Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image

  • New Driver Education Course Completion Card Waives Drive Test
    Since January 1, 2014, some ODOT-approved driver educators can provide students with a hard plastic course completion card
    You must be under 18 years of age when you complete the course and you cannot obtain your driver license prior to completion. The original hard plastic Driver Education Certificate of Completion card issued by Oregon's Transportation Safety Division, can be presented to DMV when you apply for your driver license and it will allow you to waive the drive test when you meet all of the other requirements to apply. Check with your driver education provider to find out if you will receive the paper card, which still waives 50 of the 100 hours of required supervised driving practice, or the plastic card, which waives 50 of the 100 hours of required supervised driving practice AND the drive test.
  • Oregon Law Prohibits Teen Use of Cell Phones and Text Messaging
    Persons under 18 years of age are not allowed to "operate a motor vehicle while using a mobile communication device"
    A mobile communication device is defined as a text messaging device or a wireless, two-way communication device designed to receive and transmit voice or text communication, including hands-free accessories. It is a primary offense and a conviction counts toward the Provisional Driver Improvement Program.
Licenses, Permits & Education Manuals, Guides, Forms & Links