Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

Removing a Lien From Your Oregon Title

Overview

After you pay off your loan, the security interest holder should sign the vehicle title and provide it to you. You must apply for a new title within 30 days to remove the security interest holder's name. DMV will then issue a new title in your name.
 
Use the links below to go directly to any section:
How to Apply
In order to apply, follow the set of instructions that applies to your transaction:
 
Title Transfer without Registration Renewal Note: An odometer reading is not needed if the registered owners are remaining the same and the only title change is the removal of the security interest holder. 
 
Title Transfer with Registration Renewal 
How to Submit Your Application
You may submit your completed application, supporting materials and payment to a DMV office (if all is in order, you may be able to get plates or stickers at the office), or mail your materials to the address below:
Oregon DMV
1905 Lana Ave NE
Salem, OR 97314
Make checks or money orders payable to “Oregon DMV."  
 
Note: Due to the additional costs of associated merchant fees, DMV offices do not accept credit or debit cards. They accept cash, money orders and checks only.

How Long Will It Take
If your paperwork is accurate and complete when received at DMV Headquarters in Salem, and your payment is correct, your plates are generally mailed within 5-10 business days. 
 
Titles are generally mailed to applicants about three to five weeks after DMV receives the necessary paperwork. Delays may occur during peak processing months.

Frequently Asked Questions
How long does the security interest holder have to send me a statement of their release of interest when I have paid off my loan?
Oregon law ORS 803.105 requires that the security interest holder deliver a release to the owner within 15 calendar days of satisfaction of the security interest.
 
My security interest holder has sent me a release of interest, but has not provided the title.  How do I apply for a clear title in my name?
In addition to following the procedure above, complete an Application for Replacement Title (Form 735-515), and add the replacement title fee to your total fees.
 
How long will it take to get my title?
Once DMV receives the paperwork, submitted by mail or through a DMV office, it takes us approximately three to five weeks to process.

Related Information
Additional information that may be relevant includes: