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Information access on th&\orld Wide Web

Motor Carrier Branch takes its place in cyberspace

The vision of a paperless office —and electronically send them to a about registration fees, weight-

a place where people conduct

Port-of-Entry, field office, or

mile tax tables, and over-dimen-

business via a network of comput-Salem Headquarters. Paying fees sion weight permits. Carriers can
ers without touching a single

into focus now that the Motor
Carrier Transportation Branch

(MCTB) has established a pres-

ence in cyberspace. MCTB

launched a Home

and taxes will be done just as
piece of paper — is coming more easily through electronic funds

access federal safety regulations
related to vehicles, drivers, and

transfers. This may all be accom- hazardous materials, as well as

plished with computer systems
based on the World Wide Web
and connected through the

every Oregon law and administra-
tive rule. There is information

about the location of each field

office and Port-

Page on the World| OREGON DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION of-Entry in
Wide Web in alfifas Notor Carrier Iransportation s Oregon, and
February and ' 3 there is an

records show “net
surfers” visited it
more than 1,000
times in the first

electronic mail

link to each Port
manager. There
are PowerPoint

. REGISTRATION _
two months. slide presenta-
tions about
MCTB Manager special projects
Gregg Dal Ponte underway at

sees web sites as
an invaluable

ITS/GVO
SPECIAL PROJECTS

MCTB and links

able to many other
communication web sites of
tOQI. “The WOI’Id Reach the MCTB Home Page on the World Wide Web by going to the mter_est to
Wide Web is Oregon Department of Transportation web site at www.odot.state.or.us carriers.
among the most where the Motor Carrier Transportation Branch is one of many links.
rapidly adopted Comments about

dnternet. the MCTB web site should be

technological advancements of th
century, “Dal Ponte said. “It's an _ directed to Gregg Dal Ponte, Web
incredible medium we can use to 'oday atthe MCTB web site, Site Administrator Linda Morgan,
efficiently deliver information and Carriers can access more thana o g jitor Jim Brock. Go to the

it has the potential to help us dozen application and registration «ye|come” page for email links
automate our processes.” forms. They still have to printthe 1, seng 3 message to them. The
forms and send them via “snail  pitorm Resource Locator (URL)
mail” (U.S. Postal Service), but ¢, ihe web site is

they can save time getting the vy odot.state.or.us/motcarr/
forms and getting started. hweb/index1.htm

The web site has information

Dal Ponte is convinced that
someday soon carriers will simply
complete forms on computer
screens at home or in their office




Hours-of-service limits increase for intrastate drivers

The Transportation Commission
of the Oregon Department of
Transportation has approved
changes in hours-of-service rules
to allow Oregon intrastate truck-
ers to drive up to 12 hours in the
first 16 hours on-duty. Under the
new rules, truckers cannot drive
after accumulating 70 hours on-
duty in any seven consecutive
days or 80 hours on-duty in any
eight consecutive days. The new
rules only apply to carriers
hauling shipments from point-to-
point within Oregon. They do not,
however, apply to carriers trans-
porting hazardous materials.

The Transportation Commission

ported adopting changes to
Oregon Administrative Rules

740-100-0010 and 740-100-0060.

Oregon’s hours-of-service rules
do not apply to carriers with an

miles of origin, and those hauling
construction materials and equip-
ment within 50 air miles of an
active construction site. Oregon
also adopted federal exceptions
for public utility service providers

unsatisfactory safety rating. Thoseand ground water well drilling

carriers are restricted to federal
rules governing interstate drivers,
which allow only 10 hours driving
following 8 consecutive hours off,
no driving after 15 hours on-duty
following 8 consecutive hours off,
and no driving after 70 hours on-
duty in 7 consecutive days or 80
hours in 8 consecutive days.

Other changes to Oregon'’s rules
governing intrastate drivers

operations.

The Oregon Trucking Associa-
tions is scheduling several infor-
mational workshops this summer
to discuss the new hours-of-
service rules, recordkeeping
requirements, and enforcement.
Motor Carrier Transportation
Branch staff will attend these
meetings.

approved the changes at its May 8included adopting federal hours-
public meeting held in White of-service exceptions for carriers
City. They accepted the recom- hauling agricultural commodities
mendation of an Administrative  and farm supplies within 100 air
Law Judge that presided over a

rulemaking proceeding initiated ) ) ) )
by the Motor Carrier Transporta- OUt-0f-Service violators face stiff penalties

tion Branch (MCTB) at the

request of the trucking industry.  Truckers know they’re having a bad day when inspectors discover
The rulemaking was the subject of critical safety problems and place a vehicle or driver out-of-service.
a public hearing March 17 in
Salem. More than 50 people
testified at that hearing.

Carriers with questions about the
new hours-of-service rules should
contact MCTB at (503)-373-0884
or (503)-378-2987.

The Oregon Department of Transportation wants to remind truckers that
they’ll only make a bad day worse if they violate an out-of-service
notice.

In making his decision, the Law
Judge weighed three factors —
fatigue-related accidents, eco-
nomic factors, and quality of life
for truck drivers — and, based on
all the evidence presented,
concluded that the record sup-

In recent multi-agency operations involving the Motor Carrier Trans-
portation Branch, Oregon State Police, and Multnomah County Sheriffs,
eight truck drivers were caught removing out-of-service stickers from
their vehicles and driving away before all the out-of-service problems
were corrected. Besides receiving a citation for the Class A misde-
meanor, six of the drivers were arrested and spent the night in a local
jail. They now face a civil penalty of up to $2,000 plus suspension of
their Commercial Drivers License (CDL) privileges for 90 days. If they
violate another out-of-service notice in the future they will be fined
again and their CDL can be suspended for up to five years.

A Publication of the
Oregon Department of Transportation
Motor Carrier Transportation Branch
550 Capitol Street NE

Salem OR 97310-1380 In addition to stiff penalties faced by truck drivers for violating an out-

of-service notice, a number of motor carrier employers have received
civil penalties of $10,000 for knowingly permitting or requiring a driver
to violate an out-of-service notice.

Gregg Dal Ponte, Manager
Jim Brock, Motor Carrier News Editor
(503) 373-1578




Many use incorrect  “Guardian” to check safety on Hwy. 38

road-use tax rates
The Oregon Department of Transportation is teaming with State and

Motor Carrier Transportation local law enforcement, emergency response teams, and the commercial
Branch staff are carefully check- trucking industry in an effort to save lives and promote safety on

ing weight-mile tax reports after Highway 38 in Southern Oregon.

finding hundreds of carriers used _ ) ] ) o )
incorrect rates and paid too much The “Guardian Project,” which will be officially launched sometime

road-use tax. MCTB staff started thiS summer, seeks to raise safety awareness along the route from Drain

noticing the rate errors more than 0 Reedsport.

a year ago and since then they _ . . , _
have processed more than 2,000 Highway 38 has been plagued by numerous accidents involving fatali-

amended reports and credited €S and injuries. From November 12, 1995 to January 20, 1997, a total

carriers for more than $600,000 in©f 17 people lost their lives in car crashes. Most of those fatalities

overpayments. Weight-mile taxes occurred on the stretch of road between Scottsburg and Elkton.

last changed January 1, 1996, _ o _ _

when they dropped by six percent.The Guardian Project is a collaborative effort to find ways to make
Highway 38 safe. ODOT’s Transportation Safety Section came up with

“Carriers should check that the idea of a special project because the highway does not qualify for
they’re not still paying at the designation as a Safety Corridor.

higher rate,” MCTB Motor _ . ) _

Carrier Services Manager Ric In meetings held earlier this year, representatives from ODOT, law

Listella said. “If you're unsure enforcement, emergency response teams, and the trucking industry
whether you have the correct tax identified a long list of reasons there have been so many accidents on
tables, you should call our Tax  the route, including speed, alcohol, driver fatigue, impatience, road
Help staff at 503-378-6220.” surface, narrow bridges, animals, and lack of enforcement.

Oregon’s road-use tax is based on! N€ Guardian Project will consider several safety enhancements for the
vehicle registered weight. The ~ foute, including installing radar reader boards to slow speeders, distrib-
lightest trucks, those weighing ~ Uting & complaint form citizen’s can file when they observe dangerous
from 26,001 to 28,000 Ibs., pay ~ driving, establishing a toll-free number motorists can call to report

4.15 cents per mile. An 80,000 Ib. Problems, encouraging use of the existing Truck Safety Hotline (1-800-
truck pays 13.65 cents per mile. 248-6782), and distributing a phone number for the Oregon State

Trucks heavier than 80,000 lbs.  Police.
pay a rate that varies with the
number of axles.

Plate fees increase

Beginning May 1, 1997, heavy
vehicle trailer plate fees increased
50 cents to $2 for a single plate
and $3 for a pair of plates.

Earlier this year the plate manu-
facturer notified ODOT of price
increases for colored material and
aluminum used in the plates. By
law, ODOT charges a fee based
on the actual cost to manufacture
each plate.
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During the first quarter,
January through March
1997, a total of 11 safety
complaints, and 27 non-
safety complaints, were
finalized. A number of
other complaints were
still pending at the end
of the first quarter and
will be finalized in the
second quarter.

**  Denotes second complaint
within five years.

*** Denotes third complaint
within one year of second.

Safety Violations

The following were subject to
complaints for violations
discovered during safety
compliance reviews at carriers’
terminals.

Boshart Trucking, Inc. 35
C E Chuck Wallace 7
MJM & Associates, Inc.
Pioneer Paving, Inc.** 7
Q Bar X Ranch 12
R & R Gilliland Trucking 23
Schubert & Sons
Ready-Mix, L.L.C. 32
Walter A. Streich 11
Tolo Forest Products, Inc. 13
United Foods, Inc. 103
Len Wrobel Construction
Contractor 32

13

Non-Safety Violations

The following were subject to
complaints for failure to provide
a vehicle for preoperational
safety inspection (¢), failure to
produce records (¢¢), operating
without valid registration,
permit, plates and passes, or
operating a vehicle without
proper external identification.

Kevin Bumgarner
Trucking** 2

Cameron Ashley
Bldg. Products 8

Ronald Carte 23

Tony Colmenero 10

Bradley Courtright ee

Discount Delivery &
Moving 3

GH Ranch 4

Jose Galan 1

10

Jose Gamino 1
Gutierez, Inc. 5
Donald F. Hollinger «
JL Trucking -
L Don Corp 4
Midwest Rapid
Transportation, Inc. 6
Pacific Western
Transportation, Inc. 13
Patton Transportation, Inc. 1
Renegade Trucking 21
Antonio Reyes 1
Roto Rooter Service &
Plumbing 18
James E. Smith Trucking** 30
Robert Jean Smith 1
Tapani Underground, Inc. 2
Thompson Bros., Inc. 14
VJK, Inc. 12
Jose Villarreal 1
White’'s Hauling & Farm 18
Willapa Trading
Company, Inc. 1
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