How do I know if the Driver Education course I take is ODOT-approved?
ODOT provides a list of approved courses
offered through public schools and (commercial) Driver Education Providers. You should also check with the course provider to determine if the program is currently approved by the ODOT Transportation Safety Division.
What does an ODOT-approved Driver Education Course get me at DMV?
Presenting your original course completion card at DMV waives 50 of the 100 hours of required supervised driving practice. If you received a hard plastic course completion card DMV will ALSO waive the drive test when you apply for your license. Who needs to certify school attendance or provide proof of graduation or receipt of a GED?
Please see our page on school enrollment
. How do I certify that I am enrolled in school, exempt from attending school or have completed school?
Please review the information on school enrollment
. Does a student driver permit or an emergency permit count toward the six-month requirement for an instruction permit?
No, only an instruction permit
issued from Oregon, another state or the District of Columbia will meet this requirement. I am 16 years old and moving to Oregon from another state. I currently have an instruction permit from that state. Will I still have to meet the issuance requirements to get an Oregon Driver License?
If you have held your instruction permit from another state for at least six months, you will not be required to obtain an Oregon Instruction Permit prior to applying for an Oregon Driver License. All other provisional driver license requirements
still apply. I am 16 years old and moving to Oregon from another state. I currently have a driver license. Do I still have to meet the issuance requirements to get an Oregon Driver License?
If you hold a valid license from another state, you must turn it in to receive an Oregon Driver License. Before we can issue you an Oregon Driver License you will be required to:
You will not be required to certify that you have completed Oregon's requirement for supervised driving practice. However, when you receive your license you will be under Oregon's provisional license driving restrictions
. I am 15 years old. My dad's driver license was revoked, so he can't supervise my driving under an instruction permit. He is responsible and capable of supervising my driving. We have no immediate family in the area and I don’t have a relative who can supervise my driving. What can I do?
The law requires that a licensed driver must supervise the behind-the-wheel driving experience. In this case, the father cannot supervise the driving. Ask a school counselor, church pastor, or a friend's parent to help. I am 16 and an emancipated minor. Do these requirements apply to me?
Yes, all of the issuance requirements apply, except a parent or legal guardian will not be required to sign your application or certify your supervised driving experience.