Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

DMV Records-related FAQs (for Businesses)

Overview

This page provides access to frequently asked records-related questions and answers that pertain to businesses.
 
Use the links provided below to go directly to any question:
Frequently Asked Questions
Who qualifies to receive personal information from DMV records?
Under Oregon law (ORS 802.175 - 802.191), only certain entities qualify to receive personal information from DMV records. These include entities such as:
  • Attorneys
  • Legitimate businesses
  • Insurance companies
  • Police
  • Other government agencies
These entities must first qualify for personal information and can only use the information for specific purposes defined by Oregon law.  Please refer to Oregon law (ORS 802.175-802.191) and Oregon Administrative Rule 735-010-0200 through 0230 for the complete list of what entities may qualify for personal information and the uses of the information.
 
How can I request records containing personal information?
Entities who are eligible to receive personal information must submit a request to DMV Headquarters and must qualify each time information is requested. This is done by completing a Request For Information (Form 735-7122), submitting any required documentation proving that you qualify for personal information, and enclosing the record fee.
 
Entities who qualify to receive personal information under ORS 802.175-802.191 may be eligible for a Record Inquiry Account. To obtain a record inquiry account, you must:
  • Complete a Record Inquiry Account Application (Form 735-6037).
  • Submit any documents necessary to prove you qualify for personal information.
  • Submit a $70 non-refundable application fee.
If approved for an account, you are then pre-qualified to receive record information. Account holders are billed monthly for records requested, and have access to DMV's Interactive Voice Response System (IVR).  IVR is an automated record inquiry system available only to record inquiry account holders. Advantages for IVR users include 24-hour access to certain driver and vehicle record information, and overnight turnaround time for prints ordered through the system. Through IVR, you have the following six menu choices:
  1. Listen to driver license name and address, description and status.
  2. Listen to vehicle description and ownership.
  3. Order a three-year non-employment driving record.
  4. Order a complete or certified court print driving record.
  5. Order a three-year employment driving record.
  6. Order a vehicle record print.
Record Inquiry Account Holders can also order driver, tow desk and vehicle records online.
 
For More Information:
Record Inquiry Accounts: (503) 945-7950
Interactive Voice Response System (IVR): (503) 945-5312
What is the Automated Reporting Service (ARS)?
The Automated Reporting Service (ARS) is a service provided to employers with drivers under their employment, such as trucking companies, delivery services, etc.  This service produces and sends the employer a court print driving record when a conviction, accident, or suspension is posted to one of their employee's records. There is no fee if the requester uses DMV's online ARS option to add or delete an individual to the service, there is a $2 fee for each individual DMV adds or deletes manually.  There is a $3 fee for each printed record produced.  The Automated Reporting Service is only available to customers who have a valid Record Inquiry Account.
For More Information:
Automated Reporting Service: (503) 945-5427 or (503) 945-5428 or email ARS@odot.state.or.us
What records are available to Tow Companies?
Tow Companies and Tow Support Organizations need vehicle records in order to give notice to people as required by law. To assist with this, DMV Record Services has established a Tow Desk dedicated to providing fast turnaround for vehicle record requests.
 
To use this service, customers must have a valid Record Inquiry Account as a Tow Company or Tow Support Organization. Presently, requests for vehicle records received at the tow desk before 3:00 PM Monday through Friday are entered that day and go out the next DMV working day. Record requests may be submitted by fax, written request, or online.  Records are returned by fax, or mailed to the address given on the Record Inquiry Account Application.
For More Information:
DMV Tow Desk: (503) 945-5427 or (503) 945-5428 
How do I request the Employment Driving Record with Positive Drug Test Result?
Oregon law requires the department (ODOT) to post positive drug test results to the employment driving record of commercial drivers who participate in federally mandated drug testing programs for Motor Carriers.  A request for an employment driving record with positive drug test result information must be submitted on the Affidavit to Authorize Release of Employment Driving Record with Positive Drug Test Result Information (Form 735-7195). This form must be completed in full with a signature of the person whose driving record is being requested. A fee of $2 must be included with the request. Send the completed form and fee to:
Oregon DMV
Attn: Record Services Unit
1905 Lana Ave NE
Salem, OR 97314
How do I order the required Motor Carrier Records for CDL Drivers AND get Positive Drug Test Results?
Federal regulations require Motor Carriers to order a Complete Driver History and a three year employment driving record with positive drug test results. If you have a Record Inquiry Account, a request for these two records can be submitted on a Request for Motor Carrier Required Driving Records (Form 735-7291). Your account will be billed $5 for the records.
Account Holders can fax their requests to:
Oregon DMV
Attn: Record Services Unit
Fax: 503-945-5425

 
OR
 
Mail requests to:
Oregon DMV
Attn: Record Services Unit
1905 Lana Avenue NE
Salem, OR 97314

If you do not have a Record Inquiry Account, you can order these records using the Request for Information (Form 735-7122), and Affidavit to Authorize Release of Employment Driving Record with Drug Test Result Information (Form 735-7195) along with mailing a check or money order for $5. Complete the Request for Information form in full and be sure to request both a Complete Driver History and a three year employment driving record with positive drug test results. Include any required proof of qualification for personal information as indicated on the Request for Information form.
Mail requests to:
Oregon DMV
Attn: Record Services Unit
1905 Lana Avenue NE
Salem, OR 97314

How do I submit a Public Records Request to DMV?
There are many different ways to request records from DMV. If you want to request non-standard records such as statistical data, please completely fill out DMV's Public Record Request (Form 735-7312) and send it to the address on the form. If you want driver or vehicle records please use the Order Your Own Records (Form 735-7266) to order your own records or the Request for Personal Information (Form 735-7122) to order records other than your own.
 
Who is authorized to access Personal Information?
Under Oregon law, only certain entities qualify to receive personal information from DMV records and these entities can only use the information for specific purposes outlined in Oregon’s Record Privacy Law (ORS 802.175 - 802.191). If information is protected under one of these laws, it will not be released unless a requestor qualifies to receive the information.

Related Information
Additional information that may be relevant includes: