September 28, 2009
Fee Increases will help support jobs and transportation
Several DMV fees will increase Oct. 1 under the Jobs and Transportation Act passed by the Oregon Legislature.
Some passenger vehicle owners already have seen the new registration fee in their renewal notices. The vehicle registration fee is based on when the vehicle's tags expire, not when the fee is paid. DMV mails the vehicle registration renewal notices several weeks before the plates expire.
The Jobs and Transportation Act increases fees for vehicle titles, passenger vehicle registrations, new or replacement license plates, identification cards, trip permits and custom plates. A handful of new fees that apply to commercial and farm vehicles will take effect Jan. 1, 2010. Fees for driver licenses will not increase.
The Oregon Legislature and the governor approved the act to provide Oregonians with better roads, more transportation options and improved safety throughout the system.
"Along with improving Oregon's transportation system, the Jobs and Transportation Act will help sustain thousands of Oregon jobs, keep freight and people moving, and provide a boost to local communities and businesses throughout the state," DMV Administrator Tom McClellan said.
The new DMV fees are part of a transportation funding package that supports:
• A sustained $300 million per year for road repair and improvement (half goes to Oregon cities and counties).
• A series of 37 major state highway construction projects.
• Support for Amtrak Cascades train service, roadside rest areas, urban trails and bicycle paths, and public transportation for seniors and people with disabilities.
The act also creates a new category of vehicles in Oregon – medium-speed electric vehicles – once such passenger vehicles are manufactured to meet U.S. Department of Transportation passenger vehicle safety standards. These vehicles will be allowed only on roads with speed limits of 45 mph or lower.
Also, as a streamlining measure, the act saves money for Oregonians who apply for both a replacement title and a title transfer at the same time. Oregon law has required DMV to charge for both transactions even when submitted at the same time. As of Oct. 1, customers will pay only a title transfer fee when they also apply for a replacement title at the same time for the same vehicle.