What did the 2013 Legislature do about transportation?
The 2013 session of Oregon’s Seventy-Seventh Legislative Assembly finished up its work on July 8th, having passed a number of important pieces of legislation to improve Oregon’s transportation system.
ODOT has produced a summary of the transportation-related legislation that made it into law this year. Here are some of the highlights.
Safety: A number of safety-related bills became law, including SB 9, which will combat distracted driving by doubling the penalty for driving while texting or talking on a cell phone without a hands-free device to $500 and require ODOT to post signs. Two safety bills proposed by ODOT became law: one bill (HB 2264) will expand teen driver education, and another (HB2265) will expand work zone photo radar to reduce crashes in highway work zones.
Per mile road use charge: Oregon will become the first state in the nation to create a per mile road use charge under SB 810, which creates a mileage-based user fee for up to 5000 volunteers.
ConnectOregon: ConnectOregon will return for a fifth round of multimodal investments. The Legislature provided $42 million for ConnectOregon 5, and SB 260 modified the program to allow bicycle and pedestrian projects to compete for funding.