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Oregon’s 24 / 7 credentials
Service Center moves to Salem

Effective July 1, 2002, truckers who need basic Oregon credentials service
at night and on weekends will call 503-378-6699 for assistance from a new
Salem Service Center. The Motor Carrier Transportation Division (MCTD) is
moving its 24 / 7 operation from the Farewell Bend Port of Entry (POE) on the
Idaho border to Salem as part of a reorganization of service delivery. Since
1998, the Farewell Bend POE has provided truckers with at least basic
registration services by phone or over-the-counter 24 hours a day.

Now the Farewell Bend POE will start operating a Registration Desk open
Monday to Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., just like the Ports of Entry at
Ashland, Cascade Locks, Klamath Falls, Umatilla, and Woodburn. The MCTD
office at Jantzen Beach, Portland Interstate Bridge on I-5 also follows an 8 to 5
weekday schedule.

According to
Field Services
Manager Ed
Scrivner, an aver-
age of 250 truckers
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and during week-
end hours. Another
750 truckers a week
walk in for over-
the-counter service
after weekday
business hours or
on weekends. “The
move to Salem should pose no problem for those who’ve been calling for
service,” Scrivner said. “But truckers who’ve been arriving from Idaho and
expecting to walk in for service after hours and on weekends will have to
make some adjustments and start calling ahead before they head out for
Oregon.”

MCTD has been planning the Service Center move for several months. The
Farewell Bend staff affected were given the opportunity to relocate to Salem.
“It’s going to be better for us to have the after-hours operation in Salem than
at a far-away Port,” Scrivner said. “Our operators need to be separate from the
walk-in traffic at a Port of Entry. Also, Salem has more reliable phone lines,
it’s closer to computer support, and it will be easier to staff the Salem Cen-
ter.”

Truckers entering Oregon without credentials are subject to citation and a
$295 fine. If it’s a driver’s first time offense, a MCTD enforcement officer will
give the driver 24 hours to obtain credentials and fax back evidence of that
transaction in order to have the citation voided.
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503-378-6699

Effective July 1, 2002

Basic Oregon Services
Available Nights & Weekends at
Salem Service Center

Oregon Tax and Registration
Temporary Permits

Orders for
Oregon Weight Receipt and Tax
Identifier or Temporary Weight
Receipt and Tax Identifier
(available by phone
if pre-authorized by carrier)

Replacement Temporary
Vehicle Registration (TVR)

DMV Trailer Trip Permits
(available by phone if faxed
and paid with credit card
or pre-authorized draft)

Service 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday-Friday
at MCTD Salem Headquarters,
Oregon Ports of Entry, and
Portland Bridge Office

Basic services listed above, plus:

Reinstatement of Suspended
ODOT Tax Accounts

New Carrier Applications for
ODOT Authority

Prorate Registration Transactions
(requires appointment)

Commercial or Prorate Registration
Renewals
(requires appointment)

Single-Trip and Annual
Over-Dimension Variance Permits

Insurance Filings
(available by phone if faxed)

Weight-Mile Tax Mileage Reports
(available by phone if faxed)

Mobile Home Trip Permits

Miscellaneous Payments on Account




Oregontruck plates— Q& A

Did Oregon do away with one of its truck tax plates?
Yes. Beginning in 2002 Oregon stopped issuing a
license plate commonly known as a “tax” plate for
trucks operated by companies based in other states
and Canadian provinces. This red plate, which had
three letters followed by three numbers, can now be
removed and scrapped for recycling.

Did Oregon do away with any other plates? No.
Oregon still issues a Commercial and Apportioned
plate for trucks operated by companies based in
Oregon. Trucks that generally don’t operate outside the
state get the Commercial plate that begins with the
letters Y C. Trucks that operate in other states and
provinces under the International Registration Plan get
the Apportioned plate that begins with the letters Y A.

How is Oregon identifying out-of-state-based trucks?
Oregon has organized its computer records for each
truck around the license plate issued by a company’s
home state or province. Each truck’s plate numbers
are now the weight-mile tax identifier for the truck as
it operates in Oregon. Carriers are required to report
their base license plate numbers as part of the weight-
mile tax payment process.

Does Oregon need to know if a truck gets a new
license plate and different plate numbers? Yes. The
driver is subject to enforcement action, including
citation and a $295 fine, if the plate numbers don’t
match the Oregon paper credential in the cab. When
out-of-state-based trucks are registered in Oregon,
each truck gets a Weight Receipt and Tax Identifier
for in the cab. That paper credential will show the
truck’s plate numbers.

What can out-of-state truckers do if they want to
operate in Oregon but their state or province has not
issued a plate for a truck? They can get a Temporary
Weight Receipt and Tax Identifier that the driver will
show Oregon enforcement officers. That temporary
credential is valid as long as there is no plate on the
truck. When the state issues a plate for the truck, the
Temporary Weight Receipt needs to be replaced with
a Permanent Weight Receipt.

Will a trucker get in trouble if he continues to
display one of the old Oregon tax plates? No,
although it might confuse police officers if they see
an old plate with an expired sticker. Oregon will
not issue a citation for displaying the old plate, but
carriers should remove them anyway.

Where can truckers get registration forms? At the
Motor Carrier Transportation Division Web site:
www.odot.state.or.us/trucking
www.odot.state.or.us/trucking/regis/forms.htm

I-5 repaving will require
freeway and lane closures

The repaving of Interstate 5 in the Portland area will
completely close part of the freeway for six weekends
and require lane and ramp closures through September.

Less than six months remain on a two-year,
$29 million Preservation Project to build soundwalls,
raise overcrossings, and repair and repave roadway
that is cracked and badly rutted from 30 years of use
by heavy traffic. The work zone stretches from the
Rose Quarter, near downtown Portland, north to
Hayden Island
on the Columbia
River at the
Washington
border. Through
September 2002,
traffic on I-5 will
| be affected by the
; following con-

- struction plans:

From the Rose Quarter near Downtown
Portland north to the Fremont Bridge

On six weekends beginning after July 7, the two mile
narrow stretch of Interstate 5 between the Rose Quarter
and the Fremont Bridge over the Willamette River will
be completely closed for repaving and bridge joint
replacement. Closures will begin at 10 p.m. each
Friday night and end by 5 a.m. Monday. Traffic will be
detoured to 1-405.

From the Fremont Bridge north to the
Hayden Island area on the Columbia River
Repaving work on this longer stretch of I-5 will take

place at night and usually require closing two lanes,
leaving one lane open for traffic. Double-lane closures
will begin as early as 9 p.m. southbound and 10:30
p.m. northbound. Single-lane closures will begin as
early as 7 p.m. southbound and 8 p.m. northbound.
Ramps can close as early as 7 p.m. Lanes and ramps
will be reopened no later than 6 a.m the next day.

At the Hayden Island area on the Columbia
Double-lane closures begin as early as 9 p.m., both
north and southbound. Single-lane closures begin as
early as 7 p.m. southbound and 8 p.m. northbound.
Ramps can close at 10 p.m.

Construction schedules can change, so the Oregon
Department of Transportation is asking motorists to
call 503-223-0066 for daily updates to a recorded
construction information line.
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RESTRICTED

Divisible Loads:
Single axle - 20,000 Ibs.
Tandem axle - 34,000 Ibs.
Maximum gross weight -
105,500 Ibs.

Non-Divisible Loads:
Single axle - 21,500 Ibs.
Tandem axle - 43,000 Ibs.
Maximum gross weight -
98,000 Ibs.

Grande Ronde River Bridges
1-84 EB - MP256.17
[-84 WB - MP259.13
west of La Grande

Coast Fork Willamette River Bridge
I-5 SB - MP179.99
north of Cottage Grove

Row River Bridge
I-5 SB - MP175.40
north of Cottage Grove

© 0 ©0

Umatilla River Bridge
1-84 EB - MP188.43, near Umatilla

o
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7]

Umpqua River Bridge
I-5 NB - MP128.92, Roseburg

Spencer Creek Bridge
US101 - MP133.86
10 miles south of Depoe Bay

Fords Bridge, I-5 SB - MP101.54
two miles north of Canyonville

ooth Ranch Bridge, NB I-5 - MP112.57
Shady Bridge, NB I-5 - MP120.57
over the South Umpqua River between
Myrtle Creek and Roseburg

Willamette River Bridge
OR219 - MP23.46, south of Newberg

Yambhill River Bridge
OR18 - MP51.57, near Dayton

®
®

OR22 Bridges, East of Salem
eer Park Road Overcrossing, MP4.03,
Joseph St. Overcrossing, MP5.44
Eastbound Beaver Creek, MP8.88
Whitewater Creek, MP60.80
Pamelia Creek, MP62.78
Marion Creek, MP66.42
North Santiam River, MP75.65

000606

Weight-Restricted Bridges on Major Routes

As of June 1, 2002, Oregon Department of Transportation bridge inspectors
have identified a total of 31 bridges on major routes that must be weight
restricted until repairs can be made or the structures replaced. In addition,
there are 43 other bridges on lesser routes that are also weight-restricted.
Carriers with questions about restrictions should contact the Motor Carrier
Transportation Division, Over-Dimension Permit Unit at 503-373-0000. More
information is available on the Web: www.TripCheck.com or at
www.odot.state.or.us/comm/newscenter/bridges.htm
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Solo vehicles - 44,000 Ibs.

Tandem axle - 27,000 Ibs.

Maximum gross weight -
64,000 Ibs.

Cook’s Chasm Bridge
US101 - MP167.51
2 miles south of Yachats

Single axle - 20,000 Ibs.
Tandem axle - 34,000 Ibs.
Maximum gross weight -

80,000 Ibs.

D

Applegate River Bridge, US199,
MP7, southwest of Grants Pass

Maximum gross weight -
50,000 Ibs.
No truck combinations

@ Martin Luther King Jr. Viaduct,
SB OR99E, Portland
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Weight restrictions shown here do not
supersede restrictions posted on signs
at each bridge location. All bridges
listed here are being closely watched
by bridge inspectors. Restrictions may

change on a daily basis, and other
bridges may become similarly
restricted, as conditions warrant.

Single axle - 20,000 lbs.

Tandem axle - 34,000 Ibs.

Maximum gross weight -
105,500 Ibs.

Tualatin River Bridge
OR99W - MP12.18, Tualatin

23)
D

Hood River Bridge
WB I-84 - MP63.41, crossing over
the railroad in Hood River

Sandy River Bridge
WB I-84 - MP17.68

25)
D

@ OR/WA Biggs Junction Bridge
US97, over the Columbia River

Deschutes River Bridge
OR206 - MP 2.92

Klamath Falls, US97, MP275.74,
bridge over Green Springs Drive

@ US20 Bridges, Eastern Oregon
North Fork Malheur River, MP190.84
Gwynn Crossing Bridge, MP195.13
Sperry Bridge, MP205.58
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Court declines to rule in transponder interoperability case

A U.S. Magistrate Judge has
declined to issue a judgment regard-
ing whether or not it’s lawful for
Oregon to enroll HELP, Inc.’s
PrePass transponders in the Oregon
Green Light weigh station
preclearance system. A Summary
Judgment hearing was held April 15,
2002, and on April 19 the judge
dismissed the case of Oregon v.
Heavy Vehicle Electronic License
Plate (HELP).

Gregg Dal Ponte, Deputy Director
for the Oregon Department of
Transportation’s Motor Carrier
Division.

Thousands of trucks have PrePass
transponders that they use to iden-
tify themselves when they preclear
weigh stations in California and
many other states that have the
PrePass system. Although the
transponders are the same model

of those trucks qualified for
preclearance, the fact that their
PrePass transponders are not
interoperable is estimated to have
cost them $158,000 and 2,125 hours
of travel time in just that one month
alone,” Dal Ponte said. “Moreover,
that’s an additional 25,503 trucks
that lined up in the queue at Oregon
weigh stations to undergo a manual
check of size, weight, and creden-
tials. They joined

Oregon filed a
Complaint for
Declaratory
Judgment and
Injunctive Relief
in February 2001,
hoping for a
ruling that would
allow it to use
PrePass transpon-
ders in its Green

In March 2002, transponder readers at Green Light weigh
stations identified PrePass transponders a total of 25,503
times and sent a red light, pull-in signal every time.

“If all of those trucks qualified for preclearance, the fact
that their PrePass transponders are not interoperable is
estimated to have cost them $158,000 and 2,125 hours
of travel time in just that one month alone.”

the millions of
other trucks in a
growing stream of
traffic straining
our weigh sta-
tions.”

Oregon’s
problem with
HELP’s transpon-
der usage policy
dates back to 1998

Light system, but
only at the
request of a motor carrier with those
transponders. HELP then filed a
counterclaim, seeking a declaration
that Oregon could not lawfully
enroll PrePass transponders.

In dismissing the case, the judge
declined to grant any declaratory
relief. “It’s a non-decision that
advances no one’s position — we
didn’t get our requested declaration;
they didn’t get theirs,” explained

and type used in Oregon’s Green
Light system, HELP maintains that
they cannot be used to preclear
trucks in Oregon. HELP has a
restrictive agreement that purports
to prohibit anyone from using a
PrePass transponder without its
permission.

Dal Ponte calls the current im-
passe to interoperability “an unnec-
essary waste of state and industry

resources.”

He notes that
in March
2002, for
example,

stop at the weigh station.

Transponder readers mounted on a mast arm extending over the roadway look for
signals from transponders on truck windshields. Since transponders can’t be turned
on or off, the readers will recognize every transponder’s unique identifying signal.

If a particular transponder is not enrolled in the system and linked to any company’s
records, the driver will see a red light on the transponder indicating he or she must

transponder
readers at
Green Light
weigh
stations
identified
PrePass
transponders
a total of
25,503 times
and sent a
red light,
pull-in
signal every
time. “If all

[ RECLEARANCE
SITE

when the state, at
the request of
truckers, enrolled about 100 PrePass
transponders in the Green Light
system. In December 1998, HELP
sent then-Oregon DOT Director
Grace Crunican a litigation warning
letter alleging misappropriation of
property and violation of telecom-
munications law. Oregon then
suspended enrollment of PrePass
transponders and has since unsuc-
cessfully tried to negotiate a usage
agreement with HELP.

A transponder is a palm-size
Dedicated Short Range Communica-
tion device that is attached to the
truck windshield. It works like a
metal license plate. Transponders
cannot be turned on and off. Their
identification number is stamped on
the back and each device broadcasts
its unique number whenever it passes
a transponder reader. A truck may be
cleared to pass a weigh station if its
transponder number has been en-
tered in the station’s computer
system and linked to a motor carrier’s
records, with the permission of the
carrier. If the number has not been
entered in that system, the transpon-
der simply gets a red light telling the
driver to pull in to the weigh station.
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MCTD plans to automatically review all carrier accounts

Rulemaking sets bond and cash deposit requirements

The Motor Carrier Transportation
Division (MCTD) has initiated a
rulemaking to revise Oregon require-
ments for cash deposits and surety
bonds. The rulemaking affects thou-
sands of carriers because today most
are required to file a deposit or bond
to insure they will pay Oregon taxes
and fees.

accounts, Listella requested that they
send a letter to the MCTD Bond Unit,
550 Capitol Street NE, Salem OR
97301-2530.

MCTD currently holds about
$10 million in interest-earning cash
deposits, and surety bond filings
worth $64 million. Oregon’s weight-
mile tax provides the chief reason for

taxes and fees the carrier reported and
paid during the audit period.

Under new rules, most carriers
who don’t qualify for waiver would
continue to file a $2,000 cash deposit
or bond for the first truck registered in
Oregon. Amounts covering additional
trucks would then vary depending on
whether the carrier is new or estab-

Proposed Cash Deposit or Surety Bond
Requirements, OAR 740-040-0070

New Carriers Established Carriers
(new to Oregon) | (ineligible for waiver)

1 truck $ 2,000 $ 2,000

Each additional:

2-5 trucks $ 375 $ 750

6-10 trucks 250 500

11 or more 125 250
Maximum $10,000 $20,000 *

* Maximum deposit may exceed $20,000 if records
indicate a greater deposit or bond is necessary.

Requirements for Private Carriers and
Farmers Operating Under For-Hire Permit

Non-Gas-Tax-
Paying Trucks
Under 55,000 lbs.

Gas-Tax-Paying
Trucks Under
55,000 lbs.

1 truck $ 500 $ 750

Each additional
truck $ 150 $ 500

Maximum $10,000 $15,000

Under proposed changes, some
carriers will qualify for a waiver of
requirements and some will be
adversely affected. If a carrier has been
late filing weight-mile tax reports, for
example, MCTD could impose
requirements or increase deposit
amounts. The agency would also
generally have the right to modify or
waive requirements whenever it’s in
the public interest.

“We will automatically review all
accounts to see how each carrier is
affected by changes in requirements,”
Ric Listella, Salem Motor Carrier
Services Manager, said. If carriers
have specific questions about their

bond requirements. Unlike
fuel taxes where carriers pay
as they go, in Oregon carriers
can travel thousands of
miles and accrue hundreds
of dollars in weight-mile
taxes before they file a road-

use tax report.

Carriers new to Oregon
would qualify for waiver of
the requirements if they have

a Dun & Bradstreet
rating of 3A2 or
higher, and
established carriers
qualify if they have
a “clean” record in
the previous year.
A clean record
would be one with
no suspensions
and no revocation
of an IFTA tax
license, no out-
standing billings
for over-dimen-
sional variance
permits and no
other fees not

timely paid, and no inci-
dence of insufficient fund
checks. There would be no
record of a weight-mile tax
report filed late, or if filing
estimated tax reports no
more than two estimated
reports filed and no more
than one estimated report
filed without an actual
report filed within 30 days.
Also, an established
carrier would not qualify
for waiver if in the past
36 months a weight-mile tax
audit led to an assessment
more than 15% of the total

lished. Private carriers and for-hire
farmers operating trucks under 55,000
pounds would be subject to the lower
dollar requirements that exist today.

A public comment period in this
rulemaking opened June 1 and ends
July 10, 2002. Comments can be faxed
to 503-945-5254, mailed to the ODOT
Rules Coordinator, 1905 Lana Avenue
NE, Salem OR 97314, or submitted
online at the ODOT Rulemaking Web
site: www.odot.state.or.us/rules

Proposed Criteria for Waiver of Oregon
Deposit or Surety Bond Requirements

Under a proposed rule, new carriers could
qualify for waiver of deposit or bond require-
ments if they have a Dun & Bradstreet rating
of 3A2 or higher.

Established carriers could qualify for waiver

if in the previous 12 months they had:

« No suspensions with Oregon DOT.

o No revocation of IFTA tax license.

« No outstanding billings for over-
dimensional variance permits.

o No other fees not timely paid.

o No non-sufficient fund checks.

o No weight-mile tax report filed late.

o If filing estimated weight-mile tax reports,
no more than two estimated reports filed
in the previous year, and no more than
one estimated report filed without an
actual report filed within 30 days.

An established carrier could not qualify for
waiver if in the past 36 months the carrier
had a weight-mile tax audit result in an
assessment exceeding by more than 15%
the amount of weight-mile taxes and fees
reported and paid during the audit period.

Under the proposed rule, established
carriers may have the required deposit or
bond amount increased if their record is
blemished by any of the above criteria.
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Truck Crash
Statistics for
2001

Total truck crashes in
Oregon in 2001 .......ccceeennnee. 1,825

Of the total crashes, number
considered truck-at-fault ...... 1,087

Most truck crashes in one day ... 19

Most crashes by one
CEENDEINT coocoo0000000000000000000006006000000 31

Percent of truck-at-fault crashes
caused by speed ..........cccueene. 22.2

Median age of truck drivers
involved in crashes .......c....c....... 45

Age of the oldest driver
involved in a crash..................... 96

Number of truck drivers
killed in crashes ......ccccoeevevvvvvnnnnn.. 6

Number of people injured
in truck crashes .........cccceeueenen. 494

County with the most truck
crashes ................ Multnomah (466)

County with the most truck
fatalities .................. Multnomah (9)

Percent of crashes that involved
Oregon-based carriers ........... 55.59

Average length of time, in hours,
between truck crashes............... 4.8

Percent of crashes that involved
trucks carrying hazardous
materialS ......ccooeevviiiiiiiiineieeiinn, 2.08

Total property damage
resulting from truck
crashes in 2001......... $139,421,515

Ratio of fatal crashes caused by
car drivers to those caused by
truck drivers .......c.cccoceveenne. 2.38:1

Number of truckers driving off the
road grabbing a cup of coffee or
adjusting the radio ........c...cc....... 28

Numbers are based on Oregon-reportable
accidents. Under Oregon law, ORS 811.720,
an accident is reportable if it involves a

fatality, injury, or damage exceeding $1,000.

News In Brief

Insurance forms can be filed electronically

Oregon is one of 19 states now taking electronic filings of insurance forms
through a business-to-government agreement with National Online Registries, a
subsidiary of the National Information Consortium (NIC). Under NIC’s Insurance
Exchange system, participating insurers and filing agents can electronically file
one certificate for a carrier and have it distributed to all states in which the
carrier wants to operate. For Oregon, this includes insurance Form E (liability),
Form H (cargo), and Form K (cancellation). Carriers should ask their insurer
about the service, and refer agents to the Motor Carrier Information Exchange
Web site — www.mcinfo.org — for more details.

Whistle blower law protects truck drivers

The U.S. Department of Labor is reminding truck drivers that they have safety
and health rights, and protection under law when they report safety violations
and unsafe working conditions. Under federal law (49 U.S.C. 31105 and 29 CFR
1978), a company can't fire, demote, blacklist, or threaten drivers, write them up,
or treat them differently if they report violations of federal safety and health
regulations related to commercial motor vehicle safety.

Oregon drivers should report problems, no later than 180 days after the
alleged discrimination occurs, to the Seattle office of the Occupational Safety
and Health Administration — 206-553-5930. An investigator will contact the
employer and possibly start administrative proceedings to resolve the complaint.
Truck and bus drivers who just want to report violations of safety regulations
can call a U.S. Department of Transportation hotline — 1-888-DOT-SAFT.

Oregon names its 2002 Safety Champion

Angela Rose-Lane, a Motor Carrier Specialist based in Medford, has been
selected as Oregon’s 2002 Safety Champion. Every year, the Oregon Department
of Transportation invites the more than 600 trained and certified truck inspec-
tors in the state to compete for the right to represent Oregon in an international
competition. The competition involves challenging written exams on hazardous
materials, driver and vehicle rules, and out-of-service criteria.This year, Rose-
Lane was selected to represent Oregon. Jerry Prine, a Motor Carrier Enforcement
Officer from Cascade Locks, was first runner-up. Angela now goes on to compete
against inspectors from every state, Canada, and Mexico at the North American
Inspectors’ Championship in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, in August.

MCTD plans to survey customers

Motor carriers should watch their mail this summer for customer survey
forms as the Motor Carrier Transportation Division (MCTD) will be reaching out
to select carriers to ask, “How are we doing?” In a 1998 survey, MCTD contacted
15 customer groups and received generally favorable responses from the 34%
who returned forms. This time MCTD hopes for that same bottom line result,
along with a greater response rate.

Get the Motor Carrier News by e-mail

All trucking companies registered to operate in Oregon automatically get a
paper copy of the quarterly Oregon Motor Carrier News by “snail mail.” But
other persons who currently get a paper copy can request to have it sent to them
by e-mail instead. To make the switch, e-mail a request to the MC News Editor
— James.H.Brock@odot.state.or.us
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__ Enforcement

1st Quarter 2002

During the first quarter, January
through March 2002, the Motor
Carrier Transportation Division
finalized 142 civil enforcement
actions. The number following
each name indicates violations
confirmed in the process.
**  Denotes second complaint
within five years.
Denotes third complaint
within one year of second.
®  Denotes failure to comply
with a driver out-of-service
notice.

Safety Violations

A total of 86 enforcement actions
involved violations related to
failure to return a Driver or
Equipment Compliance Check
Form after an inspection, failure
to comply with a driver out-of-
service order, violations discov-
ered during safety compliance
reviews at carriers’ terminals, or
violations related to drivers with
a waiver of physical disqualifica-
tion failing to notify MCTD of a
citation, crash, or suspension.

A R F Trucking, Inc. 18
Action Asphalt, Inc. 10
Action Wood Products, Inc. 3
Leslie L Allen 1

RA Arana Excavation 7
Bennett Equipment Co. 16
Samuel R Bodine 2
Brundidge Construction, Inc. 77
Ronald S Burshem 1

Canby Excavating, Inc. 12
Cantwell Trucking, Inc. 78
Dwayne Carroll Trucking 16

The Motor Carrier News
is a quarterly publication
of the Oregon Depariment
of Transportation
Motor Carrier
Transportation Division
550 Capitol Street NE
Salem OR 97301-2530

Gregg Dal Ponte, Deputy Director
Gregg.L.DalPonte @ odot.state.or.us

Jim Brock,
Motor Carrier News Editor
James.H.Brock@odot.state.or.us
(503) 373-1578

Central Electric
Cooperative, Inc. 2
J Choat Trucking, Inc. 9
CLA Enterprises, Inc. 27**
Clover Wholesale, Inc. 30
Colvin Oil Co. 13
Connie’s, Inc. 5
Covered Bridge
Construction, Inc. 1
CTGR Trucking LLC 15
Douglas Davenport 7
George Joseph Davenport 1@
Davis Shows N.W., Inc. 11
Mike Dean Trucking, Inc. 14
Desert Rose
Charter Bus Co., Inc. 44**
The Draggin’ Wagons 20
Eastern Oregon Rental & Sales 4
Gary R Engelson 1
Earl F &
Carolyn L Fernlund 15***
Freeman Rock
Enterprises, Inc. 38
G T S of Ore LLC 42
Gesik Excavating 22
Rinehart Gesik 1®
H & S Trucking, Inc. 12
H&S Package Delivery, Inc. 22**
Hayworth Trucking LLC 10
Eric Hepler, Inc. 5
Herbert Jackson 20
Hinzman & Sons LLC 19
Hockema Coast Oil Co. 17
Honey Bucket 22
Humbert Construction 5**
Humbert Refuse &
Recycling, Inc. 8**
Industrial Aviation
Services, Inc. 1
Thomas H Ireland III 7**
Jackson & Son
Distributors, Inc. 13
K F Jacobsen & Co., Inc. 8
Melvin P James 1
Jireh Construction, Inc. 5
Michael E Johnson 1
Juanita’s Fine Foods 29
Richard Kinney 2
Kuenzi Excavating, Inc. 5
Lucas Trucking, Inc. 14**
M G Land Improvement Co. 2
R D Mac, Inc. 18
Robert S Masters 2
Christopher ] Meerten 2
Molalla Discount Tire 4**
Jorge Navarro 14
New Line Construction, Inc. 26
Joe Nickols 8
Nick’s Crane Service 7
Pacific Recycling, Inc. 5**
PJ’s Trucking LLC 8
R & B & Sons Trucking 12
R B Rubber Products 11
R Express LLP 39
Rainsweet, Inc. 5
Rebel Transport LLC 5
Saenz Trucking 6**
The Shuttle 25
A E Staley Manufacturing Co. 2
Strebin Transportation
Services 19

Sullivan Trucking 8
T & M Auto Wholesale, Inc. 34
Jim Thorp
Lumber Products, Inc. 10
TMC of Lakeview 7**
Tony Express, Inc. 10
USA Concrete LLC 20
Valley Equipment Rental 22
S Wagener, Inc. 18
Robert L Waller 1
Tony L Whitcomb 1
Wurdinger Recycling, Inc. 31**

Other Violations

A total of 56 enforcement actions
involved violations related to
operating without valid registra-
tion credentials, operating
without a required size or weight
variance permit, operating over
size and/or weight limits, hauling
household goods intrastate
without authority, failing to file
an annual financial report, as
required of authorized intrastate
household goods carriers, and
underestimating intrastate
moving charges.

2 B Truckin 2
Advantage Truck Lines, Inc. 3
Al’s Garden Art, Inc. 1
All Freight Transport LLP 7**
Doug Andrus Distributing, Inc. 2
B T S Container Service, Inc. 2
Central Oregon Truck Co. 1
James H Clark & Son, Inc. 1
Larry O Collins, Inc. 2
Construction Equipment Co. 10
Contract Freighters, Inc. 1
John Cook (Roy WA) 4**
K S Coombs 2
Cowlitz Clean Sweep, Inc. 4
Delta N Nile Construction Co. 1
D & R Dietrich Sons, Inc. 2
Digby Ringsby Trucklines 50
Jimmie R Dixon 2**
Emerald City

Frozen Express 6**
F F E Transportation

Services 1**
Ferguson Transfer Co. 1
Steve Forler Trucking, Inc. 4
Graebel Van Lines, Inc. 1
Hawkeye Construction, Inc. 10
Hopkins Trucking, Inc. 8
] B Hunt Transport, Inc. 1
J C Trucking (Hermiston OR) 11
J-Mar 3
J W Underground, Inc. 2
Mayflower Transit LLC 3
Metro Moving 1**
Mid-Valley Delivery

Service, Inc. 1
Mitchell Bros. Truck Line, Inc. 1
Kelly Moore Enterprises 1
Moore Rail Corp. 2
Morales Trucking

(Kennewick WA) 2**

Fred Moss Structures, Inc. 2
North American

Van Lines, Inc. 1**
North State Rendering Co., Inc. 5
Parent Bark Blowers 4
Potelco, Inc. 10**
Prime, Inc. 1
Roadway Express, Inc. 3
Rocor Transportation

Companies 3**
Roxy Ann Rock 2
S & N Excavation

(Gresham OR) 3
Schneider National

Carriers, Inc. 1**
Sherman Bros. Heavy Trucking 1
Dick Simon Trucking, Inc. 5
Sitton Motor Lines, Inc. 2
Stevens Transport, Inc. 1
Swift Transportation

Co., Inc. 9***
United Rentals Northwest, Inc. 3
Water Truck Service, Inc. 2
Werner Enterprises, Inc. 6
E W Wylie Corp. 1

Other Enforcement

Following is a summary
of enforcement by Motor
Carrier Enforcement
Officers at weigh stations
in the 1st Quarter 2002:

Warnings Issued
4,844

Weight-Related Citations
3,942

Size-Related Citations
353

Trucks Required to

“Legalize” (Correct)

Size and/or Weight
1,584

Other Citations Issued
1,138

Citations for Operating
Without OR Weight
Receipt and Tax Identifier
926

The numbers shown here
do not include enforce-
ment actions by Oregon
State Police or city and
county enforcement
officers.

Oregon Motor Carrier News ¢ June 2002




OREGON DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION PRSRT STD

MOTOR CARRIER TRANSPORTATION DIVISION US POSTAGE

550 CAPITOL ST NE PAID

SALEM OR 97301-2530 SALEM, OR
PERMIT No. 81

MOTOR CARRIER

RIETATC

Quarterly Newsletter of the
Oregon Department of Transportation
Motor Carrier Transportation Division

In this June 2002 issue:

24 / 7 credentials Service Center moves to Salem ...... 1
Effective July 1, 2002, motor carriers who need after-hour credentials
service will be calling 503-378-6699 and reaching a person at the Motor
Carrier Transportation Division in Salem. Since 1998, the 24/7 Service
Center had been operated by staff at the Farewell Bend Port of Entry.

I-5 repaving will require freeway and lane closures ......... 2
The repaving of I-5 in the Portland area will completely close part of the
freeway for six weekends and require lane and ramp closures through
September.

Oregon Bridge Restrictions .............................ccoee 3
The list of weight-restricted bridges on major routes in Oregon has grown
as bridge inspectors continue to find weaknesses in spans located on major
routes.

Court declines to rule in transponder case .................. 4
A judge has declined to rule whether or not it’s lawful for Oregon to enroll
PrePass transponders in the Green Light weigh station preclearance system.

Rulemaking sets cash deposit / bond requirements .......... S
A current rulemaking to revise Oregon requirements for cash deposits and
surety bonds affects thousands of carriers who are currently required to file
a deposit or bond to insure they will pay Oregon taxes and fees.




