-0010 

 
AMEND: 735-158-0000 

 
REPEAL:   

 
ORS 184.616, 184.619, 802.010 and 819.480  None 
Stat. Auth..  Other Authority 
 
ORS 819.210, 819.220, 819.480, 819.482 and 822.700 
Stats. Implemented  

RULE SUMMARY 
 

Chapter 630, Or. Laws 2007 (HB 2435) renumbered, from ORS 819.230 to ORS 819.480, the statute establishing requirements for 
the issuance of Oregon vehicle appraiser certificates. The law change also granted DMV authority to adopt rules to establish 
educational requirements for the issuance or renewal of vehicle appraiser certificates.  
 
DMV is proposing to amend OAR 735-158-0000, and to adopt OAR 735-158-0005 and 735-158-0010 to establish a vehicle appraiser 
education training program to provide vehicle appraisal-related education to qualified applicants for Oregon vehicle appraiser 
certificates. The rules specify education program requirements, education curriculum standards and qualification requirements for 
appraiser education instructors and trainees. Additional amendments to OAR 735-158-0000 specify the grounds under which DMV 
may deny issuance, suspend, revoke or renew a vehicle appraiser certificate. 
 
The education program is a non-vocational training program specifically designed for individuals who are required to hold a vehicle 
appraiser certificate as a condition of employment. Examples of employers that may require an employee to hold an appraiser 
certificate include towing businesses and public agencies such as state, city and county law enforcement agencies that enforce laws 
relating to abandoned vehicles and vehicles that constitute a roadside hazard. 
 
Training will be conducted by DMV-approved instructors and will provide education on the basic skills and minimum knowledge 
required to appraise vehicles in Oregon. DMV will administer the education program at no cost to program instructors or trainees. 
Instructors will not be compensated by DMV. 
 
Text of proposed and recently adopted ODOT rules can be found at web site http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/CS/RULES/.  
 
A public rulemaking hearing may be requested in writing by 10 or more people, or by an association with 10 or more members, within 21 days following the publication 
of the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking in the Oregon Bulletin or 28 days from the date Notice was sent to people on the agency mailing list, whichever is later. If 
sufficient hearing requests are received, the notice of the date and time of the rulemaking hearing must be published in the  Oregon Bulletin at least 14 days before the 
hearing. 
The agency requests public comment on whether other options should be considered for achieving the rule’s substantive goals while reducing the negative economic 
impact of the rule on business. 
 
 
 
 
 
 

September 22, 2008 

  

Last Day for Public Comment Signature  
Last day to submit written comments to the Rules Coordinator  

Lauri Kunze 
 Printed name                                                                                           Date 
  
* The Oregon Bulletin is published on the 1st of each month and updates the rule text found in the Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation. Notice forms must be submitted to the 
Administrative Rules Unit, Oregon State Archives, 800 Summer Street NE, Salem, Oregon 97310 by 5:00 pm on the 15th day of the preceding month unless this deadline falls on a Saturday, 
Sunday or legal holiday when Notice forms are accepted until 5:00 pm on the preceding workday.                                                                                                                          ARC 923-2005 

http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/CS/RULES/


Secretary of State 
STATEMENT OF NEED AND FISCAL IMPACT 

A Notice of Proposed Rulemaking Hearing or a Notice of Proposed Rulemaking accompanies this form. 
 

Oregon Department of Transportation, Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division 735 
Agency and Division  Administrative Rules Chapter Number 
   
In the Matter of the Amendment of OAR 735-158-0000 and the Adoption of OAR 735-158-0005 and 735-158-0010, Relating to 
Vehicle Appraisers. 
 
Rule Caption: Establishes Procedures and Requirements for Oregon’s Vehicle Appraiser Education Program 
 
Statutory Authority: ORS 184.616, 184.619, 802.010 and 819.480 
 
Other Authority: None 
 
Statutes Implemented: ORS 819.210, 819.220, 819.480, 819.482 and 822.700 
 
Need for the Rule(s): Chapter 630, Or. Laws 2007 (HB 2435) renumbered, from ORS 819.230 to ORS 819.480, the statute 
establishing requirements for the issuance of Oregon vehicle appraiser certificates. The law change also granted DMV authority to 
adopt rules to establish educational requirements for the issuance or renewal of vehicle appraiser certificates.  
 DMV is proposing to amend OAR 735-158-0000, and to adopt OAR 735-158-0005 and 735-158-0010 to establish a vehicle 
appraiser education training program to provide vehicle appraisal-related education to qualified applicants for Oregon vehicle 
appraiser certificates. The rules specify education program requirements, education curriculum standards and qualification 
requirements for appraiser education instructors and trainees. Additional amendments to OAR 735-158-0000 specify the grounds 
under which DMV may deny issuance, suspend, revoke or renew a vehicle appraiser certificate. 
 The education program is a non-vocational training program specifically designed for individuals who are required to hold a 
vehicle appraiser certificate as a condition of employment. Examples of employers that may require an employee to hold an appraiser 
certificate include towing businesses and public agencies such as state, city and county law enforcement agencies that enforce laws 
relating to abandoned vehicles and vehicles that constitute a roadside hazard. 
 Training will be conducted by DMV-approved instructors and will provide education on the basic skills and minimum knowledge 
required to appraise vehicles in Oregon. DMV will administer the education program at no cost to program instructors or trainees. 
Instructors will not be compensated by DMV. 
 
Documents Relied Upon and where they are available: Chapter 630, Oregon Laws 2007 (HB 2435) - to request a copy of this 
document, please contact David Eyerly at 503-945-5256. Alternatively, the document is available electronically at: 
http://www.leg.state.or.us 
 
Fiscal and Economic Impact, including Statement of Cost of Compliance: DMV anticipates a minimal fiscal impact to the agency 
as a result of these rules. Anticipated costs to the agency include a small increase in the workload of the Business Regulation Section 
manager who will review and process documents pertaining to education program instructors and individuals who wish to become 
instructors. Additionally, agency costs resulting from these rules include a potential increase in requests for contested case hearings by 
vehicle appraisers or education instructors found in violation of relevant statutes and DMV rules. There are currently 274 certified 
vehicle appraisers in Oregon. DMV cannot quantify the cost of compliance with these rules because interest in the education program 
and the number of future violations is impossible to predict. 
Projected reporting, recordkeeping and other administrative activities required for compliance: None. 
Equipment, supplies, labor and administration required: None. 
 
How were small businesses involved in the development of this rule? In November of 2007, DMV met with individual appraisers, 
individuals representing Oregon vehicle dealers, towing businesses, vehicle dismantlers and other interested parties to solicit input on 
the development of these rules. This included development of education curriculum standards and qualification requirements for 
appraiser education instructors and trainees. This same group had an opportunity to comment on early drafts of this rulemaking. 
 
Administrative Rule Advisory Committee consulted?: No. If not, why?: As noted above, DMV met with interested parties to 
receive input on the development of these rules. Additionally, members of the Oregon Dealer Advisory Committee (ODAC) will be 
given a copy of these proposed rules and may comment on them during the rulemaking process. ODAC includes representatives from 
vehicle-related businesses, consumer protection groups and members of the public. For those reasons, DMV did not believe it was 
necessary to assemble a formal advisory committee. 
   

Lauri Kunze 
Authorized Signer Printed name                                                                                Date 
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