Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

Limited Vision Condition Program

Overview

This page provides information about the Limited Vision Condition Program in Oregon.
 
Use the links below to go directly to any section:
Bioptic Telescopic Lenses
Effective July 1, 2004, Oregon state law provides an opportunity for persons with a limited vision condition that use a bioptic telescopic lens and meet established criteria to be eligible for restricted driving privileges in Oregon.

Note: Information is available in an easy-to-print fact sheet in PDF format.

Eligibility
To be eligible for Oregon driving privileges your vision must meet the following criteria:
  • Visual acuity in the better eye with best lens correction that is no better than 20/80 and no worse than 20/200;
  • Have no ocular diagnosis or prognosis that may result in deterioration of the person's corrected vision below a 20/200 level of visual acuity;
  • Have a visual field of at least 120 degrees horizontally and 80 degrees vertically; and
  • Would be aided by using a bioptic telescopic lens when operating a motor vehicle.
Driving Privileges
A limited vision regular (non-commercial Class C) driver license or instruction permit is issued with the following restrictions:
  • Driving during daylight hours only; and
  • Driving only when using a bioptic telescopic lens.
The daylight only restriction will be removed when you complete the following steps:
  • Are examined by a vision specialist who indicates on a report submitted to DMV that your vision does not prohibit the ability to safely operate a motor vehicle at night; and
  • Provide a certificate from a rehabilitation training specialist stating that you have successfully completed nighttime training and can safely operate a motor vehicle at night.
Getting Licensed
In order to get a license under the Limited Vision Condition Program, you must complete the following steps:
  • Be examined by a vision specialist who completes a report to DMV showing your vision meets the criteria to be licensed under this program;
  • Be fitted by a licensed vision specialist with a bioptic telescopic lens mounted on the carrier lens;
  • Enroll in a rehabilitation training program offered by a specialist certified by DMV to train low vision condition persons in the use of bioptic telescopic lens while driving;
  • Pass DMV's written knowledge test;
  • Be issued by DMV a special limited vision condition learner's permit to only be used during driver training with a Rehabilitation Training Specialist;
  • Submit to DMV a certificate issued by a rehabilitation training specialist certifying that you have successfully completed a rehabilitation training program; and
  • Pass a DMV-provided drive test (call (503) 945-5523 to schedule).
Fees
Fees that you may be required to pay include:
  • Class C Knowledge Test - $5
  • Special limited condition learner's permit - $13
  • Class C Instruction Permit - $23.50 (if applicable)
  • Class C Drive Test - $9
  • Class C License - $60 (if applicable)
Other Requirements
Other requirements that you need to meet are:
  • Every two years, you must provide a new certification from a licensed vision specialist; and 
  • A driver under 18 years of age must meet all the requirements of a provisional license:
    • Have an instruction permit (this differs from a special limited condition learner's permit) for a minimum of six months; and
    • Complete a Driver's Education Course (not the specialized training required by this program) and have 50 hours of supervised driving; or
    • Have 100 hours of supervised driving prior to being issued a provisional license.
    Program Contact Information
    You may mail us at:
    Driver Safety Unit
    DMV Headquarters
    1905 Lana Avenue NE
    Salem , OR 97314
    If you have any questions, you may call us at (503) 945-5086.

    Related Information
    Additional information that may be relevant include: