
By signing this application, I hereby certify that the statements in this application are true and correct. I understand that it 
is a crime to knowingly make any false statements on this application. If I am convicted of such act, I further understand 
that I can be fined or sentenced to jail or both according to Oregon law. I certify that I have not been suspended, 
canceled or revoked in the last five years as a driver training school operator and/or instructor in Oregon or any 
other state. I promise to abide by the Code of Ethics and Rules of Conduct as stated in OAR 735-160-0130.

DMV will use the medical information in the following questions only for the purpose of determining your eligibility to drive.
THE ANSWERS TO THE QUESTIONS WILL BE KEPT CONFIDENTIAL.

*If "YES": a) What is the condition or impairment?
_______________________________________________________________________ 

b) Describe how this affects your ability to drive safely:
_______________________________________________________________________

(3) Do you use alcohol, cannabis, inhalants, psilocybin or controlled substances to a degree that affects your ability to drive safely?

Do you have any physical or mental conditions or impairments that affect your ability to drive safely?(2)

Do you have a vision condition or impairment that has not been corrected by glasses, contacts or surgery that affects 
your ability to drive safely?

(1)

MAILING ADDRESS (IF DIFFERENT) CITY STATE ZIP CODE

HOME TELEPHONE NUMBERDATE OF BIRTH DRIVER LICENSE NUMBER

List states in which you were licensed in the last three years:

SCHOOL  INFORMATION
NAME OF SCHOOL TELEPHONE NUMBER OF SCHOOL

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP CODE

I certify that the applicant is employed by
the above named school.

SIGNATURE OF EMPLOYER

MEDICAL  INFORMATION

DATE SIGNED

APPLICANT  INFORMATION

NAME (LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE)

STREET ADDRESS STATE ZIP CODE

� �

� �

� �

�

(          )

(          )

X

CITY

COMMERCIAL DRIVER TRAINING SCHOOL
INSTRUCTOR  APPLICATION

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT

X
DATE

735-6050B (2-24)

VALIDATION USE ONLY:OFFICIAL USE ONLY
INSTRUCTOR NUMBER

EFFECTIVE DATE

EXPIRATION DATE

*If "YES": a) Describe how your use affects your ability to drive safely:
_______________________________________________________________________

YES NO

YES* NO

YES* NO

List previous employers (five years):

(Continued on next page...)

E

 Will you provide ONLY classroom instruction? YES NO

Original Renewal Correction / Replacement $200.00 fee enclosed
Mail completed application and fee (payable to DMV) to: DMV Third Party Programs/CDTS, 1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314.



(Continued on next page...)

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING AN APPLICATION  FOR A 
COMMERCIAL DRIVER TRAINING SCHOOL INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATE

Completed Commercial Driver Training School Instructor application (DMV form 735-6050B). 

Provide an email address on the application form. The Commercial Driver Training School you 
are employed by will request a criminal background check. This must be submitted to DMV prior 
to Instructor certification approval.

Submit the $200 application fee. Third Party Programs can only accept checks or cash in 
the exact amount.

Who Must Be Certified  
Every person who teaches, conducts classes, gives demonstrations or supervises the practice of student 
drivers for compensation must be certified as a Commercial Driver Training School Instructor. There are 
a few, specialized exemptions which do not require certification. Please inquire with DMV.

Original / Renewal Certificate Application
You may obtain an original or renewal application for a Commercial Driver Training School Certificate by 
contacting ODOT/DMV, Third Party Programs/CDTS, 1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem, OR 97314.  Email 
ThirdPartyPrograms@odot.oregon.gov or download the forms at: www.oregon.gov/ODOT/Forms/
DMV/6050bfill.pdf

Submit the completed application to DMV Third Party Programs, 1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314: 

735-6050B packet (2-24)

Note: For both original and renewal applications, DMV will access your Oregon driving record. You must 
possess a valid Oregon driver license and a good driving record; or, if from out of state, you must 
provide a certified copy of your out-of-state driving record. DMV will review your driving record to verify 
that: 1) you meet the minimum age requirements, 2) you have valid Oregon driving privileges and have 
held driving privileges from Oregon or another state for at least three years, and 3) you have not been 
convicted of a traffic crime as defined by ORS 801.545 and OAR 735-160-0005(17) within the past five 
years.

If your application is approved, DMV will email your Commercial Driver Training School Instructor 
certificate to the Commercial Driver Training School that employs you.

www.oregon.gov/ODOT/Forms/DMV/6050bfill.pdf
mailto:ThirdPartyPrograms@odot.oregon.gov


Certificate Renewals 
Commercial Driver Training School Instructor certificates are good for up to two years, 
but will automatically expire with the School you are connected to. DMV Third Party 
Programs/CDTS will email a renewal notice to the school.

Grace Period: If the application is received (postmarked) the day BEFORE your certificate 
expiration date, there is a grace period in which you will remain valid, as long as the 
certificate of the school you are employed by is valid. 

Certificate Replacements/Corrections/Changes
Instructors can apply for a duplicate certificate per OAR 735-160-0110(4)(5)(a)(b). DMV will issue a 
duplicate instructor certificate and/or instructor’s card if the instructor certificate or instructor’s card 
has been lost, mutilated or destroyed. There is no special form for requesting a replacement 
certificate and/or card. The request must be in writing and submitted to DMV Third Party Programs/
CDTS by the operator (owner) or the instructor. The request must clearly explain the reason for the 
request.

Use of Certificate 
An instructor’s certificate is not transferable. If an instructor leaves employment with a school, 
the school must notify DMV about the change and surrender the instructor certificate. If a different 
school hires the instructor and the instructor still qualifies for a certificate, the instructor must submit 
a completed application and the required fee. A new background check must be requested by the 
school that hires you and submitted prior to certification approval.
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