Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

Late Title Transfer Fee

Overview

When there is a change of ownership to a vehicle titled in Oregon, the new owner must present the title to DMV for transfer within 30 days of the change. 
  
If it is over 30 days from the date of sale, a late title transfer fee is due.  The late fee is in addition to the regular title transfer fee.
 
The late fee is $25 on the 31st through the 60th day after the date of sale.  The late fee increases to a maximum of $50 on the 61st day after the date of sale. 
 
DMV may waive or reduce late title transfer fees.  Applicants must complete a Certification of Vehicle Date of Purchase or a Late Title Transfer Fee Exemption Certification (Form 735-6775). DMV must approve the request before waiving or reducing fees.  

Exceptions to the Late Fee
The late title transfer fee does not apply in these cases:
  • The new owner proves they made a good faith effort to obtain the title.
  • The new owner proves that failure to comply was for a reason beyond their control.
  • Applicant is in active duty military service.
  • Applicant submits documents within 30 days from the date it first became within their control to do so.
  • When a "sale" has not occurred.  Examples: At least one owner will remain on the title; a change of ownership by court order; the heir to a vehicle will be shown as owner on the new title; the transfer involves a change in the lessee where the lessor remains the same or is to be shown as owner on the new title; the vehicle was repossessed and the security interest holder will be shown as the new owner; the vehicle was not sold (for example, was a gift).
  • Most applications involving salvage titles.
  • Applications for totaled, dismantled, destroyed, disassembled, or substantially altered vehicles.
  • Replacement title applications (with or without transfer) by operation of law when the new owner will title the vehicle in another state.
  • Documents show they were previously presented to a DMV office within 30 days
  • The current date of sale is before the date DMV issued the last title.  The last title issuance must be within 30 days of the date of sale.
  • Applications for title for possessory liens completed in Oregon for vehicles last titled in another state.
  • Vehicles not titled in Oregon, new vehicles, and new-to-Oregon vehicles.
  • Oregon dealers are exempt but must notify DMV of the purchase.  Out-of-state dealers are not exempt.
  • When the date of sale was before January 1, 1986.
Related Information
 
Additional information that may be relevant includes: