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Weigh  
station  
cameras  
catch  
bypassers  
in the act

The Motor Carrier Transportation Division is continuing with its plans to install cameras at major 
Oregon weigh stations to take pictures of trucks that illegally bypass when they’re open. The first 
camera system was installed at the northbound I-5 Ashland Port of Entry near the California border. 
It’s already proven much more efficient than the past practice of calling police for assistance or chasing 
a truck in order to identify it. Police are not always available and Oregon motor carrier enforcement 
officers, who are not trained and equipped like police, work under a policy that requires them to stop 
following a truck if safety or other conditions warrant. In the 
12 months before cameras were installed, Ashland initiated 
enforcement actions against 101 drivers for not stopping at 
the station. In the first month after cameras were installed, it 
initiated 56 actions.

The camera systems include one high-speed video camera 
that captures images of license plates under any lighting 
conditions and a second camera that captures an image of 
each vehicle. The entire stream of traffic is recorded on a 
DVR for playback at any time. This is not like the camera 
systems many cities have installed at intersections to catch vehicles running red lights. Those systems 
have a dual purpose of enforcing the law and raising revenue. Oregon’s weigh station bypass cameras 
are only there to enforce the law. The Oregon Department of Transportation receives no part of the fines 
collected through the citations issued by its motor carrier enforcement officers. Fines paid by motor 
carriers and truck drivers are split between circuit courts, justice courts, or municipal courts and various 
law enforcement agencies, along with a unitary assessment that goes to the Oregon Department of 
Revenue and a county assessment that goes to county treasuries.

More drivers fail to safely pass emergency vehicles
Traffic enforcement records for 2007 suggest that many 

car and truck drivers still need a lesson or two about Oregon’s 
safe-distance law. Oregon State Police (OSP) issued citations 
to 309 drivers for violation of ORS 811.147 — failure to 
move over into another lane, or slow down if on a road with 
only one lane in each direction, when passing a police car, 
ambulance, or other emergency vehicle parked on the side of 
the road with flashing warning lights.

This represents a 24% increase over the 250 citations 
issued in 2006. The citations in 2007 included 22 issued to 
truck drivers. The Class B traffic violation carries a $242 fine, 
but it increases to $355 if it occurs within a safety corridor, 
school zone, or work zone.

In Oregon the safe distance law is commonly called 
“Maria’s Law” in honor of Maria Mignano, a Senior Trooper 
who died in September 2001, along with Albany Police Officer 
Jason Hoerauf, when a car driver fell asleep and struck them 
on the roadside of I-5 north of Albany. Another State Police 
Officer, Sgt. John Burright, was forced to retire because of 
injuries he sustained in the accident. As a result of that incident 
and others where officers were injured or killed during roadside 
stops or assists, Oregon legislators established the violation for 
failure to maintain a safe distance from emergency vehicles. 
Similar laws have since been enacted in at least 30 other states.

Nationwide in the last ten years more than 700 officers 
have been killed in traffic incidents. Years ago it was noted 
that highway-related deaths surpassed felonious attacks as the 
leading cause of police officer fatalities.
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Work zones spread 
throughout Oregon 
this Summer

There may be an economic 
downturn in parts of the country, but 
it’s having no effect on road and bridge 
construction in Oregon this year. In fact, 
motorists traveling the state will see 
gangbuster-level activity. 

This year is the busiest to date for 
the State Bridge Delivery Program in 
charge of work funded by the Oregon 
Transportation Investment Act. That 
program alone will have 83 
bridges with active work 
zones between Washington 
and California on I-5 and 
more than 40 work zones 
on I-84.

In an April 
message to all staff, 
Oregon Department of 
Transportation Director 
Matt Garrett urged 

everyone to help prepare the traveling 
public. “Talk to your neighbors and 
friends; remind them that there will be 
many active construction zones this 
year — especially on the interstates,” 
Garrett said. “Remind them that while 
they’re being careful and slowing down 
for work zones, ODOT and many fine 
Oregon private construction firms are 
making our roads safer, smoother and 
a bit less congested for many years to 
come. Traveling through work zones 
may be frustrating now, but the benefits 
soon-to-come far outweigh today’s 
inconveniences.”

Work Zone Facts

Most work zone crashes are caused •	
by drivers not paying attention.
Speeding is the next biggest problem. •	
Over 40% of work zone crashes •	
happen in the transition zone before 
the work area.
Work zone crashes tend to be more •	
severe than other types of crashes.
Road construction is the most •	
dangerous occupation in the U.S.
More drivers and their passengers die •	
each year in Oregon work zones than 
construction workers.

Green Light sends its 10-millionth good-to-go signal
The Green Light weigh station 

preclearance system is racing past 
another milestone in May as it preclears 
the 10-millionth truck in its 11-year 
history. The system is having a breakout 
year so far in 2008, already setting a 
series of records for trucks weighed 
in-motion and signaled to keep going 
without making a wasteful stop. 
Preclearance events in the 1st quarter 
totaled 595,480, up 65% over 1st 
quarter 2007. At that pace, the program 
will preclear trucks 2.4 million times 
this year.

A total of 21 Green Light systems 
are currently operational. A 22nd site 
at the Wilbur weigh station on I-5 
in Southern Oregon was closed by 
construction activity two years ago. 
ODOT plans to relocate that station 
and its preclearance system to a site 
three miles north of Myrtle Creek 
on southbound I-5. The new station, 
which should be open in 2009, will be 

across the highway from the existing 
northbound Booth Ranch scale.

Green Light’s weigh-in-motion 
scales and transponder readers screen 
trucks as they approach a station, 
providing efficiencies for both state 
regulators and the trucking industry.  
It’s been estimated that for every 

million trucks precleared by Green 
Light the trucking industry saves  
$9.8 million in operating costs and 
83,000 hours of travel time.

More than 4,200 trucking 
companies now participate in Green 
Light and they’ve put transponders in 
over 41,000 of their trucks.

GatePass = added benefit for Green Light users
Trucking companies can now use their Green 

Light transponders for more than just preclearing 
weigh stations. With a system called GatePass, 
a company’s drivers can use their Green Light 
transponders to enter and exit a controlled access 
terminal yard or parking area. The system works 
with any windshield-mounted CVO tag, including 
the three brands that Oregon has distributed — Delco, Mark IV, and Telematics.  
A GatePass transponder reader can be linked with a Remote Data Collection System 
to provide a fleet manager with real-time and daily reports of all entrances and exits 
by each vehicle. GatePass is marketed by Telematics-Wireless USA Corp.  
(Fort Lauderdale FL). For more information, contact Telematics at 954-446-2333,  
or e-mail: sales.rfid@telematics-wireless.com. 
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Oregon has a new safety campaign 
aimed at getting the attention of 
aggressive car and truck drivers. 
The TACT campaign — Ticketing 
Aggressive Cars & Trucks — involves 
catching persons in the act of driving 
unsafely around trucks. But more than 
just an enforcement effort, TACT also 
involves educating drivers about how to 
stay out of trouble. Of course the bottom 
line objective is to 
reduce truck crashes, 
particularly those in 
which the car driver 
is at-fault, and reduce 
the number of people 
injured or killed on 
Oregon highways.

In coming 
months, the Oregon 
Department of 
Transportation’s 
Motor Carrier 
Division plans to 
introduce TACT to 
Oregon motorists. 
Initially working in 
partnership with the 
Oregon State Police, 
Clackamas County 
Sheriff’s Office, and 
the Oregon Trucking 
Associations, it will 
engage police in 
enforcement exercises in the Portland 
area to look for car and truck drivers 
doing dangerous things like speeding, 
tailgating, and changing lanes unsafely. 
It will engage radio, tv, and print media 
throughout the state in education efforts 
emphasizing that trucks need at least 
twice as much time and room to stop as 
cars need.

“This initiative is part of our safety 
action plan to reduce truck-at-fault 
crashes,” said Safety Program Manager 
David McKane. “We’re on a fast track to 
launch the campaign and see if it helps 
to prevent crashes.”

One TACT campaign message 
motorists will see over and over again 

is, LEAVE MORE SPACE. Bad things 
happen when vehicles get too close to 
each other. When cars and trucks collide, 
cars get the brunt of it no matter which 
vehicle is at-fault. In the last 10 years, 
3 out of 4 people who died in these 
collisions were riding in the cars. In fact, 
in crashes involving a car and truck, the 
car occupants are 15 times more likely to 
be killed than truck occupants.

Here are other key messages that the 
TACT campaign will emphasize:

Don’t cut off trucks.•	  For safety sake, 
it’s recommended that car drivers 
maintain one car length for every 10 
miles per hour of speed.
Don’t tailgate.•	  Unlike cars, trucks 
have large blind spots behind them. 
Also, car drivers who tailgate trucks 
can’t see traffic ahead. If the truck 
brakes suddenly, the car driver has no 
time to react and no place to go.
Allow trucks plenty of room.•	  
Both car and truck drivers must be 
especially careful when entering a 
highway or merging with traffic.
Don’t speed.•	  Speed is the leading

Safety campaign targets aggressive driving 
cause of all crashes in Oregon.

The Oregon TACT campaign is 
modeled after a campaign conducted 
by the Washington State Patrol (WSP). 
For the past three years, WSP has 
worked to heighten awareness and 
reduce unsafe driving behaviors by 
both cars and trucks in four high-crash 
interstate corridors. In one five-day 
TACT exercise last year, for example, 

eight troopers stopped 822 drivers on 
I-90 for aggressive driving violations 
such as speeding, improper lane change, 
and following too closely. In addition 
to a citation or warning, every driver 
received a TACT pamphlet with tips on 
sharing the road. Before the exercise and 
while it was underway, over 700 radio 
and television commercials were aired in 
eastern Washington and northern Idaho 
to promote the program. Road signs 
were also placed along the interstate 
reminding drivers to be safe.

Anyone with questions about 
TACT can contact a Motor Carrier 
Transportation Division safety manager 
at 503-378-6963.
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Thousands of customers of the 
Motor Carrier Transportation Division 
(MCTD) are getting survey forms in 
the mail this month that ask, “How are 
we doing and how can we do a better 
job?” For the fifth time in ten years, 
MCTD is reaching out to customers 
selected from nine groups. For the first 
time it’s contacting a tenth customer 
group to ask about its staff of motor 
carrier enforcement officers.

Division Administrator Gregg 
Dal Ponte is hoping a large number 
of questionnaires will be completed 
and returned in the coming months. 
“Customer surveys have become 
an increasingly important tool for 
measuring agency performance,” Dal 
Ponte said. “When legislators approve 
budgets they’re looking closely at 
performance measures and customer 
survey results, if that’s available.”

MCTD conducted similar surveys 
in 1998, 2002, 2004, and 2006 with 
overall response rates of 34%, 31%, 
31%, and 26%, respectively. This time 
MCTD is again identifying recipients, 
most randomly-selected, and sending 
forms to: (1) Oregon companies that 
had a truck inspected by MCTD staff 
in the past year,  (2) companies subject 
to a Safety Compliance Review 
in the past year, (3) Oregon truck 
drivers inspected by MCTD staff in 
the past year, (4) companies based 
in Oregon, Washington, and Idaho 
that participate in the Green Light 
weigh station preclearance program, 
(5) companies based in Oregon, 
Washington, and Idaho that are 
recognized as Oregon Trusted Carrier 
Partners, (6) companies that contacted 
the Salem Permit Analysts for truck-
related transactions during one week 
in May, (7) companies that contacted 
the Over-Dimension Permit Unit for 
a permit during one week in May, (8) 
companies subject to a weight-mile 
tax audit in the past year, and (9) 
companies subject to an International 

Customer survey is the 5th in 10 years

Surveys check satisfaction with staff & service
Registration Plan and/or International 
Fuel Tax Agreement audit in the past 
year, and (10) truck drivers subject to 
an enforcement action by officers at 
Oregon weigh stations.

In an attempt to gather survey 
results that allow for comparing one 
state agency with another in terms 
of customer service, all Oregon 
state agency surveys ask the same 
six questions (differing only by 
insertion of the agency name). 
That’s why MCTD’s forms start 
with the following questions:
Timeliness — “How do you rate 
the timeliness of the services 
provided by the Motor Carrier 
Transportation Division?”
Accuracy — “How do you rate the 
ability of MCTD to provide services 
correctly the first time?”
Helpfulness — How do you rate the 
helpfulness of MCTD employees?”
Expertise — “How do you rate the 
knowledge and expertise of MCTD 
employees?”
Availability of Information — 
“How do you rate the availability of 
information at MCTD?”
Overall Service — “How do you rate 
the overall quality of service provided 
by MCTD?”

In the last survey conducted in 
2006, the vast majority responded 
favorably to the six standard questions 
that appear on every survey form. 
When examined together, customers 
were most critical of the availability 
of information. In that regard, 37% of 
respondents rated MCTD “Excellent,” 
49% rated it “Good,” 12% rated it 
“Fair,” and 2% rated it “Poor.” But as 
far as overall quality of service, 39% 
rated MCTD “Excellent,” 51% rated 
it “Good,” 8% rated it “Fair,” and 2% 
rated it “Poor.”

When survey responses were 
examined separately for each 
customer groups, general satisfaction 
was highest among those who 

transacted business with the Salem 
Permit Analysts and staff in the Over-
Dimension Permit Unit. Satisfaction 
was lowest among companies subject 
to a Safety Compliance Review and 

truck drivers subject 

to a roadside 
driver inspection.

After the six standard questions, 
MCTD’s survey goes on to ask other 
questions tailored for each customer 
group and consistent with questions 
that appeared on surveys in previous 
years. Program managers can then 
compare specific results to see if 
there’s been any noticeable change in 
customer satisfaction or experience. 

Whenever MCTD mails out 
its customer satisfaction survey, it 
expects that many respondents will 
take the opportunity to add frank 
and even colorful comments. The 
survey in 2006 was no exception as 
practically one-third of all respondents 
had something to write in the space 
provided for suggestions.

MCTD managers read every one 
of the comments, the best as well 
as the worst, and often take specific 
action in response to them. When a 
number of customers in 2004 wrote to 
complain about telephone wait times, 
for example, managers installed a call 
management system with call routing 
and other management tools. In 2006, 
fewer customers complained about 
wait times.
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Truck Safety Inspection  
Statistics — 2007

Number of truck safety inspections conducted  
in Oregon in calendar year 2007:........................... 61,349

Compared to 2006, percentage change  
in inspection totals:.................................................up 3%

Of the total inspections, number done by  
Oregon DOT Motor Carrier Division:................... 39,752

Rate at which inspections occur:...........1 every 9 minutes

Most inspections in a single day:................................ 602

Average minutes needed to conduct a complete  
Level 1 truck and driver inspection:............................. 26

Hours spent inspecting trucks:............................... 26,929

If each truck was 60 feet long, miles all trucks  
inspected, parked end to end, would extend:.............. 730

Distance from Portland to Salt Lake City:.........770 miles

Percent of inspections conducted  
using laptop computers:.............................................73%

Average violations per inspection of  
Oregon-based trucks:................................................. 2.18

Average violations per inspection  
of trucks based elsewhere:......................................... 2.38

Most violations found in one inspection:...................... 26

Percent of vehicles placed out-of-service for  
a critical safety violation:...........................................20%

Current national percent of vehicles  
placed out-of-service:.................................................25%

Most common mechanical violation  
found in vehicle inspections:....................... brake-related

Percent of drivers placed out-of-service  
for a critical safety violation:.....................................14%

Current national percent of drivers  
placed out-of-service:................................................9.8%

Actual number of drivers placed  
out-of-service in Oregon:......................................... 8,582

Number of truck drivers caught falsifying  
log books or keeping inaccurate logs:...................... 7,006

Number of drivers caught  
using radar detectors:.................................................. 181

Number of drivers caught  
using alcohol or drugs:................................................ 105

Whistleblower law protects 
employees from retaliation

In a June 2006 survey of Oregon truck drivers, 11% disagreed 
with the following statement: “The company I work for gives me 
the information and support I need to be in compliance with safety 
regulations.” While it’s not known what problems those drivers might 
be referring to, they should be aware that they have safety, health, and 
security rights and protection under law if they report violations or 
unsafe working conditions.

Under federal law, a company cannot fire, demote, discipline, 
blacklist, or intimidate employees, deny them benefits, overtime or 
promotion, reduce their pay or hours, write them up, or treat them 
differently if they file a complaint or participate in a proceeding or 
investigation related to violations of commercial motor vehicle safety, 
health, or security rules. Typical employee concerns include too 
fatigued to drive safely, driving in violation of the hours-of-service 
rules, and driving defective and unsafe equipment. 

The law protects employees who file a complaint, initiate a 
proceeding, testify, or plan to testify in a proceeding related to a 
violation of a commercial motor vehicle safety regulation. The law also 
protects employees who refuse to operate a commercial motor vehicle, 
because (1) it would have resulted in violation of a federal safety or 
health regulation, or (2) the employee had a reasonable apprehension 
that he or she, or someone else, would have been seriously injured or 
impaired by operating the unsafe vehicle after the employer had been 
asked to correct the unsafe condition and refused to correct it.

After an alleged incident of discrimination occurs, employees 
have 180 days to file a whistleblower complaint. Complaints should be 
filed with the Federal Occupational Safety and Health Administration 
(OSHA). Oregon employees can contact OSHA’s Seattle office at 
206-553-5930. If the evidence supports the claim of retailiation and a 
settlement cannot be reached, OSHA will issue an order awarding the 
employee appropriate relief such as reinstatement of job with the same 
seniority and benefits, back-pay with interest, compensatory damages, 
including compensation for special damages, expert witness fees, and 
reasonable attorney fees, and punitive damages up to $250,000 in 
certain cases. After OSHA issues its order, either party may request an 
evidentiary hearing before a law judge. The findings and order become 
the final order of the Secretary of Labor unless an objection is filed 
within 30 days.

Whistleblower protection extends to employees who drive a 
commercial motor vehicle (even as an independent contractor who 
personally operates the vehicle), as well as employees who repair 
and maintain vehicles as a mechanic, handle freight, and perform any 
job for a motor carrier directly affecting commercial motor vehicle 
safety in the course of employment. The protection does not extend to 
employees of the U.S. government, a State, or a political subdivision of 
a State acting in the course of employment. For more about the law  
(49 U.S.C. 31105 and 29CFR1978), visit the FMCSA Web site — 
www.fmcsa.dot.gov/rules-regulations/administration/w-blower.htm.
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This is an example of a receipt that does not support 
a claim for fuel tax credit on an Oregon Highway 
Use Tax Report. It may show the date and location 
of purchase, from whom the fuel was purchased, the 
kind of fuel, and the number of gallons, but a store 
like Safeway doesn’t provide a receipt showing the 
amount of Oregon fuel tax paid and never notes the 
truck’s weight-mile tax credential number — Oregon 
Commercial or Oregon Apportioned license plate 
number, Oregon Weight Receipt and Tax Identifier 
number, or Temporary Pass number.

Guide to requesting fuel tax refunds
Oregon charges heavy trucks a weight-mile tax for road use, rather than a fuel tax. Motor carriers operating trucks with a 

combined weight over 26,000 pounds can buy fuel in Oregon without paying a fuel tax if their drivers show the vehicle’s weight-
mile tax credential — a valid temporary or permanent Oregon Weight Receipt and Tax Identifier, a valid Temporary Pass, or an 
Oregon Commercial or Oregon Apportioned license plate with a valid sticker. If a motor carrier is unable to prove registration 
in the weight-mile tax system, the fuel provider must charge fuel taxes. Then the carrier can seek a refund of that fuel tax by 
submitting a detailed receipt when filing the next weight-mile tax report. But the Motor Carrier Transportation Division cannot 
process claims for tax credits unless the claim is supported by good documentation. An increasing number of claims are based on 
receipts from stores that always charge fuel tax and never provide the documentation needed to confirm the fuel was purchased 
for a weight-mile tax-paying truck.

Acceptable
Oregon administrative rules specify that claims for fuel 

tax credits must be supported by invoices that contain date and 
location of purchase, fuel supplier, fuel and gallons purchased, 
weight-mile tax credential number assigned to the vehicle, and 
the amount of Oregon state fuel tax paid.

Oregon Administrative Rule 740-055-0110 
— Fuel Purchase Records and Refunds —

(1) All motor carriers must obtain an invoice covering 
every purchase of motor vehicle fuel and preserve the same for 
a period of three years subject to inspection by the Department 
or its representatives at all reasonable times. 

(2) Such invoice must disclose: (a) Date and location of 
purchase; (b) From whom purchased; (c) Kind of fuel and 
number of gallons purchased; (d) Oregon Weight Receipt and 
Tax Identifier number or temporary pass number of the vehicle 
if fuel is delivered directly into such vehicle; and (e) Amount 
of fuel tax paid.

(3) Motor carriers purchasing fuel in Oregon may claim 
a credit for Oregon state fuel tax paid at the pump. Carriers 
shall deduct the amount of fuel tax paid from the highway use 
tax due on the highway use tax report for the period in which 
the fuel was purchased. Motor carriers taking a deduction 
on the highway use tax report for fuel tax paid shall attach a 
copy of all fuel invoices for which credit is claimed. Carriers 
who purchase fuel in bulk shall attach to the highway use tax 
report for the period in which the fuel was dispensed into a 
motor vehicle copies of invoices from fuel suppliers indicating 
Oregon state fuel tax paid and fueling records showing fuel 
dispensed for each motor vehicle.

(4) Motor carriers may submit a written request for refund 
of Oregon state fuel tax paid up to three years after purchase. 
A written request for refund may be granted for any Oregon 
fuel tax paid but not deducted from the highway use tax report 
for the period in which the fuel was purchased. Motor carriers 
requesting refund must attach copies of all invoices. No such 
refund will be issued until an audit has been performed.

EXCEPTION TO 740-055-0110(2): Invoices may disclose the Oregon 
Commercial or Oregon Apportioned license plate number instead of the 
Weight Receipt and Tax Identifier number or Temporary Pass number.

Unacceptable
Claims for fuel tax credits will be rejected if they are not 

supported by invoices that contain the date and location of 
the purchase, the fuel supplier, the kind of fuel and gallons 
purchased, the Oregon weight-mile tax credential number 
assigned to the vehicle — Oregon Commercial or Oregon 
Apportioned license plate number, Oregon Weight Receipt and 
Tax Identifier number, or Temporary Pass number — and the 
amount of Oregon state fuel tax paid.

Now that Oregon stores like Safeway, Costco, and Fred 
Meyer sell fuel, an increasing number of motor carriers are 
buying diesel there and submitting the receipts for a fuel tax 
credit. But those stores always charge fuel tax at the pump 
and never provide the type of detailed receipt that is needed to 
claim credit on an Oregon Highway Use Tax Report.



7 Oregon Motor Carrier News •  June 2008

Restriction Legend

D/N =	 Restricted to Divisible 
and Non-Divisible Load 
Limits

		  Divisible Loads
Single Axle		    20,000 lbs.
Tandem Axle		    34,000 lbs.
Maximum Wt.		  105,500 lbs.

		   Non-Divisible  
	             (Heavy Haul) Loads
Single Axle		    21,500 lbs.
Tandem Axle		    43,000 lbs.
Maximum Wt.		    98,000 lbs.

D =	 Restricted to Divisible 	
Load Limits (no heavy 
haul loads)

		  Divisible Loads
Single Axle		    20,000 lbs.
Tandem Axle		    34,000 lbs.
Maximum Wt.		  105,500 lbs.

SR =	 Special Restriction - 
	 All trucks over 80,000 lbs. 

must stay in right lane.

SR1 =	 Special Restriction - 
	 Single Axle - 20,000 lbs. 
	 Tandem Axle - 34,000 lbs. 

Max. Wgt. - 80,000 lbs.

SR2 =	 Special Restriction - 
	 No truck combinations,
	 Max. Wgt. - 50,000 lbs.

Weight restrictions shown here do not 
supersede restrictions posted on signs at 
each bridge location. Bridges are closely 
checked by inspectors. Restrictions 
may change on a daily basis, and other 
bridges may become restricted, as 
conditions warrant.

	 Highway	 Restriction	 Bridge & Location

  1.	 OR99E SB		  SR2	 Martin Luther King Jr. Viaduct, Portland
  2.	 OR206		  D	 Deschutes River Bridge, MP 2.92 
  3.	 US97		  D	 Biggs Rapids - Sam Hill Bridge, Biggs Junction over the Columbia
  4.	 US730		  D/N	 USRS Irrigation Canal Bridge, MP168.86, 
				    between Boardman and Irrigon 
  5.	 US26		  D/N	 Bridge Creek Bridge, MP65.63
  6.	 US199		  D/N	 Applegate River, MP7, southwest of Grants Pass
  7.	 I-5 Overpass 		  SR1	 Chadwick Lane, MP104.85
  8.	 I-5 NB		  D/N	 Shady Bridge, MP120.57, between Myrtle Creek and Roseburg
  9.	 I-5 NB		  SR	 Umpqua River, MP128.92, Roseburg 

10.	 Coos River Hwy.		  SR1	 Isthmus Slough Bridge, Coos Bay, MP0.51, 1/2 mile off US101
11.	 US 101		  D/N	 Siuslaw River, MP190.98, Florence 
12.	 US 101		  D/N	 Spencer Creek, MP133.86, ten miles south of Depoe Bay
13. 	 OR126 Business WB	 D/N	 Willamette River, MP1.34, one mile east of I-5 in Springfield
14.	 Off OR22		  D	 First Avenue Bridge in Mill City, over Santiam River 
15.	 OR18		  D/N	 Yamhill River, MP51.57, near Dayton 
16.	 OR219		  D/N	 Willamette River, MP23.46, south of Newberg 
17.	 OR99W S		  D	 Tualatin River Bridge, MP12.18, Tualatin

* SPECIAL NOTE: The Lewis & Clark Bridge in Washington, off US30, 
is restricted to 21,500 pounds per axle, with no limit on gross vehicle weight.

Weight-Restricted Bridges 
on Major State Routes in Oregon
As of April 30, 2008, bridge inspectors have set weight restrictions on 
17 bridges on major Oregon routes. There are also many restricted 
bridges on lesser state routes throughout Oregon.  Questions about 
restricted bridges? Contact the Oregon DOT, Motor Carrier Division at 
503-373-0000 or visit its Web site:  
www.oregon.gov/ODOT/MCT/RESTRICT.shtml

Biggs Bridge set to reopen for the Summer
The Washington State Department of Transportation still plans to complete  

Stage 1 of bridge deck replacement work and reopen the Biggs Rapids-Sam Hill Bridge 
over the Columbia River before Memorial Day, May 26. But Stage 2 of the work 
requires closing the bridge again after Labor Day, September 1, until work is completed 
several months later. The bridge will be open to traffic just during the period from 
Memorial Day to Labor Day. Completion of the Stage 1 work has allowed for lifting 
special weight restrictions that had been in effect for this bridge since 2001. It is now 
restricted to divisible load limits (no heavy haul loads).

During the closures, 
truckers traveling north 
on US97 to Biggs need 
to go 20 miles west on 
I-84 to the US197 Dalles 
Bridge and then take 
WA14 to return to US97. 
For more information, 
call the WSDOT 
Columbia Gorge Office at 
1-866-279-0730.

US97 Columbia River Biggs Rapids - Sam Hill Bridge
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1Interstate motor carriers,  
brokers, freight forwarders, and  
leasing companies must pay an 

annual Unified Carrier Registration 
(UCR) fee. The 2008 fees are due 
May 15, 2008. Most states will begin 
enforcement of UCR fees on June 1. 

If the interstate operator’s principle 
place of business is in Oregon, one of 
the following states may be selected as 
the base state that accepts payments: 

AK, CA, CO, ID, MT, 
ND, NM, SD, UT, 
WA.

Oregon is not participating in the UCR 
program and it is not accepting fee 
payments. Do not send payments to 
Oregon. Please contact a participating 
state for more information.

2Complete the registration form  
included on page 9 of this issue  
of the Motor Carrier News. 

Follow the 
instructions on the 
back of the form, on page 10.  
Or instead of completing the paper 
form, register online —  
www.ucr.in.gov — at an Indiana 
Department of Revenue site. 
Online payments may be made by 
MasterCard, Visa or e-Check.

3Determine the annual fee based  
on the number of vehicles and,   
if not paying online, make the 

payment to the chosen base state in the 
form accepted by that 
state. Do not send 
payments to Oregon.

NOTE: Interstate motor carriers, 
brokers, freight forwarders, and 
leasing companies who operated in 
2007 and did not pay fees for 2007, 
must pay both the 2007 and 2008 fees.

3 Steps to paying 
Unified Carrier 

Registration fees

Interstate motor carriers, brokers, freight forwarders, and leasing companies 
must pay an annual UCR fee. The 2008 fees are due May 15, 2008. 

Western States Participating in UCR in 2008

Alaska Department of Transportation — Commercial Vehicle Customer Service
11900 Industry Way, Building M, Suite 2, Anchorage AK 99515

907-365-1200    FAX 907-365-1221
Pay by: Cash, Check, Credit Card, Money Order, Certified Funds

California Department of Motor Vehicles —  
Motor Carrier Permit Branch / Operations Unit

P.O. Box 932370, Mail Station G-875, Sacramento CA 94232-3700
916-657-8153    FAX 916-657-6803

Pay by: Cash, Check, Credit Card, Money Order, Certified Funds

Colorado Public Utilities Commission
1560 Broadway, Suite 250, Denver CO 80202
303-894-2000 select 4   FAX 303-894-2071

Pay by: Cash, Credit Card, Money Order, Certified Funds

Idaho Transportation Department —  
Commercial Vehicle Services - Motor Carrier

PO Box 7129, Boise ID 83707-1129
208-334-8611    FAX 208-334-2006

Pay by: Cash, Check, Credit Card, Money Order, Certified Funds

Montana Department of Transportation
PO Box 4639, Helena MT 59604-4639
406-444-2998       FAX 406-444-0800

Pay by: Cash, Check, Credit Card, Money Order, Certified Funds

North Dakota Department of Transportation  — Motor Vehicle Division
608 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck ND 58505-0780

701-328-2725, select 2      FAX 701-328-3500
Pay by: Cash, Check, Credit Card, Money Order, Certified Funds

New Mexico Public Regulation — Commission/Transportation Division
PO Box 1269, Sante Fe NM 87504-1269

505-827-4519     FAX 505-476-0324
Pay by: Cash, Money Order, Certified Funds

South Dakota Department of Revenue & Regulation
Division of Motor Vehicles — UCR Program
445 East Capitol Avenue, Pierre SD 57501-3185

605-773-3314       FAX 605-773-4117
Pay by: Cash, Check, Credit Card, Money Order, Certified Funds

Utah Department of Transportation — Motor Carrier Division
4501 S. 2700 West, PO Box 148240, Salt Lake City UT  84114-8240

801-965-3871      FAX 801-965-4265
Pay by: Cash, Check, Credit Card, Money Order, Certified Funds

Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission — Licensing Services
PO Box 47250, Olympia WA 98504-7250

360-664-1222         FAX 360-586-1181
Pay by: Cash, Check, Credit Card, Money Order, Certified Funds

Remaining 31 states participating in UCRA in 2008:  Alabama, Arkansas,  
Delaware, Connecticut, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisi-
ana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Nebraska,  
New Hampshire, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania,  
Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin
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SECTION 1. GENERAL INFORMATION 
USDOT Number MC or MX Number FF Number Telephone Number Fax Number 

Legal Name E-Mail Address 

Doing Business Under the Following Name (DBA) 

Principal Place of Business Street Address (See Instructions) 

Principal Business City Principal Business State Zip Code 

Mailing Street Address 

Mailing City Mailing State Mailing Zip Code 

SECTION 2. CLASSIFICATION – Check All That Apply
  Motor Carrier            Motor Private Carrier                 Broker                  Leasing Company                Freight Forwarder 

SECTION 3. FEES DUE  BROKERS, FREIGHT FORWARDERS & LEASING COMPANIES ONLY 
Note:  If your company is also a motor carrier or motor private carrier, skip this section and go to section 4. 
Brokers, freight forwarders and leasing companies (not a motor carrier combination), submit $39 to your chosen base state 
in the form of payment accepted by that state (DO NOT SEND PAYMENTS TO OREGON) and go to Section 7. 

SECTION 4.  NUMBER OF MOTOR VEHICLES  MOTOR CARRIER  & MOTOR PRIVATE CARRIER 
Check only one box: 

  The number of vehicles shown below have been taken from section 26 of your last reported MCS-150 form. 
  The number of vehicles shown below is the total number owned and operated for the 12-month period ending June 30, 2007.
NUMBER OF STRAIGHT TRUCKS 

AND TRACTORS 
(COLUMN A)

NUMBER OF TRAILERS 
(COLUMN B)

NUMBER OF MOTOR COACHES, 
SCHOOL BUSES, MINI-BUSES, VANS 

AND LIMOUSINES 
(COLUMN C)

TOTAL
(COLUMN D)

   
1.  (Optional) Under this program you may delete any vehicles in Column A or B above that you have reported on your 

MCS 150 form that are used only in intrastate commerce.  (See instructions.)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  (                   )
2.  (Optional) You may add vehicles that (a) have not been shown on the MCS 150 form that are defined as commercial 

motor vehicles operating solely in intrastate commerce; and/or (b) other self-propelled motor vehicles operating in 
intrastate or interstate commerce that: 

Have a gross vehicle weight rating or gross vehicle weight of 10,000 lbs or less, or a passenger capacity of 10 or less, including the driver;
Are used on the highways in commerce; and 
Transport passengers or property for compensation.  (See instructions for definition of commercial motor vehicle) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . _________________

3.  Total Number of Vehicles (TOTAL (COLUMN D) minus LINE 1 plus LINE 2). . . . . . . . . . . .  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . _____________

SECTION 5. FEE TABLE 
Number of Vehicles Amount Due Number of Vehicles Amount Due  Number of Vehicles Amount Due 

0-2 $39.00  6-20 $231.00  101-1000 $3,840.00 

3-5 $116.00  21-100 $806.00  1001 or more $37,500.00 
SECTION 6. FEES DUE  MOTOR CARRIER & MOTOR PRIVATE CARRIER 

Using the number of vehicles in Section 4, Line 3 above, enter the Amount Due from the table above.
Note: Make payment to your chosen base state, in the form of payment accepted by that state.  DO NOT SEND PAYMENTS TO OREGON.

SECTION 7. CERTIFICATION 
I, the undersigned, under penalty for false statement, certify that the above information is true and correct and that I am authorized to execute and file 
this document on behalf of the applicant.  (Penalty provisions subject to the laws of the registration state.) 
Name of Owner or Authorized Representative (Printed) Date

Signature Title 

UNIFIED CARRIER REGISTRATION -Year 2008 
To register online go to www.ucr.in.gov
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Instruction Sheet for UCR Carrier Registration – Year 2008 

What is my base state for UCR?
(A) If your principle place of business as completed in Section 1 of the 

form is AK, AL, AR, CA, CO, CT, DE, GA, IA, ID, IL, IN, KS, 
KY, LA, MA, ME, MI, MN, MS, MT, NC, ND, NE, NH, NM, 
NY, OH, OK, PA, RI, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VA, WA, WI, or WV, 
you must use that state as your base state. If your principle place 
of business is not in one of these states, go to (B). 

(B) If your principle place of business is not one of the states listed in 
(A) above but you have an office or operating facility located in 
one of the states listed in (A) above, you must use that state as your 
base state.   

(C) If you cannot select a base state using (A) or (B) above, you must 
select your base state from (A) above that is nearest to the location 
of your principle place of business; or  

(D) Select your base state as follows: 
a. If your principle place of business is in DC, MD, NJ, or VT or 

the Canadian Province of ON, NB, NL, NS, PE, or QC, you may 
select one of the following states:  CT, DE, MA, ME, NH, NY, 
PA, RI, VA, or WV. 

b. If your principle place of business is in FL or a state of 
Mexico, you may select one of the following states: AL, AR, 
GA, KY, LA, MS, NC, OK, SC, TN, or TX. 

c. If your principle place of business is in MO or the Canadian 
Province of ON or MB, you may select one of the following 
states: IA, IL, IN, KS, MI, MN, NE, OH, or WI. 

d. If your principle place of business is in AZ, NV, OR, or WY
or the Canadian Province of AB, MB, SK, or BC or a state of 
Mexico, you may select one of the following states: AK, CA, 
CO, ID, MT, ND, NM, SD, UT, or WA. 

Change of Base State
If you selected your base state using (C) or (D) above and your 
principle place of business has moved to a qualified state in (A) or 
(B) above, you may at the next registration year change your base 
state to a state listed in (A) or (B). 

Section 1. – General Information 
Enter all identifying information for your company.  The owner 
and DBA name should be identical to what is on file for the U.S. 
DOT number (See safer.fmcsa.dot.gov/CompanySnapshot.aspx).
Enter the principle place of business address that serves as your 
headquarters and where your operational records are maintained or 
can be made available. 

Section 2. – Classification (Definitions)
“Motor carrier” means a person providing commercial motor 
vehicle transportation for compensation. 
“Motor private carrier” means a person who provides interstate 
transportation of property in order to support its primary line of 
business.
“Broker” means a person, other than a motor carrier, who sells or 
arranges for transportation by a motor carrier for compensation. 
“Freight forwarder” means a person that arranges for truck 
transportation of cargo belonging to others, utilizing for-hire 
carriers to provide the actual truck transportation, and also 
performs or provides for assembling, consolidating, break-bulk and 
distribution of shipments and assumes responsibility for 
transportation from place of receipt to destination.
“Leasing company” means a person or company engaged in the 
business of leasing or renting for compensation motor vehicles 
they own without drivers to a motor carrier, motor private carrier, 
or freight forwarder.

Section 3. – Fees Due-Brokers, Freight Forwarders and 
Leasing Companies  

Brokers, freight forwarders and leasing companies pay the lowest 
fee tier.  If your company is also a motor carrier or a motor private 
carrier you will skip this section of the application.   

Section 4. – Number of Motor Vehicles – Motor Carrier & 
Motor Private Carrier 

Definition - “Commercial motor vehicle” (as defined under 49 
USC Section 31101) means a self-propelled or towed vehicle used 
on the highways in commerce principally to transport passengers 
or cargo, if the vehicle:  (1) Has a gross vehicle weight rating 
(GVWR) or gross vehicle weight (GVW) of at least 10,001 
pounds, whichever is greater; (2) Is designed to transport more 
than 10 passengers, including the driver; or (3) Is used in 
transporting material found by the Secretary of Transportation to 
be hazardous under section 5103 of this title and transported in a 
quantity requiring placarding under regulations prescribed by the 
Secretary under section 5103.”   
Check the appropriate box indicating where you obtained the 
vehicle count for the numbers entered into the table in this section. 
In the table, enter the number of commercial motor vehicles you 
reported on your last MCS-150 form or the total number of 
commercial motor vehicles owned and operated for the 12-month 
period ending June 30 of the year immediately prior to the year for 
which the UCR registration is made. This table includes owned 
and leased vehicles (term of lease for more than 30 days). If all the 
vehicles in your fleet are designed to transport 10 passengers of 
less, including the driver, then the number in Column D is zero 
and, unless these vehicles are added in Option 2, the fee is $39.
Option 1. You may subtract the number of property carrying 
vehicle used solely in intrastate commerce that you included in 
Section 4, Columns A or B. You may not enter on this line the 
number of passenger carrying vehicles included in Column C that 
were used solely in intrastate commerce. 
Option 2.  You may add the number of owned commercial motor 
vehicles (straight trucks, tractors, trailers, motor coaches, school 
buses, mini-buses, vans or limousines) that were used only in 
intrastate commerce if they were not included in Columns A, B or 
C above. You may also include on this line the number of other 
self propelled vehicles (not trailers) used in interstate or intrastate 
commerce to transport passengers or property for compensation 
that are not defined as a commercial motor vehicle that have a 
GVWR or GVW of 10,000 pounds or less or a passenger capacity 
of 10 or less, including the driver. 
Line 3, Total Number of Vehicles.  Add the number of vehicles 
shown in Column D, subtract any vehicles you reported in Option 
1 and add any vehicles you reported under Option 2 and show the 
total on Line 3.  Use this total number of vehicles and go to the fee 
table in Section 5.  Pay the amount due for the total vehicles. 

Section 5. – Fee Table for Motor Carrier & Private Carrier 
This table is the approved UCR fees you will pay dependent upon 
the number of vehicles reported in Section 4.  This fee may change 
from year to year. 

Section 6. – Fee for Motor Carrier & Private Carrier 
Enter the amount due for the total number of vehicles calculated in 
Section 4. 

Section 7. – Certification 
The owner or an individual who has a power of attorney to sign on 
behalf of the owner or owners must sign this form.  This 
certification indicates that the information is correct under penalty 
of perjury. 
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Instruction Sheet for UCR Carrier Registration – Year 2008 

What is my base state for UCR?
(A) If your principle place of business as completed in Section 1 of the 

form is AK, AL, AR, CA, CO, CT, DE, GA, IA, ID, IL, IN, KS, 
KY, LA, MA, ME, MI, MN, MS, MT, NC, ND, NE, NH, NM, 
NY, OH, OK, PA, RI, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VA, WA, WI, or WV, 
you must use that state as your base state. If your principle place 
of business is not in one of these states, go to (B). 

(B) If your principle place of business is not one of the states listed in 
(A) above but you have an office or operating facility located in 
one of the states listed in (A) above, you must use that state as your 
base state.   

(C) If you cannot select a base state using (A) or (B) above, you must 
select your base state from (A) above that is nearest to the location 
of your principle place of business; or  

(D) Select your base state as follows: 
a. If your principle place of business is in DC, MD, NJ, or VT or 

the Canadian Province of ON, NB, NL, NS, PE, or QC, you may 
select one of the following states:  CT, DE, MA, ME, NH, NY, 
PA, RI, VA, or WV. 

b. If your principle place of business is in FL or a state of 
Mexico, you may select one of the following states: AL, AR, 
GA, KY, LA, MS, NC, OK, SC, TN, or TX. 

c. If your principle place of business is in MO or the Canadian 
Province of ON or MB, you may select one of the following 
states: IA, IL, IN, KS, MI, MN, NE, OH, or WI. 

d. If your principle place of business is in AZ, NV, OR, or WY
or the Canadian Province of AB, MB, SK, or BC or a state of 
Mexico, you may select one of the following states: AK, CA, 
CO, ID, MT, ND, NM, SD, UT, or WA. 

Change of Base State
If you selected your base state using (C) or (D) above and your 
principle place of business has moved to a qualified state in (A) or 
(B) above, you may at the next registration year change your base 
state to a state listed in (A) or (B). 

Section 1. – General Information 
Enter all identifying information for your company.  The owner 
and DBA name should be identical to what is on file for the U.S. 
DOT number (See safer.fmcsa.dot.gov/CompanySnapshot.aspx).
Enter the principle place of business address that serves as your 
headquarters and where your operational records are maintained or 
can be made available. 

Section 2. – Classification (Definitions)
“Motor carrier” means a person providing commercial motor 
vehicle transportation for compensation. 
“Motor private carrier” means a person who provides interstate 
transportation of property in order to support its primary line of 
business.
“Broker” means a person, other than a motor carrier, who sells or 
arranges for transportation by a motor carrier for compensation. 
“Freight forwarder” means a person that arranges for truck 
transportation of cargo belonging to others, utilizing for-hire 
carriers to provide the actual truck transportation, and also 
performs or provides for assembling, consolidating, break-bulk and 
distribution of shipments and assumes responsibility for 
transportation from place of receipt to destination.
“Leasing company” means a person or company engaged in the 
business of leasing or renting for compensation motor vehicles 
they own without drivers to a motor carrier, motor private carrier, 
or freight forwarder.

Section 3. – Fees Due-Brokers, Freight Forwarders and 
Leasing Companies  

Brokers, freight forwarders and leasing companies pay the lowest 
fee tier.  If your company is also a motor carrier or a motor private 
carrier you will skip this section of the application.   

Section 4. – Number of Motor Vehicles – Motor Carrier & 
Motor Private Carrier 

Definition - “Commercial motor vehicle” (as defined under 49 
USC Section 31101) means a self-propelled or towed vehicle used 
on the highways in commerce principally to transport passengers 
or cargo, if the vehicle:  (1) Has a gross vehicle weight rating 
(GVWR) or gross vehicle weight (GVW) of at least 10,001 
pounds, whichever is greater; (2) Is designed to transport more 
than 10 passengers, including the driver; or (3) Is used in 
transporting material found by the Secretary of Transportation to 
be hazardous under section 5103 of this title and transported in a 
quantity requiring placarding under regulations prescribed by the 
Secretary under section 5103.”   
Check the appropriate box indicating where you obtained the 
vehicle count for the numbers entered into the table in this section. 
In the table, enter the number of commercial motor vehicles you 
reported on your last MCS-150 form or the total number of 
commercial motor vehicles owned and operated for the 12-month 
period ending June 30 of the year immediately prior to the year for 
which the UCR registration is made. This table includes owned 
and leased vehicles (term of lease for more than 30 days). If all the 
vehicles in your fleet are designed to transport 10 passengers of 
less, including the driver, then the number in Column D is zero 
and, unless these vehicles are added in Option 2, the fee is $39.
Option 1. You may subtract the number of property carrying 
vehicle used solely in intrastate commerce that you included in 
Section 4, Columns A or B. You may not enter on this line the 
number of passenger carrying vehicles included in Column C that 
were used solely in intrastate commerce. 
Option 2.  You may add the number of owned commercial motor 
vehicles (straight trucks, tractors, trailers, motor coaches, school 
buses, mini-buses, vans or limousines) that were used only in 
intrastate commerce if they were not included in Columns A, B or 
C above. You may also include on this line the number of other 
self propelled vehicles (not trailers) used in interstate or intrastate 
commerce to transport passengers or property for compensation 
that are not defined as a commercial motor vehicle that have a 
GVWR or GVW of 10,000 pounds or less or a passenger capacity 
of 10 or less, including the driver. 
Line 3, Total Number of Vehicles.  Add the number of vehicles 
shown in Column D, subtract any vehicles you reported in Option 
1 and add any vehicles you reported under Option 2 and show the 
total on Line 3.  Use this total number of vehicles and go to the fee 
table in Section 5.  Pay the amount due for the total vehicles. 

Section 5. – Fee Table for Motor Carrier & Private Carrier 
This table is the approved UCR fees you will pay dependent upon 
the number of vehicles reported in Section 4.  This fee may change 
from year to year. 

Section 6. – Fee for Motor Carrier & Private Carrier 
Enter the amount due for the total number of vehicles calculated in 
Section 4. 

Section 7. – Certification 
The owner or an individual who has a power of attorney to sign on 
behalf of the owner or owners must sign this form.  This 
certification indicates that the information is correct under penalty 
of perjury. 

Enforcement
1st Quarter 2008

From January through March 
2008, the Motor Carrier Division 
finalized 114 civil enforcement 
actions, in addition to 53 actions 
related to inspection follow-up 
violations. The number next to 
each name indicates violations 
confirmed in the process.  

** Denotes second complaint 
within five years.
*** Denotes third complaint 
within one year of second.
**** Denotes fourth complaint 
within one year of third.

Safety Violations
A total of 99 enforcement actions 
related to violations found during 
safety compliance reviews, or 
driver violations related to waiver 
of physical disqualification.

Agri Cycle, Inc.  5
Andrade Transport, Inc.  12**
Arrow Striping &  
     Painting, Inc.  37**
B T S Container 
     Service, Inc.  36**
B&N Construction, Inc.  7
Matt Bixby Trucking  1***
Canby Trucking Co.  4**
Capital Concrete 
     Construction, Inc.  2***
Caravan Airport Transportation  2
Castner Trucking, Inc.  9****
Chapa Trucking  7
Circle of Teran  2
Coleman Transport  11***
James Cordie Trucking  10****
Cornerstone Trucking, Inc.  4***
Boyd Cribbs Trucking, Inc.  16**
Cross River Transport, Inc.  10**
D&R Trucking 
     (Hood River OR)  2
David Star Express LLC  25***
Dean Logging, Inc.  2
Denis Neil Schmitz  3
Dennis Trucking 
     (Beaverton OR)  4

James W Drayton  19**
Dry Canyon Construction &
     Excavation LLC  2
Dust to Diamonds 
     Auto Transport, Inc.  7
Dutton Construction &
     Development, Inc.  4
Elegant Express  2
Tom Feeny Builders, Inc.  6
Juan D Gonzalez 
     (Umatilla OR)  2
Gram Construction, Inc.  2
Jose Guzman (Boardman OR)  5
M D Hagan Trucking Co.  10
Hatley Construction, Inc.  3
Philip Hedrick Trucking  1
J & E Holding Co. LLC  1
J & M Enterprises 
     (Rogue River OR)  3
J&K Distributing  10
Jagraj Singh Brar  4
Robin James  2
Todd C Kalebaugh 
     Construction  3
Kelly Lumber Supply, Inc.  5
LA Construction 
     Services, Inc.  20**
Lawrence Oil Co.  10
Leslie Trucking, Inc. 
     (Clatskanie OR)  10
M J Transport (Merrill OR)  3**
Mamuking Express  4
Jeff Mann 
     Timber Salvage, Inc.  12**
Maranatha Transport  5
Meadow Ridge Farms, Inc.  2**
Medicine Creek LLC 
     (Elgin OR)  7
Brent S Melson Trucking  5
Merrill Auto Wrecking, Inc.  9**
Monkey Business  4
Morgan Machinery 
     Moving  87**
Morning Star Express, Inc.  5
Larry David &
     Cynthia Doris Morrison  6
Randy D Muller  5
Ed Norman’s Asphalt Paving  5
North American Metals, Inc.  6
Northwest Equipment 
     Express  43** 
O & R Trucking LLC  5
Omega Trucking, Inc. 
     (Hubbard OR)  1
Thomas & Kymberly 
     O’Neill Trucking  4
A G Ontko Contracting  3**
Oregon Armored Service, Inc.  6
Rene Osorio  2
Irvin Petersen Trucking LLC  7
Quality Excavation 
     Systems, Inc.  2**
R & M Lumber Sales, Inc.  5**
R&T Trucking & 
     Backhoe Service  4
Jerry Burton Reader  1**
Rickman Excavating, Inc.  6
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Ringer Construction & 
     Trucking, Inc.  2
Mark E Ritthaler  3***
Road Builders, Inc.  4
Rocky Mountain Construction 
     LLC (K-Falls OR)  55**
Rogers Log LLC  7**
R & J Rollis Trucking  43**
Rose Express Corp.  3
Salvador Medina  8
Paul W Shinen  2
Site Inspection Services  6
Darrel W Spinney  2**
Wayne Stone 
     Trucking LLC  26**
Sure Flow, Inc.  1
Swaggart Brothers, Inc.  6
Swaggart Enterprises, Inc.  1
T C Transportation, Inc. 
     (Springfield OR)  43**
Tiben Enterprize  24***
Valley Pacific 
     Construction, Inc.  13**
Vio T Construction  6***
Wadsworth Enterprises 
     Corp.  4**
Willamette Clearing &
     Hydra-Axle, Inc.  6**
Willamette Pass Express LLC  6
Wilson Excavating, Inc.  2**
Woodward Brothers, Inc.  8
Woolley Equipment LLC  39***
Yesenia’s Market, Inc.  9
Zwald Transport, Inc.  10***

Other Safety Violations
A total of 41 cease and desist 
orders and 12 penalty orders 
related to failure to return a Driver 
or Equipment Compliance Check 
Form within 15 days after a safety 
inspection in order to certify that 
any vehicle-related problems were 
repaired and/or driver-related 
problems addressed.

Other Violations
A total of 15 actions related to 
other violations, such as operat-
ing in excess of size or weight 
limits or without valid registration 
credentials, operating in viola-
tion of farm registration laws and 
rules, illegally bypassing a weigh 
station, offering or providing 
unauthorized household goods 
moving services, or operating as 
an unregistered pack and loader.

AM-PM Moving  1
Diamond Transportation 
     Logistics  1
Front Door Pick-up & 
     Delivery, Inc.  4
Aaron Griffin 
     dba Morton Vanlines  2
Highstyle Moving Co.  1

Other Enforcement

Summary of work by Motor 
Carrier Enforcement Officers 
in the 1st Quarter 2008:

Trucks Weighed 
on Static Scales 

503,266

Trucks Precleared to Pass 
Green Light Weigh Stations 

595,480

Weight-Related Citations 
3,014

Weight-Related Warnings
1,912

Size-Related Citations
111

Size-Related Warnings
56

Trucks Required to 
“Legalize” (Correct) Size 

and/or Weight
785

Other Citations
849

Other Warnings
1,948

Citations for Operating
Without Oregon Weight 
Receipt & Tax Identifier

1,349

Warnings for Operating 
Without Oregon Weight 
Receipt & Tax Identifier

1,620

Totals do not include 
enforcement actions by 
Oregon State Police or city 
and county officers.

Home Care Moving  6
JJ&C Movers LLC  1
Jet Delivery Systems, Inc.  6
Jimmy B’s Delivery Service  1
Knight Transportation, Inc.  1
Kyle McGranahan  1 
     (farm-related)	
Mountain Mike’s Moving, Inc.  3
John Riley  1 (farm-related)	
Swift Transportation Co., Inc.  2
Robert Vachon  3
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