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DMV  Title and Registration Instructions for 
Vehicles New to Oregon DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

DRIVER AND MOTOR VEHICLE SERVICES 
1905 LANA AVE NE, SALEM OREGON 97314 

735-6603 (1-24) STK# 300322  

TO APPLY FOR TITLE AND REGISTRATION: 
1. Complete and sign an Application for Title and Registration, form 735-226.

• Make sure you include the odometer reading and all security interest holders (any person or business you 
owe money to because of a loan on the vehicle).

2. Submit the out-of-state title, Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin  (MCO), or other original ownership 
document.

3. Get a vehicle identification number (VIN) inspection if you have an out-of-state or out-of-country title or 
ownership document.

• The inspection can be done at a DMV office. The fee is $9 when the inspection is done in Oregon.

• If the vehicle is out of state, the inspection can be done by the state's DMV or a law enforcement officer.

4. Provide proof of compliance with the Low Emissions Vehicle (LEV) requirement, if applicable.
• If you have a passenger vehicle that is a model year 2009 or newer and has 7,500 miles or less, you must 

prove compliance or exemption. Electric, hybrid, and government-owned vehicles are exempt.

• Proof can usually be found either:

• On an MCO, by a statement indicating it conforms to U.S. or California emission standards; or

• Under the hood, by a label  indicating it conforms  to U.S. or California emission standards. The label 
must be checked by DMV. This can be done at the same time  as a VIN inspection.

• Other exemptions are listed on the Declaration of Exemption from the Oregon Low-Emission Vehicle 
Requirement, form 735-7309. Complete and sign the form if the vehicle is exempt.

5. Submit a Certificate of Compliance for passing an emissions test at the Department of Environmental 
Quality  (DEQ) if you live in the Portland Metro Area or the Rogue Valley and are required to do so.

• You can get more information:

• On the DEQ website: www.oregon.gov/DEQ/Vehicle-Inspection

• By calling DEQ at: 877-476-0583 TDD (Deaf and Hard of Hearing): Statewide Relay 7-1-1

6. Pay all applicable title, registration and plate fees. See information on page 2 of these instructions.

If the vehicle has an out-of-country title or ownership document, DMV also needs: 
7. Proof that the vehicle meets U.S. Federal Vehicle Standards.

Proof can be:

• A U.S. Customs and Border Protection Form CF7501 or CBP7501;

• An Original letter from the manufacturer;

• For vehicles imported by the U.S. military or U.S. military personnel, a written notice or form issued by
the U.S. military; or

• The vehicle labels viewed by DMV. This can be done at the same time as a VIN inspection.

8. Complete and sign a Certification of Liens on an Imported Vehicle, form 735-6436.

Submit your application, supporting documents and fees to an Oregon DMV office or mail them to: 
Oregon DMV 
1905 Lana Ave NE 
Salem, OR 97314 

DO YOU HAVE A LOAN ON THE VEHICLE? 
If the security interest holder is holding the title, send them the completed documents, fees, and the 
Security Interest Holder letter, form 735-6603L. 

The letter asks the security interest holder to send the title, documents and fees to DMV. 

DO NOT mail your application to DMV without the title, or it will be returned to you unprocessed. 
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 • For Title, Registration and Plate Fees:
• Go to the DMV website: OregonDMV.com; or

• Call DMV at: 503-945-5000    TDD (Deaf and Hard of Hearing): Statewide Relay 7-1-1

• Special and custom plate options are available, for additional fees.
• You can transfer Oregon plates to your vehicle for $30. If you were not the owner listed on the

Oregon title for the vehicle the plates were removed from, you must also pay registration fees.

Calculate Your Fees: $9 VIN Inspection Fee - if done in Oregon

+ _____________ Title Fee

+ _____________ Registration and Plate Fee

= _____________ Total Fee 

This handout only has information for the most common vehicles. To get requirements and fees for other vehicles: 

• Go to the DMV website: OregonDMV.com; or

• Call DMV at: 503-945-5000 TDD (Deaf and Hard of Hearing): Statewide Relay 7-1-1

DAMAGED VEHICLES: If the documents show the vehicle was damaged, the Oregon title will carry a 
damage brand. DMV will not issue a title when a junk title, junk certificate or similar ownership document is 
provided. 

PURCHASED FROM OUT-OF-STATE DEALER: If you bought the vehicle from an out-of-state dealer and it 
is brand new or has 7,500 miles or less, you may need a Use Tax Certificate. 
Visit Oregon.gov/dor/programs/businesses/Pages/Vehicle-privilege-and-use-taxes.aspx for more information.

Fees 

https://Oregon.gov/dor/programs/businesses/Pages/Vehicle-privilege-and-use-taxes.aspx


Department of Transportation Oregon DMV Services 
1905 Lana Avenue NE Tina Kotek, Governor�

Salem, OR 97314 

To Security Interest Holder: 

The registered owner of the vehicle described on the enclosed documents has moved to Oregon and applied 
for registration. By law, DMV cannot title or register a vehicle unless we receive the current certificate of title. 
The owner cannot register the vehicle in Oregon until you send DMV the title. 

Please send DMV: 
1. The current original CERTIFICATE OF TITLE. Oregon DMV is not currently able to accept electronic 

titles or digital signatures. 
2. The Application for Title and Registration (Form 735-226), which has been completed and signed by 

the owner. See the Title and Registration application for instructions to complete the form  
3. Your name, DMV Customer number (if known) and address on the application form as a security 

interest holder, if you still hold interest in the vehicle. 
4. Any necessary supporting documents, such as a power of attorney or release of interest. 
5. A check or money order made payable to OREGON DMV for all title and registration fees. 

ALL DOCUMENTS AND FEES MUST BE SUBMITTED TOGETHER in the enclosed envelope to avoid 
delays in processing. Please make sure the Application for Title and Registration (Form 735-226) is 
completed with owners, lessee, lien holder, and/or lessor, so the Oregon title will be issued with the correct 
ownership information. 

The Oregon title will be mailed directly to the security interest holder shown on the application. 
The registered owner receives only the registration card. 

If you no longer hold interest in the vehicle, please submit to Oregon DMV either the signed-off title or 
the title along with a signed statement releasing your interest. This release must include the vehicle 
identification information. The signature for a business must show the name of the business and the 
signature of the authorized representative. 

The vehicle described is currently being operated in Oregon on a temporary basis. Oregon only allows the 
purchase of two (2) 21-day trip permits within a 12-month period. The registered owner is depending on 
your prompt reply. 

Oregon DMV 
1905 Lana Avenue NE 
Salem, OR 97314 
(503) 945-5000 
TTY Access only (503) 945-5001 
www.oregondmv.com (To download forms) 

735-6603L (2-24) 
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