Chapter J
Damaged/Totaled Vehicles

Definition of “totaled” vehicle:

* A vehicle declared a total loss by the insurer obligated to cover the loss, or a vehicle
the insurer takes possession of, or title to. This applies to both damaged and stolen
vehicles.

« A stolen vehicle, if not recovered within 30 days of the date of the theft, when an
insurer does not cover the loss.

* A vehicle that has sustained damage that is not covered by an insurer and the
estimated cost to repair the vehicle is equal to at least 80 percent of the retail
market value of the vehicle prior to the damage. “Retail market value” is determined
by using publications relied upon by financial institutions doing business in Oregon.

The word “totaled” appears on Oregon titles or salvage titles issued for vehicles that have
been declared totaled. The word “totaled” is in addition to any other brand or designation
such as “assembled,” “reconstructed,” or “replica.” However, it may appear alone on a
salvage title.

The owner of a vehicle totaled due to damage must surrender the certificate of title to DMV
within 30 days of the date the vehicle became totaled, and apply for a salvage title.
Instructions to apply for a salvage title are later in this chapter.

Stolen Vehicles

When loss covered by an insurer

When an insurer declares a vehicle a total loss because it was stolen, the vehicle is
subject to salvage title provisions.

Sometimes the vehicle is recovered and it is not totaled because of damage. The vehicle
will not have to be titled as a totaled and assembled, reconstructed, or replica vehicle if the
application for title includes proper evidence that indicates the vehicle is not “totaled” due
to damage. The insurer that covered the theft loss must provide a written statement. The
written statement must accompany the title application and must say that the vehicle is
NOT totaled according to Oregon law. Unless the insurance company provides this
statement, the vehicle can only be retitled as totaled and either assembled, reconstructed,
or replica.

A VIN inspection and VIN inspection fee are required when a new title is applied for. Only
DMV or a designated law enforcement agency may perform the VIN inspection.

When loss not covered by insurer

A stolen vehicle not recovered within 30 days of the theft is a totaled vehicle according to
Oregon law. The owner should report the theft to law enforcement immediately. After 30
days from the date of theft, if the vehicle is still not recovered, the owner must complete
Section 1 of the Stolen Vehicle Notification, Form 735-6927, submit it to DMV within 60
days from the date of the theft, with evidence that the vehicle theft was reported to law
enforcement. DMV will place a notation on the vehicle record indicating the vehicle was
totaled and title was not surrendered.
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If the vehicle is recovered after reporting to DMV, the owner should notify DMV whether
the vehicle is totaled due to damage or not. The owner does this by submitting Section 2
of Form 6927 and all requirements (such as surrendering title and applying for new title,
etc.). A VIN inspection and VIN inspection fee are also required when a new title is
applied for.

Stolen Vehicle Notification, Form 735-6927

Back

Information about stolen vehicle procedures and instructions to complete the form.

Front (Section 1 and Section 2)

Vehicle description: Plate number, year, make, and body style.

Vehicle identification number (VIN): List the complete VIN here.

Oregon title number: If applicable.

Police agency reported to: Name of the law enforcement agency where the police
report was filed.

Police report number: Case number of the police report that was filed.
Name(s) of registered owner(s): Full name of owner(s).

Address: Must indicate where the registered owner may be contacted if more
information is needed.

Telephone Number: Optional, but helpful if more information is needed.
Signature: Registered owner’s signature.

Submit Section 1 to report the unrecovered stolen vehicle. When the vehicle is recovered,
submit Section 2. Before the vehicle can be registered, DMV must perform a VIN
inspection.

J2
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Example of STOLEN VEHICLE NOTIFICATION, FORM 735-6927
Actual size 8% x 11"
(front)

STOLEN VEHICLE NOTIFICATION

—— (Instructions on back)
o e el oL o Loss NOT Covered By Insurance

Section 1 - Unrecovered Stolen Vehicle - Complete this form” if it has been at least 30 days
since your vehicle was stolen, the vehicle has not been recovered, and the loss is not covered by
insurance. Detach and mail Section 1 to the address on the back of this form, along with evidence
that the vehicle was reported stolen to law enforcement. If this information is not included, the
notice will not be filed.

* Completion of this form does not place a notation on DMV's records to indicate the vehicle has been stolen; it only
satisfies the notification requirement of ORS 819.012 (1) (b), indicating the vehicle meets the definition of a totaled
vehicle. Contact your local law enforcement agency to report the vehicle stolen.

PLATEMNUMEER YE&R MaKE BODY 2TYLE
WEHICLE IDENTIFICATION MUMEER TMLE MUMEER

PCLICE aiGENCY REPORTED TO POLICE REFORT HUMBER

DaTEOF THEFT DwTE REPORTED

NAME(S] OF FEGIZTERED OWNER|S)

STREET ADOAESS, CITY, STATE AND ZIP CODE

2 o
.IE. SKEMATURE $
LS LY
Z 4 C
4 H
L -

Section 2 — Recovered Stolen Vehicle - Complete this form if you previously notified DMV that

your vehicle was stolen by sending in Section 1 and the vehicle has now been recovered.

DATE RECOVERED:

Is the vehicle damaged and is the estimated cost to repair the vehicle at least 80% of its
retail market value before the damage?

[] Yes - Do NOT complete Section 2.

See the instructions on the back of this form for more information.

[ ] No — The vehicle is not considered “totaled.” However, a vehicle identification number
inspection is required before the vehicle can be retitled. See the back of this form for
instructions.

PLATE MUMEER YEAR MaKE BODY STYLE

WVEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER TMLE HUMEER

HAME(S] CF REGISTERED C'WHNER(S)

STREET ADDRESS, CITY, STATE aMD ZIP OCOE

SIENATURE

T35-6027 (2-08) | STK# 300450 |
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Example of STOLEN VEHICLE NOTIFICATION, FORM 735-6927
Actual size 8% x 11"
(back)

STOLEN VEHICLE INSTRUCTIONS

What to do when your vehicle is stolen:

+ [f the loss is not covered by insurance:
1. Report the theft to law enforcement, and
2. Wait at least 30 days. If the vehicle has not been recoverad after 30 days,
within 60 days of the date of the theft. Failure to notify DMV
is a Class A Misdemeanor and is punishable by a jail sentence of up to one year, a fine
of up to $6,250, or both.

Who must notify DMV:
+ Aregistered owner, as maintained in DMV's record of the vehicla.
+ If you own the vehicle but haven't transferred the title, apply for title in your name. Submit completed
Section 1 of this fom, along with the title application.
How to notify DMV:
+ Complete only Section 1 on the front of this fom.
+ You must Include evidence that the vehicle was reported as stolen to law enforcement, otherwise
the notice will not be filed. Evidence may include:
* A copy of the police report;
+ A police report number and the name of the agaency the theft was reported to; or
+ Other verification of the repor.
+ Detach Section 1. Retain Section 2 for use if the vehicle is recovered.

+ Mail Section 1 to: .
DMV - Totaled Vehicle Desk

1905 Lana Ave NE
Salem OR 97314

« If the loss s coverad by insurance:
1. Report the theft to law enforcement, and
2. Report the theft to your insurance company.
Because the insurance company is required fo report the theft fo DMV, you do not
need to complete this form.

RECOVERED VEHICLE INSTRUCTIONS

If the vehicle is recovered:

= You must first determing if the vehicle is damaged and if the estimated cost to repair the vehicle is at
least 80% of its retail market value before the damage.
* If your answer to the question is “Yes,” you must surrender the title or primary ownership decument to
DMWY within 30 days of the racovery date and do one of the following:
a. apply for a salvage title; or
b. if the vehicla is repaired, rebuilt, or eligible for a certificate of title, apply for title showing the
vehicle as “totaled” and assembled, reconstructed, or replica; or
¢. surrender the title or primary ownership document to DMV, along with a statement indicting that
the vehicle is totaled and that you do not intend to rebuild or repair the vehicle, to transfer
ownership of the vehicle frame or unibody, or to use the frame or unibody for repairing or
constructing another vehicle.
« ITyour answer to the question is “Ne,” complete Section 2 of the form and follow these instructions.

a. If the vehicle is not considered "totaled,” and you wish to remove the totaled notation from the
vehicle record now, you must go to a full service DMV office to have a vehicle identification
number (VIN) inspection done. There is a fee for the inspection. Submit Section 2 of this form,
with the VIN inspection, to remove the totaled notation.

All DMV offices can perform the VIMN inspections except the following:
Clackamas Promeanade Valley River Mall (Eugene)
Lloyd Center (Portland) West Portland
Tanabourne (Hillskoro)

b. If you do not wish to have a VIN inspection performed now, complete Saction 2 of the form and
send it to: DMV -Totaled Vehicle Desk, 1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem Oregon 97314, The totaled
notation will be removed, but a new notation will be added indicating that a VIN inspection is
required before the vehicle can be retitled.

If you have questions, call DMV’s Totaled Vehicle Desk at (503) 945-5122
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Selling a totaled vehicle

Any business or individual who declares a vehicle totaled must give the buyer the salvage
title. If the title was surrendered to Oregon DMV and no salvage title was issued, the seller
must give the buyer a bill of sale that states:

* The vehicle is totaled;

* The title has been surrendered to DMV; and

» The vehicle must be retitled as an assembled, reconstructed, or replica vehicle; or
the vehicle is a recovered stolen vehicle that is not totaled because of damage.

Buying or selling a totaled vehicle

Anyone who acquires a totaled vehicle with a title that has not been surrendered must
surrender the title to DMV. The title must also include releases from all persons or
companies shown on the title.

If the vehicle is going to be rebuilt or sold, a salvage title must be applied for. The offense
for failing to surrender a title for a totaled vehicle is a Class A misdemeanor which carries a
maximum penalty of up to one year in jail, a fine of up to $6,250 or both.

Notice of Vehicle to Be Dismantled/Proof of Compliance, Form
735-6017

When individuals or businesses that are not required to have a dismantler’s license wreck,
disassemble, substantially alter, or dismantle a vehicle, they must notify DMV with a Notice
of Vehicle to be Dismantled/ Proof of Compliance, Form 735-6017. (Licensed dismantlers
do not use Form 735-6017 to notify DMV. They use the Dismantler’'s Notice to DMV, Form
735-270. See Chapter P, Dismantlers.)

The first copy of Form 735-6017 must be submitted to DMV at least 7 days before starting
such activity. Within 30 days after the vehicle is dismantled, the vehicle registration, plates
and title or other primary ownership document must be submitted to DMV. If no salvage
title is required, the second and third copies must be submitted to DMV with the primary
ownership document. If the vehicle is subject to salvage title requirements, an application
for salvage title and the title fee is required. See the second and third copies of the form
for further instructions.
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Example of NOTICE OF VEHICLE TO BE DISMANTLED/PROOF OF

COMPLIANCE, FORM 735-6017
(Three-part form; top part shown below) Actual size 875" x 11”

NOTICE OF VEHICLE TO BE
e, DISMANTLED / PROOF OF COMPLIANCE

DRNER ASD MOTOR VEWICLE SERWCE

1505 LASGA WYE NE. GALEM OREGOM AT —|
INSTRUCTIONS

Use this form only if you are not required to be issued a dismantler certificate under ORS 822.110. If you are required to
have a dismantler's certificate, you should use the Dismanter's\Vehicle Notice to DMV (Form 735-270).

| WHEN IS A SALVAGE TITLE REQUIRED? |

A salvage title is required on any vehicle that has been wrecked, dismantled, disassembled or substantially altered,

unless you do not intend to do any of the following:

* Rebuild or repair the vehicle; or

® |se the frame or unibody for repairing or constructing anather vehicle; or

®* Transfer the vehicle or frame or unibody to persons other than to a person who holds a dismantler's certificate, and
where that dismantler crushes, compacts, or shreds the entire vehicle including the frame or unibody. Vehicles sold to
dismantlers for any other purpase do not fall under this exception.

AFTER A VEHICLE HAS BEEN WRECKED, DISMANTLED, DISASSEMBLED OR SUBSTANTIALLY ALTERED, {and

within 30 days of completion, if you did the work), you must:

1) Surrender to DMV, any vehicle registration, registration plates, and the title or other primary ownership document(s),
and

2) Submit either:

* An application for a salvage title and the title fee, if the vehicle is subject to salvage title requirements; or

* The ownership document(s) with the pink and yellow copies of this form if the vehicle is not subject to salvage title
requirements.

The pink and yellow copies are used after the vehicle has been wrecked, dismantled, or disassembled, and only if a
salvage title is not required. After the dismantling information is noted on the vehicle record, DMV will date stamp cne part
of the form and return it to you. You may then use that form to dispose of the vehicle to a dismantler who intends to crush,
compact or shred the entire vehicle including the frame or unibody.

Mail either the application for salvage title and the title fee, or the pink and yellow copies of this form, along with ownership
document(s) to:

DMV Totaled Vehicle Desk
1905 Lana Ave. NE
Salem OR  97314-2251

NOTE: If you do not have the title or other ownership document(s), contact DMV at (503) 245-5122 for information. You
do need to be the owner or have acquired interest in the vehicle in order to obtain a salvage title or otherwise dispose of
the vehicle by use of this form.

I VEHICLE DESCRIPTION I
YERR WAKE BODY STYLE
SLATE NUMBER STATE
WEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER. (PLEASE VERIFY VN NUMBER OM VEHICLE) TITLE NUMEER

1 DISMANTLING INFORMATION I
DATE TO BE DISMANTLED TO BE DISMANTLED BY:
ADDRESS CITY, STATE AND ZIF CODE
SIGNATURE ToATE
X | |
¥ RETURN NOTICE TO THE ADDRESS BELOW W ¥ MOTOR VEHICLE SERVICES RECEIPT STAMP ¥

HANE

STREST ADDRESS

CITY STATE, ZI° CODE

161 G

STK# 300217
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Definitions
The following definitions are summarized from DMV Administrative Rules.

Disassemble, dismantle, wreck

» Total destruction of the vehicle such as where the vehicle is taken apart with the
intention of never again being operated as a vehicle (regardless of whether or not
the frame or unibody will be used to repair, rebuild, or construct another vehicle).

» The crushing, compacting, or shredding of the vehicle.

* The engine, drive train, and transmission are removed and the frame or unibody is
sold or transferred separate from these parts.

+ The permanent removal of the wheels and frame or undercarriage of a trailer.

» The vehicle no longer meets the definition of a vehicle under ORS 801.590.

* The destruction of the frame or unibody of the vehicle.

» The clipping of any quarter, section, or half of the vehicle.

Substantially altered

» The frame or unibody is cut, severed, or welded together with parts of two or more
vehicles or other materials.

« Changes or alterations to the body of a vehicle which cause the body to no longer
resemble the original vehicle, or which cause the vehicle to meet the definition of an
assembled, reconstructed, or replica vehicle.

Salvage titles

An Oregon Salvage Title Certificate is a legal document that indicates the vehicle was
totaled, wrecked, dismantled, stolen, or abandoned. It also indicates ownership of the
vehicle. DMV mails the salvage title to the person or firm shown on the document as

owner. (No security interest holders, lessors, or lessees are shown on salvage titles.)

The Oregon salvage title is valid until the vehicle is rebuilt, dismantled, or recovered, and a
regular Oregon title is issued. Salvage titles follow the frame or unibody of a vehicle. If the
frame or unibody is sold or transferred, the salvage title should be assigned and given to
the new buyer.

Under OAR 735-24-0170:

» Dealers, rebuilders, dismantlers, and insurers are not required to apply for an
Oregon salvage title in their name when they acquire a vehicle:
» Already covered by a salvage title issued by Oregon, or
» Covered by a salvage title or salvage certificate issued by some other state.

If the vehicle frame or unibody is acquired by a party other than a dealer, rebuilder,
dismantler, or insurer, they must apply for salvage title in their name. Information on how
to apply for a salvage title appears later in this chapter.

If the frame or unibody is destroyed, the salvage title should be surrendered with a signed
statement indicating this has been done; or, if a dismantler surrenders the salvage title, a
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Dismantler’s Vehicle Notice to DMV, Form 735-270, must be submitted with the salvage
titte. (See Chapter P, Dismantlers, for instructions on completing Form 735-270.)

If the vehicle is repaired, rebuilt, or if the frame or unibody is used in constructing another
vehicle, the salvage title must be surrendered to DMV when applying for a title for the
assembled or reconstructed vehicle. See section titled “Assembled/reconstructed/replica
vehicles” in this chapter.

There are several situations when a salvage title must be applied for:

* When the vehicle has been wrecked, dismantled, disassembled or substantially
altered (ORS 819.010) and you intend to rebuild or repair the vehicle.

* When the venhicle is totaled and the title is required to be surrendered (ORS 819.012
or 819.014).

« When you buy an abandoned vehicle sold under ORS 819.220 (appraised at $1,000
or less but more than $500).

You do not need to apply for a salvage title if you do not intend to rebuild or repair the
vehicle, to transfer the vehicle, or to use the frame or unibody for repairing or constructing
another vehicle.

If the vehicle has been repaired or is otherwise operable before a salvage title can be
applied for, a regular Oregon title may be applied for following the guidelines found later in
this chapter regarding assembled, reconstructed, and replica vehicles.

Vehicle types subject to salvage titles
These vehicle types are subject to salvage title requirements:

« All vehicle types required to be titled or registered in this state,
* Any other vehicle that has been issued a certificate of title by a DMV or another
jurisdiction.

Registration/security interests

When a salvage title is issued, any existing registration for a vehicle is canceled. DMV
cannot issue registration and the vehicle may not be operated on the highways of Oregon,
until an application for certificate of title for the assembled, reconstructed, or replica vehicle
is applied for, or the vehicle has a valid trip permit.

Salvage titles do not have security interest information.
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Oregon Salvage Title Certificate

Below is an example of the most current version of the Oregon Salvage Title (dated July
2008). This revision changed the watermark design. The title is blue and pink rainbow
colored with a red border. The size is 8" X 7".

35¥H3 HO a3y

A5¥2VOID IF ALTERED OR ERASEDTY ANV M TY7

/A Sy 010 WITHOUT CHAIN LINK WATERMARR-CASSCIAN

Submitting salvage title applications
Mail salvage title applications directly to DMV headquarters office at the following address:

DMV

Attn: Totaled Vehicle Desk
1905 Lana Avenue NE
Salem OR 97314-2251

If salvage title applications are not mailed to the address above, the processing time will be
longer.

Salvage title requirements

The basic requirements to issue a salvage title are listed below. You may need further
items depending on the individual transaction.

Primary ownership document has not been surrendered to DMV:

* A primary ownership document is required for all vehicles. A primary ownership
document may include but is not limited to an Oregon title, an MCO, an out-of-state
title, a salvage title, or a sheriff’s bill of sale.

* A completed Application for Salvage Title, Form 735-229, signed by at least one
owner. A letter or computer printout is an acceptable application as long as it
contains all the information needed in a format acceptable to DMV.
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» Title fees (see Chapter M).

Primary ownership document has been surrendered to DMV:

* A completed Application for Salvage Title, Form 735-229, (a letter or computer
printout as noted above is acceptable) signed by at least one owner.
» Title fees (see Chapter M).

Requirements for transferring salvage titles

If the vehicle is a totaled stolen vehicle recovered with little or no damage, see
requirements below. If not, see the section titled “Assembled/reconstructed/replica
vehicles,” in this chapter.

Totaled stolen vehicles - no damage

» The current Oregon salvage title certificate with proper releases from all persons or
firms who previously had an interest.

* A completed Form 735-226, signed by at least one new owner.

» If the vehicle is not totaled due to damage, a signed statement to that effect from
the insurance company.

* AVIN inspection and fee.

» Appropriate fees (See Chapter M)

Registration for salvage vehicles

The registration is cancelled when a salvage title is issued. Salvage titled vehicles may
not be operated on the highways of the state, unless the vehicle has a valid trip permit.

Registration may be applied for after the vehicle is rebuilt and an Oregon title is applied for.
DMV will assign a new plate with a new expiration date. Registration may be applied for at
the same time as the title application, or later. (See Chapter K for more information on
how to apply for registration.)

Application for Salvage Title, Form 735-229

Completing the Application

Please read the section titled Customer Number and Address in Chapter A before
completing the application.

REASON FOR SALVAGE TITLE:
Check the appropriate box.

Gray shaded area:

* Fee boxes: See Chapter M for Fee Charts.
(Other boxes in this area are for DMV office use only.)

Line 1
* Present Oregon Plate Number: Plate number of vehicle at time of salvage.
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* Vehicle Identification Number (VIN): The VIN on the application must match the
VIN on the vehicle and Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin for new vehicles or the
title for used vehicles (exceptions are in Chapter A).

* Oregon Title Number (Gray Shaded Area): If applicable.

Line 2

* Vehicle Description: Year, make, and body style.

* Motor Power: Check the appropriate box to indicate the type of motor power. If
“other” is checked, write in the type of power that propels the vehicle. If powered by
more than one type of motor power, write in all types used.

+  Equipment Number: If applicable.

* Reference Number: Optional. Prints an insurance claim/policy number and date of
loss on the title (cannot exceed 16 characters).

Line 3

+ Odometer Reading and Date of Reading: Must be completed to show the mileage
on the odometer and the date the mileage was recorded by the applicant. In
signing the application, the applicant certifies this information is correct.

« Odometer Disclosure Certification: Must be completed if the odometer reading is
not actual mileage or exceeds mechanical limits

Line 4

* Name of Owner: Full name of the registered owner.

* Customer Number and Date of Birth: This information enables DMV to locate the
customer in the DMV database files. Enter the customer number for all owners,
including businesses.

Line 5 and 6

+ Owner’s Residence Address: Address must be the actual residence address of
the registered owner(s) or lessee(s), including the city, state, and zip code. If the
registered owner is a business, use the actual Oregon location of the business.

« County of Residence: Fill in the owner’s county of residence.

* Mailing Address: Complete if the mailing address is different from the residence
address listed on line 4, including city, state and ZIP Code. If the salvage title is to
be mailed to an insurance company or other interested party, include “c/o”
indicating “in-care-of” with the insurance company or other interested party name
and address. The name and address information on the first registered owner’s
customer file will be printed on the title.

+ County of Mailing: Fill in the county of the mailing address.

Lines 7 and 8

* Name of Joint Owner or Lessee: Full name of the joint registered owner or lessee
(for individuals, complete as shown on ODL, ID card or instruction permit.)

+ Customer Number and Date of Birth: This information enables DMV to locate the
customer in the DMV database files. Enter the customer number for all owners,
including businesses.
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Lines 9 and 10

* One-Time Mailing Address: If DMV should mail the title to an insurance company
or other interested party not listed as the owner, be sure to list the insurance
company or other interested party name and address. This information will not be
printed on the title.

Line 11

» Survivorship: Check the YES or NO box to indicate survivorship. If neither box is
checked, no survivorship will be shown on the title.

Line 12

* Insurance Companies: If an insurance company is applying, they certify by signing
the form that all previous owners’ interest has been satisfied.

Line 13 and 14

+ Signature of Owner: The signature of at least one owner is required.
» Telephone Number: Optional, but is helpful if more information is needed.
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Example of APPLICATION FOR SALVAGE TITLE, FORM 735-229
Actual size 85" x 11”7

REMARKS:

Application for
bt Salvage Title

CHIMER AND BOTON VEHCLE SE RS
15T LAHA K% NE SALEN DR GON S 11

A salvage title is required in the following situations (under ORS 819.010; 819.012 and 819.014):
zlared a total loss by an insurer who is obligated to cover the loss (this includes damaged and unrec
stolen vehicles); or

* Vehicles d

y an insurar and the estimated repair cost is equal to af least 80%
‘Retail market value” is defined as the amount shown in publications used by
I inthis state.

dizmantled, substantially altered, or a vehicle sold under ORS 812,220 or other similar
Cregon county rdinance if the buyer intends to repair or rebuild the vehicle; use the frame or unib repair or
reconstruct another vehicle; or transfer the ownership of the vehicle to anyone except a licensed dismantler whose sole

pupose is to complete zhicle including the frame or unibo

Ty the

hicle is totaled and meets the above definition. (ORS 801.527)
hicle is wrecked, dismantled, disassembled or substantiall
=hicle was bought as an abandoned vehicle appraised at 2

Check cne af
these boxes:

REASON FOR SALVAGE TITLE

RS 219.010)

000 or less. (ORS 819.2:

TMEMCIRANDUN AECEIFT & BATCGH COOE | TTTLE FEE
THANE COTE L EES g P 3 T TITIE BT FRECHECRER
A I
EGUH PLATE CF FLE ¢ VEHIGLE IDENTIFICATICH HUMBER (VINy DREGON TITLE &
@ YEAR WAKE STHLE s [ ] oicseL[EOUPMERTE REFERENCE #
OTHER:

CDOMETER: Fedeml and Stale laws recuirs that you stale the misage when you ansker owrership. Falure lo complets an cdomeler disclosure or providing a false slabermanl may resull in linss and'or
mprisanment. Under Orsgan law, the alleres for submitling & lalss cdometer disclosure is a Cles C fdony (ORS 815.430). Use this adametsr centilization lor motar vehickss 0 years old arnewer and whan you
are unable ta abtain the praper disclesurs Irom the sellsr. | caify the adomeer discleure lisied is e ard corrsst. A disclosurs i nat availshile on the rsquired famn fram the saller. Dagree ta hold DR harmlass
lar any action resulling fram my rat submitting the sallsr's discheure,
CLCHRTETER REALTHG RS TERTHS) LATE OF READMHG | ce=rify that, to the best of my knowledge, the odometer rading is actual
mileage UNLESS one of these boxes is marked:
E th= milsage sttsd is in excess ol i mecharical mits ke rollsd overf; o

the cdometer rading is MOT actual mieags, WARMNING - odomeier discrepancy.

Complets Ling 4with the owner whose address will be ussd for all DMV mail regarding this vehicke. List additional owners on Lines 7 and &. {This in no way determines a prioity of
ownership.) fany owner listed uses a work address on DMV records, that owner must be listed on Line 4. See everse for more information.

CME TIME MAILING ADDRESS: HAME {For this ransaction only-address will nol show on your cuskomer record)

MAILING ADDRESS

73] FHINT THUE MAME: LAST, FIRST, MIDOLE OF O'WHER [a]] N S 3 o 1S £ CATECF BIRTH
[

w

c RESICERCE ADDREES (IF cowner is a busive=s, use busire=s address) MAILING ADCAESS [F different thar resid=ncs address)

a 1

[=]

g CITY, STATE, ZIF COCE COUNTY OF HESICENCE CITY, STATE, ZIF CCDE COUNTY OF MAILING
=

: FRINT THUE MAME: LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE OF JOINT OWHER O0L ! O/ CUSTOMER # CATE OF BIRTH
E

c

w

s

(=]

CITY, STATE, ZIP CODE

SURVIVORSHIF: Jaint Owners agree that title will show joint ownership with right of survivorship. = [Ovws [wuo

To apply for salvage title in Oregon, the owner must certify by completing and signing the statements below. By signing this application, the owner also
acknowledges the survivorship as indicated above. Under Oregon law, it is a crime to knowingly make any false statement on an application for title (ORS
803.070 / ORS 803.385). Both offenses are Class A misdemeanors and are punishable by a jail sentence of up fo one year, a fine of up to 36,250 or both.

INSURANCE COMPANIES: | cettify, if | repressnt an insurance company, all pior interests have been satisfied.

| CERTIFY THE INFORMATION ON THIS APPLICATION IS TRUE AND CORRECT.

SIGNATURES | CERTIFICATIONS

SIGHATURE CF CRHER A5 SHOVIT ABOVE CATE HOME FHOWE & Y
@ X WORK PRONE Y
@ SIGHATURE OF JOHT OWHER TATE TCOLHTER DATE STAMP T LS

735-228 (3-08)
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Application for salvage title on applicant’s form
Below is an example of an acceptable application for salvage title in letter form.

An Insurance Company
112 Main Street
Anywhere, OR 97000
Application for Salvage Title

Salvage title is being applied for because the vehicle has been totaled.

Plate: XYZ123 Year: 2006 Make: Chev
Style: PU Model % ton extended cab
VIN: 2GCFK29KXN000000 Title: 0712203401

By completing and signing the statement below, | am certifying that under Oregon Law, it is a
crime to knowingly make any false statement on application for title (ORS 803.070). Offense is
a Class A misdemeanor and is punishable by a jail sentence up to one year, a fine up to $5,000,
or both.

Federal and state laws require | state the mileage when there is a transfer of ownership. Failure
to completed an odometer disclosure or providing a false statement may result in fines and/or
imprisonment. Under Oregon Law, the offense of submitting a false odometer statement is a
Class C Felony (ORS 815.430).

Odometer reading: 96,123 Date of reading: 07/02/08

| certify that, to the best of my knowledge, the odometer reading is the actual mileage.

| hereby certify that to the best of my knowledge, the odometer reading reflects the amount
of mileage in excess of its mechanical limits.

| certify that the odometer reading is not the actual mileage.

| certify that all prior interests have been satisfied.
| certify that the information on this application is true can correct.

Signature Date:

Claim Representative: An Insurance Company representative
Telephone number: (503) 333-0000

J14
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Replacement salvage title requirements

A replacement salvage title may be applied for if the original salvage title is lost, destroyed,
or mutilated. An application for replacement salvage title must be made by the person or
persons to whom the salvage title was originally issued. DMV will issue the replacement
salvage title in the same owners’ names as the previous salvage title. The only exceptions
are:

*  When the owner of record is deceased or their interest is transferred by operation of
law, or

« When the whereabouts of the owner are unknown or the owner is otherwise
unavailable to apply. “Unavailable to apply” does not pertain if the owner of record
is an insurer currently doing business in this state, or is a dealer or dismantler
currently licensed by Oregon DMV.

*  When no odometer disclosure is required, and the new owner provides releases of
interest from all owners, the new owner may apply for salvage replacement title and
transfer at the same time.

Application for Replacement Salvage Title, Form 735-230

Completing the Application

Please read the section titled Customer Number and Address in Chapter A before
completing the application. Fill in all applicable boxes and spaces.

FRONT

Gray shaded area:

* Fee boxes: See Chapter M for Fee Charts.
(Other boxes in this area are for DMV office use only.)

Line 1

* Present Oregon Plate Number: Plate number of vehicle as shown on DMV
records.

* Vehicle Description: Year, make, and body style.

» Vehicle Identification Number (VIN): The VIN on the application must match the
VIN on the vehicle and the VIN listed on DMV records (exceptions in Chapter A).

Line 2

* Motor Power: Check the appropriate box to indicate the type of motor power. If
“other” is checked, write in the type of power that propels the vehicle. If powered by
more than 1 type of motor power, write in all types used.

+ Reference Number: Optional. Prints an insurance claim or policy number and date
of loss if this information is desired on the title (cannot exceed 16 characters).

+ Title Number: List the current Oregon salvage title number if known.
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Line 3

* Name of Owner: Full legal name of registered owner.

* ODL/ID/Customer # and Date of Birth: This information enables DMV to locate
the customer in the DMV database files. Enter the customer number for all owners,
including businesses.

Lines4 &5

+ Owner’s Residence Address: Must be the actual residence address of the
registered owners or lessees, including the city, state, and zip code. If the
registered owner is a business, use the actual Oregon location of the business.

+ County of Residence: Fill in the owner’s county of residence.

* Mailing Address: Complete if the mailing address is different from the residence
address listed on line 4 & 5, including the city, state, and ZIP Code. If the salvage
title is to be mailed to an insurance company or other interested party, be sure to
include “c/o” indicating “in-care-of” with the insurance company or other
interested party name and address. The name and address information on the first
registered owner’s customer file will be printed on the title.

« County of Mailing: Fill in the county of the mailing address.

Lines 6 & 7
* Name of Joint Owner or Lessee: Full legal name of the joint registered owner or
lessee.

« ODL/ID/Customer # and Date of Birth: This information enables DMV to locate
the customer in the DMV database files. Enter the customer number for all owners,
including businesses.

Lines 8 &9

* One-Time Mailing Address: If DMV should mail the salvage title to an insurance
company or other interested party not listed as the owner, be sure to list the
insurance company or other interested party name and address. This information
will not be printed on the title.

Line 10 & 11

« Signatures of Owners: All owners shown on DMV records must sign. Signatures
of registered owners are required even if they have released interest.

EXCEPTION: DMV will accept a replacement title/title transfer transaction without
the signatures of the owners of record on the replacement title application when no
odometer disclosure is required and all ownership releases (for example,
connecting bills of sale) are provided within the transaction. Line 12 of the Form
230 must be signed by a person who can attest to the disposition of the title, if the
owners of record do not sign the Form 230.

Line 12

« Signature of Person Certifying the Salvage Title is Lost, Destroyed, Or
Mutilated, If Not an Owner Shown on DMV Records: This line must be signed by
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the person certifying the title has been lost, destroyed or mutilated if this person is
not an owner shown on DMV records (for example, a new owner who purchased
the vehicle and lost the title before they applied to DMV for title transfer). If the
person is from a business, it must be signed and countersigned.

Example of APPLICATION FOR REPLACEMENT SALVAGE TITLE, FORM 735-230
Actual size 85" x 11”7

Application for Replacement Salvage Title

LT LT W T N B L B
TEGH LAAL 40 NE, . Bl ORI AT

'
el
- i there are ANY changes in ownership, you must complets an Application for Title amd istration (Form
a P ¥ P P

g TI5-226) or Applica tion for Sabage Tile (Form 735-228) in addition to this form. Plsass read the instructions
= on the back of this form carsfully before completing this application.
g TR Lot Ll |11 |H‘F |pn-:~;'§§= X WEC TRTCH CouE

MENCIILENDUM RECERT ¢ TERERTHRS FFE CHECHER TITLE FEE

O 3
Complete Lines 1 through 12. The ownership information must reflect what is currently shown on DMV records.
. 4213 1 T N T I 7= TORT ETTIE | WEFIRLE LR N T TCAT o FORAET (|
o
@ :| CAS | | DIEsEL | [HYEAD | POCRENE? TITLE FDMGER]
- OTHER:

Ccrnplele- Lime 3 with the cwnerwhoss address will be used for all DM mail regarding this wehick. List additional owners on Lines & ard 7.
{Thig in no way detetmines a priceity of ownership) I ary ownerlisked uses a work address on DMV records, that owner must be shown on Line 3.

. PANT FULLLEGAL HEWE LAGT, FIaT, NIDOLE CF CHRET, L /10 GUBTCMER # TIBTE CF ETATH e 00 (777 )
©;
FEETEACE ANTFERS - [ cararis u Funres, e Bumrans sddramt] TSt o remarce]

-
ey
., CUV.ETATE, ZF COE TRNTY OF RESIDENGE CITY, BTATE, ZP CODE TOLNTY OF WAL G
(5}
. PR FULLLEGAL FAWE LAGT, FRST, NIDDLE CF S0 0L 7 CUGTOWER & TETECFEINTH [ 7 00 (77T,
2
@ PRNT FULLLEGAL MAME LAST, FRST, MIDDLE CF JCONT CAWHER TOL (107 GUBTOMER # TETE CFEITH W8 D0 (77T,
., DT WETLFYS ALTFETS For tha rwawcton orly - wmas ml v #hom o your costorser rvcced] Fiag Oy
8} 11:-:.1,«
T Y, 5T ATE, Q1P GLOE
-
(@

To apply for a replacement salvage title in Oregon, the owner must cettify by completing and =signing
the statements below. Under Oregon law, it is a crime to knowingly make any false statement on an
application for fitle (ORS 803.070/ ORS 803.385). Both offenses are Class A misdemeanaors and are
punizhable by a jail sentence of up to one vear, a fine of up to $6,250 ar bath.

| certify:

* The original salvage title issued for this vehicle has been lost, destroyed or mutilated, and to the
best of my knowledas has not besn signed, conveyed or transfered to another party. If mutilated,
the tile or what remains of the title is attached.

* The information on this application is true and correct.

PLEASE NOTE: SIGNATURES ON THIS FORM D0 MOT RELEASE INTEREST.

_ SICRATINE GF WA, SRCWR SECE TETE FOWEDHCRE® | i

i3 EEEGERRET |
BIGHATNE CIF CHHEN, GRCWN ABCVE TRTE

® x
SIGNATURE OF PERSON CERTIFYING THE SALVAGE TITLE IS LOST, DESTROYED, OR MUTILATED, IF NOT AN OWNER SHOWN ON DMY RECORDS.
BIGHATLIE [D&TE COUNTE DATE STENE | FATIALE

3 ¥ |

7 -2 6 L
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Assembled/reconstructed/replica vehicles

Vehicles are titled as assembled, reconstructed, or replica vehicles when they meet the
definition of a totaled vehicle, a substantially altered vehicle, or are sold under certain laws.

An assembled vehicle:

* Has a body that does not resemble any particular year, model or make of vehicle;

* Is not a vehicle rebuilt by a manufacturer;

* Is not a vehicle built in a factory where the year, model and make are assigned at
the factory; and

* Is not an antique vehicle, a vehicle of special interest, a reconstructed vehicle, or a
replica. (ORS 801.130)

The title will indicate the year model as the year in which the building of the vehicle was
completed.

A reconstructed vehicle either:

* Has a body that resembles and primarily is a particular year, model or make of
vehicle;

* Is not a vehicle rebuilt by a manufacturer;

* Is not a vehicle built in a factory where the year, model and make are assigned at
the factory; and

* Is not a replica (see definition of a replica below); or

* |Is a motor truck that has been rebuilt using a component kit if the manufacturer of
the kit assigns a vehicle identification number and provided a Manufacturer’s
Certificate of Origin for the kit.

The title will show the original year model and make of the body. The word
‘RECONSTRUCTED?” will be printed on the title and shown on the DMV title record.

A replica is a vehicle:

« With a body built to resemble and be a reproduction of another vehicle of a given
year and given manufacturer. (Example: A reproduction of a 1957 MG built with
1985 parts.)

The title for a replica vehicle will show the year and make the vehicle resembles. The
word “REPLICA” will be printed on the title and shown on the DMV title record.

Title requirements for assembled, reconstructed and replica
vehicles

The following items are required for DMV to issue a title for assembled, reconstructed and
replica vehicles:

» The title or salvage title (or equivalent documents) for the frame of the vehicle or
evidence that the title has been surrendered to Oregon or another state.
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Equivalent title documents:

* Replacement title application certifying the current Oregon title has been lost,
destroyed, or mutilated, if the vehicle is not subject to federal odometer
requirements.

» Operation of law documents, such as a Sheriff’s bill of sale, court order, divorce
decree or other legal document showing ownership.

Evidence that the title was previously surrendered:

+ A salvage title.

« If the title was surrendered to another state’s DMV and that state does not issue
salvage titles, a bill of sale from an insurer or auto wrecker/dismantler, which must
state the title has been surrendered for cancellation to that state, or a letter from the
other state’s DMV telling us the title was surrendered for cancellation to a DMV
office in that state.

» A letter from another state telling us the title was surrendered for cancellation to a
DMV office in that state.

* Indication on Oregon DMV records that the title was previously surrendered.

Other requirements and information

» Original bills of sale, title, MCO, or equivalent documents for each major part.

» All vehicles titled for the first time as assembled, reconstructed, or replica need a
VIN inspection by DMV or a designated law enforcement agency.

* Motor vehicles titled for the first time as assembled will have an odometer message
of “Not Actual” entered into the vehicle record. This applies when the vehicle type is
subject to odometer requirements and when the newly assembled vehicle retains an
odometer mechanism from another vehicle. DMV does not add a “Not Actual”
odometer message for newly assembled vehicles when the odometer mechanism is
replaced during the vehicle assembly, is set at 0 (zero), and an Odometer Repair or
Replacement Certification, Form 6747 is submitted.

» A completed Assembled, Reconstructed or Replica Vehicle Certification, Form 735-
6511, or the certification on the back of Form 735-226.

If you have met all of the above requirements, follow normal title application procedures.
See Chapter A.

Previous damage in another jurisdiction

When an owner applies for title for a vehicle from another jurisdiction and submits
documents that show the vehicle has been damaged or words of similar import, DMV
places a notation (brand) on the Oregon title.

Currently used title brands include Flood (State Name), Glider Kit (State Name), Lemon
Law (State Name), Replica (State Name), and Branded (State Name).

DMV no longer uses the “Previous Damage” notation. DMV will not convert current title
records showing “Previous Damage” notations until the titles are received for transfer.
When the title is transferred in Oregon, DMV will convert the “Previous Damage” brand to
“‘Branded (state name).”
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If an out-of-state title has multiple brands or there is not an equivalent Oregon brand to
match, DMV will issue the certificate of title with the notation “Branded” and the name of
the previous jurisdiction (for example, “Branded-California®). If the title does not have any
previous brands, “NONE” will appear in the brand box on the title.

Oregon DMV will place a “Totaled” brand on the Oregon title when an out-of-state title,
salvage title or salvage certificate or other ownership document is received showing the
name of an insurer as owner, or when an insurer is shown as an interim owner on any
reassignment area submitted with the title transaction. The only exception is when an
insurer submits an out-of-state title and is applying for an Oregon title in their own name for
a vehicle already in their possession. These vehicles are primarily fleet vehicles titled in
the insurance company’s own name. DMV will remove the “Totaled” brand if we receive
information that the vehicle is a theft-recovery vehicle that no longer meets the Oregon
“totaled” definition, just as we do for vehicles currently titled in Oregon.

DMV will not brand an Oregon vehicle title with the “Glider Kit” brand unless the
transaction includes a Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin stating the kit was manufactured
and sold as a glider kit. The new brand will appear as Glider Kit (without a state name).

A brand will not be placed on the Oregon title solely because the out of state title is a
bonded title. However, a Certification of Ownership Facts, DMV Form 550, must
accompany the application for Oregon title when a bonded title is submitted as the
ownership document. If additional evidence of ownership is available, it must be submitted
with the application and certification form.

Totaled in Oregon

The word “TOTALED” will appear on any subsequent Oregon title or salvage title issued
for a vehicle that declared totaled under Oregon laws. This will be in addition to any other
brand or designation indicating “assembled,” “reconstructed,” or “replica.” For vehicles that
must be titled as assembled, reconstructed, or replica, for reasons other than for totaled,
the “totaled” notation will not appear on the title.

For more information on title branding, call DMV Headquarters in Salem at (503) 945-
5000.

“Non-repairable” vehicle certificates

Some states also issue “Non-Repairable Vehicle Cetrtificates”, “Junk Certificates,” or a title
with other brands that indicate the vehicle cannot be retitled, or that the vehicle has no
resale value except as a source of parts or scrap. When an ownership document for a
vehicle from another jurisdiction contains a word, term, brand, or notation indicating the
vehicle is not intended to be retitled, DMV will not issue an Oregon title.

The following are some of the terms that indicate DMV cannot issue a title:

» Destroyed * Non-repairable

+ Dismantled « Parts only

*  Hulk « Scrap

* Junk *  Wreck or wrecker only

 Non-rebuildable
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