Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

Motor Carriers/CDL Record Requests

Overview​

Image of digital information across a highway backround
This page contains information about motor carriers/CDL record requests.
 
Use the links listed below to go directly to any section:
General Requirements
Oregon law requires the Oregon Department of Transportation to post positive drug test results to the employment driving record of commercial drivers who participate in federally mandated drug testing programs for motor carriers. Federal regulations require motor carriers to order a complete driver history. In Oregon a complete driver history consists of two separate records, a certified court print and a three year employment driving record with positive drug test results.

Frequently Asked Questions
How do I order the motor-carrier-required complete driver history?
Mail requests to:
Oregon DMV
Attn: Record Services Unit
1905 Lana Avenue NE
Salem, OR 97314

Account Holders only, fax requests to:
Oregon DMV
Attn: Record Services Unit
Fax: (503) 945-5425
How do I order a 3-year employment driving record with positive drug test results? Requests for an employment driving record with positive drug test results must be submitted on an Affidavit to Authorize Release of Employment Driving Record with Positive Drug Test Result Information (Form 735-7195).  This form must be completed in full with a signature of the person whose driving record is being requested. A fee of $2 must be included with the request.
Mail the completed form and fee to:
Oregon  DMV
Attn: Record Services Unit
1905 Lana Ave NE
Salem, OR 97314

What is the Automated Reporting Service (ARS)?
The Automated Reporting Service (ARS) is a service provided to employers with drivers under their employment, such as trucking companies, delivery services, etc.  This service produces and sends the employer a court print driving record when a conviction, accident or suspension is posted to one of their employee's records.  There is no fee to add or delete an individual to the service if the requester uses DMV's online ARS option; there is a $2 fee for each individual DMV adds or deletes manually.  There is a $3 fee for each printed record produced.  ARS is only available to customers who have a valid Record Inquiry Account. For more information send an e-mail to: ARS@odot.state.or.us.

Reading an Oregon Driving Record
To assist with the reading of driver records, DMV provides a Driving Record Explanation Summary (Form 735-7104), which contains a brief explanation of some common entries found on Oregon driving records, and a Guide to Oregon Driving Records (Form 735-6665), which contains comprehensive instructions for reading Oregon driving records.

Related Information
Additional information that may be relevant includes: