Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

Vehicle-related FAQs

Index

Accidents
  • How long do I have before I must file an accident report?
    72 hours.
  • What if the other person didn't have insurance?
    File a report with DMV.
Address Changes
  • How long before I must notify DMV of my address change?
    Within 30 days.
  • Is there a fee for an address change?
    No.
  • Do I have to get a new vehicle registration card with my new address?
    No, but you can get a new registration card for $5 with your new address printed on it if you want to.
DEQ/Emissions (Smog) Testing
  • What is the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ)?
    DEQ
    is a regulatory agency whose job is to protect the quality of Oregon’s environment.
  • Do I need to get my vehicle tested?
    If you live in the Portland or Medford metropolitan area you need to check if your vehicle must be tested.
  • Can I renew my registration (plates/tags) at DEQ?
    Yes, ONLY if the vehicle must also be tested for emissions.
  • What do I have to bring to DEQ to renew my registration while I’m there?
    Your renewal form and fees.
  • Can I get a vehicle identification number (VIN) inspection at DEQ?
    Yes, ONLY if the vehicle must also be tested for emissions.
  • Why do we need emissions testing?
    It is a cost-effective way to reduce air pollution and maintain good air quality.
Disabled Person Parking Permits
  • Where can I return a permit?
    To DMV, through the mail or at a DMV office. 
  • How long will my disabled person parking permit valid?
    Check out the parking permit page for more information.
  • Is there a fee for my disabled person parking permit?
    No.
  • If I move out of state, do I have to return my permit?
    Yes.
  • Is my out-of-state permit valid in Oregon?
    Yes.
  • Does my disabled veteran license plate let me to park in a disabled person parking space?
    No, you must have a valid disabled person parking permit.
  • How do I get a disabled person parking permit?
    Check out the parking permit page for more information.
  • Do I qualify for a disabled person parking permit? 
    You must meet the definition of a disabled person (ORS 801.387).
Fees
  • Can I pay using a credit or debit card?
    Yes.
  • Is there a list of all DMV fees? 
    Yes.
  • Who determines how much DMV charges?
    DMV’s fees are established and maintained by the Oregon legislature.
License Plates
  • How do I renew my registration (tags)?
    Online, by mail, at a DMV office, or at DEQ.
  • Can I transfer my license plate to a different vehicle?
    Yes.
  • What do I do if my plates are lost, damaged or destroyed?
    You can get replacement plates.
  • Can I get a sample license plate for education or other non-registration purposes?
    No.
  • How do I dispose of old license plates?
    Destroy/deface the month/year stickers, then check with your local recycling contact for aluminum recycling, or return them to DMV.
Miscellaneous
  • When is the best time to visit a DMV office?
    You can check current wait times online for many DMV offices.
  • How do I get a trip permit?
    Check out the trip permits page for more information.
  • How do I report drivers who are aggressive, intoxicated, medically at-risk or do not have a license?
    Check out the Report a Problem Driver page for more information.
  • I have a trip permit from another state, is it valid in Oregon?
    Yes.
  • If I give you a plate number, can you tell me who owns the vehicle?
    No, personal information is protected and only released to qualified entities (ORS 802.175-191).
  • What can I do about an abandoned vehicle?
    Check out the Vehicle Types page for more information.
  • My family member is deceased, how do I get a new title?
    Check out the titles page for more information.
  • How does my non-profit organization set up a Vehicle Donation Program?
    There are three different ways you can set up your program.
Other Vehicles
  • Are pocket bikes, mini-choppers or mini-motorcycles legal on Oregon public roads?
    No, they are manufactured for off-road use only.
  •  
  • Are scooters, mopeds, electric assisted bicycles and personal mobility devices legal on Oregon public roads?
    Some are legal if they meet specific definitions and restrictions in Oregon law.
  •  
  • I live in Oregon, do I have to title and register my snowmobile? 
    Yes, even to use on your own property.
  •  
  • I don't live in Oregon, what do I need to use my snowmobile here?
    A snowmobile trip permit is required and is valid for up to 60 days.
  •  
  • Do I have to pay late fees if my registration is expired?
    No, there are no registration late fees, regardless of how long your registration has been expired.
  •  
  • Can I title and register a vehicle I assembled myself?
    Yes.
  •  
  • Can I register my all-terrain vehicle (ATV)? 
    No, ATVs do not qualify for registration but you can get a title. You can get a permit from Oregon Parks and Recreation.
  •  
  • How do I title and register my vehicle?
    Check out the title and registration page for more information.
  • Can I title and register my commercial vehicle at DMV?
    The Motor Carrier Transportation Division (MCTD) issues most commercial vehicle registration. DMV can title your commercial vehicle and register heavy trucks or permanent fleet vehicles up to 26,000 pounds or over 26,000 pounds if it is:
    • Not subject to weight-mile tax;
    • Charitable/non-profit;
    • Government exempt;
    • Farm;
    • Tow/recovery; or
    • Manufactured structure toter.
Vehicle Registration
Vehicle Titles
  • Do I need to change my address on my Oregon title?
    No, but you may apply and pay the title fee to get a title with your new address if you want to.
  • Can I change my name on my Oregon title?
    Yes
  • Should I get a new title to take off my lienholder since I’ve paid off my loan?
    Yes, you are required to get a new title within 30 days.
  • Can I replace my lost title?
    Yes.
  • How long will it take to get my title?
    Usually 3-5 weeks, but it may take longer if there are processing delays.
  • What can I do if I have not received my title?
    Contact DMV.
  • How long before I must transfer a title into my name?
    30 days, additional fees may be required if you apply after 30 days.
  • My out-of-state title shows "junked" (or similar words), can get a title?
    No.
  • I bought a car and there is no title, what should I do?
    If it is an Oregon vehicle you will need to apply for a replacement title.
  • I bought a car from an Oregon dealer that is now out of business, how do I get a title?
    DMV cannot give legal advice, but there is information that may help you.
  • I sold my vehicle, what do I need to do?
    Notify DMV within 10 days.
  • My vehicle odometer shows kilometers, do I need to convert it to miles?
    No.
  • What do I do if my vehicle is totaled in an accident?
    You must give the title to DMV (or to the insurer) within 30 days of when you found out it was a total loss.
  • Do I need a vehicle identification number (VIN) inspection?
    Yes, if the vehicle has an out-of-state or out-of-country title, or is assembled, reconstructed or a replica.