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his publication is a basic guide to farm
trucking in Oregon. But it cannot contain
everything a farmer needs to know.

Farmers with questions about regulations should
contact their association representatives or the
Oregon Department of Transportation at the
numbers listed here.

Oregon Department of Transportation
Motor Carrier Transportation Division
550 Capitol Street NE
Salem OR 97301-2530
503-378-2399
Farm Desk: 503-378-5203
www.oregon.gov/ODOT/MCT

Also, see pages 32 and 33 for a list of Motor
Carrier Division staff located throughout Oregon.

Oregon Farm Bureau
3415 Commercial Street SE
Salem OR 97302
503-399-1701
www.oregonfb.org

Oregon Wheat Growers League
115 SE 8th
Pendleton OR 97801
541-276-7330

www.owql.org

Oregon Association of Nurseries
29751 SW Town Center Loop West
Wilsonville OR 97070
800-342-6401 or 503-682-5089

Www.0an.org
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What's New?

In 2003 and 2007, Oregon legislators passed laws
clarifying that state motor carrier exemptions do
not exempt anyone from federal safety regulations
when operating in interstate or foreign commerce.
The clarification was necessary so Oregon could
meet guidelines for receiving about $2.4 million
per year in federal grant funds for its Motor Carrier
Safety Assistance Program.

What the legislation does:

The legislation clarifies that Oregon farm trucks
are subject to motor carrier safety regulation,
including truck inspection, if they’re operating in
interstate commerce. This makes Oregon
consistent with every other state in the country.

Farm trucks are always subject to safety
regulation when pulling triple trailers, when hauling
over 80,000 pounds, and when they have four
axles or more and they’re hauling for-hire.
Additionally, trucks are subject to hazardous
material regulations if they're hauling enough
hazardous materials to require

placards, regardless of
whether they're
operating in interstate
or intrastate
commerce.

What the legislation does not do:
The legislation did not take away the
Oregon F-plate for farm trucks.

Farm trucks operating in intrastate commerce are
still exempt from safety regulations, except as
noted above.
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Benefits of Oregon Farm Registration

» Lower truck registration fees.
Some farm vehicles pay up to $285 less than
non-farm vehicles. Savings vary based on
weight. A 26,000 Ib. truck pays $285 less. An
80,000 Ib. truck pays $200 less.

» Exempt from paying Oregon weight-mile tax.

» Exempt from motor carrier insurance
requirements. Farm vehicles must comply with
DMV insurance requirements.

» Exempt from motor carrier safety
requirements when operating in intrastate
commerce (except large vehicles or vehicles
hauling for-hire — see page 4).

* Exempt from Oregon DEQ pollution control
eguipment and emissions testing.

* Lower fee for participation in Oregon’s
International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA).

» Farm plates help identify vehicles that can
be operated with a regular driver license
with a “Farm Endorsement”. A farm plate

is not required to be eligible to use the

“farm endorsement.”
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Permitted Uses of Farm-Plated Trucks

Oregon law allows farm-registered trucks to be
used in the following ways:

 Hauling the farmer’s own agricultural
commodities, products, or livestock that were
originally grown or raised by the farmer on his or
her own farm, ranch, or orchard. This includes
products or byproducts of commaodities or
livestock that were packed, processed, or
manufactured by the farm, or for the farm, if the
farmer retains ownership of the products. This
does not include products that have been
transformed into a finished state.

 Hauling things that are incidental to the regular
operation of the farmer’s farm.

» Hauling supplies, equipment, or materials that
will be consumed or used on the farmer’s farm.

 Hauling products, supplies, equipment, or
materials for another qualifying farmer on a
bonafide, documented exchange of labor basis if
what's hauled will be used or consumed on that
farmer’s farm.

* Personal use by the farmer, any member of his
or her immediate family, or any person employed
by the farmer. “Personal use” includes such things
as taking the boat to the lake, hauling the camper,
and going to the movies or the grocery store.

» Farm trucks may be rented or borrowed by a
farmer to haul his or her own agricultural
commodities, products, or livestock that were
originally grown or raised on his or her farm,
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but only if that farmer could qualify for farm
registration for trucks of the type and size rented
or borrowed.

* The trucks may be used to transport straw,
whether or not the straw was grown on the
farmer’s own farm, if the farmer hauling the straw
is the one who bales it. “Straw” is defined as the
stalk of grass or grain left after threshing.

» Hauling forest products to his or her farm, or
hauling forest materials originating on a farm or as
an incident to the regular operation of the farm.

But the truck cannot be used to haul: Piling or
poles over 30" around at the large end; Logs over
8' 6" long. A farm-plated truck with a loaded weight
of 16,000 Ibs. or less may, however, transport logs
over 8' 6" if they’re not over 16' 6" long.

Truck Plate Requirements

Trucks that don'’t © OREGON °

have a farm plate
s, 17000000
Oregon T-plate if

they operate with a
combined weight
over 10,000 Ibs. and truck tractors will need one if
they operate with a combined weight over 8,000
Ibs. (ORS 803.430(3)(a)(b)). “Combined weight”
means the total empty weight of all vehicles in a
combination plus the total weight of the load
carried on that combination of vehicles (ORS
801.199). Trucks over 26,000 Ibs. are subject to
weight-mile tax and need an Oregon Commercial
or Apportioned plate rather than a T-plate.

7
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For-Hire Hauling

A trucker is considered to be “for-hire” if he holds
himself out to provide transportation service to the
public for compensation.

A farmer may use his farm-registered truck to haul
products, supplies, equipment, or materials for
another qualifying farmer on a bonafide,
documented exchange of labor basis if what is
hauled will be used or consumed on that farmer’s
farm.

In other situations, a farmer with a farm-registered
truck who wants to haul for-hire must obtain a
Class 1A Permit from the ODOT Motor Carrier
Transportation Division. The permit authorizes
occasional use of the vehicle to haul for-hire from
point to point within Oregon. It does not, however,
authorize hauling household goods or passengers
and it does not authorize hauling for-hire
interstate. There is a one-time $300 filing fee for
the Class 1A permit.

Farmers who want to haul for-hire within Oregon
also need to obtain a paper credential called an
Oregon Weight Receipt and Tax Identifier so they
can conduct both farm and for-hire operations.
The haul-for-hire operations are subject to motor
carrier regulations, including requirements related
to weight-mile tax, bond, insurance, safety, and
record keeping. Farmers must keep records
showing the miles a vehicle was used to haul for-
hire and the miles the vehicle was used in exempt
farm operations.

Questions? Contact the ODOT Motor Carrier
Transportation Division at 503-378-5203.
8
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Intrastate vs. Interstate Commerce

More farmers are asking whether they’re operating
in intrastate or interstate commerce because now
it can make the difference between whether or not
they’re subject to safety regulations.

Hauling products across state lines is interstate
commerce.

Hauling products from point to point within a state
is sometimes intrastate commerce.

But sometimes farmers hauling products from
point to point within a state are operating in
interstate commerce.

It's usually interstate commerce when, for
example, a wheat farmer hauls grain from an
Oregon field to an Oregon elevator. After the
elevator buys the grain it may ship some to Idaho
feedlots, some to a local flour mill, and some to a
facility for international shipment. Just because a
shipment stops and changes hands at a middle
point like the storage elevator, it doesn’t
necessarily break the transportation into two
separate parts. The trip from the field to the
elevator and the later delivery to various
customers can both be trips in interstate
commerce. Also, when wheat is commingled and
there’s no way to know which grain went where,
it's more likely to be interstate commerce.

If, on the other hand, the wheat is taken direct
from an Oregon field to an Oregon flour mill and
turned into flour, that is intrastate commerce. The
product is substantially changed and made into
something else before the next shipment.

9
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Farm Truck Safety Checklist

There’s no requirement that every farm truck
must be checked by a safety inspector or have
a special inspection decal. But any truck that
operates in interstate commerce must be
checked by a qualified person at least once

a year and a copy of that checkup must be kept
for 14 months. The truck also needs to be ready
to pass a safety inspection.

Knowledgeable farmers can do their own annual
safety check of their trucks. But what should
farmers do to be ready for a safety inspection?
Here’s a checklist of the basic requirements in
federal safety regulations:

M General Applicability

Safety regulations apply to trucks operating in
interstate commerce when (1) they have a gross
vehicle weight rating (GVWR) or combination
weight rating (GCWR) of 10,001 pounds or more,
or (2) actual weight of 10,001 pounds or more, or
(3) they're transporting hazardous materials in a
guantity requiring placards.

The regulations also apply to trucks operating in
Oregon intrastate commerce when pulling triple
trailers, when over 80,000 pounds, when hauling
hazardous materials in a quantity requiring
placards, and when they have four axles or more
and they’re hauling for hire.

Questions? Call the U.S. DOT, Federal Motor

Carrier Safety Administration, Oregon Division —

503-399-5775 — or the Oregon DOT, Motor

Carrier Transportation Division — 503-378-6963.
10
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M Parts & Accessories
Check all of the following:

 Headlights and stop lights work.

* Trailer has reflective sheeting or reflectors that
makes them more visible at night.

* Truck has service brake and parking brake.

* Brakes on all wheels.

* Trucks towing a trailer have breakaway and
emergency brakes.

* Brake tubing and hoses okay.

* Brake warning system that tells driver of
problems with hydraulic brakes, air brakes, or
vacuum brakes.

» Windshield isn’t discolored or cracked in area
from top of steering wheel to within two inches of
windshield top.

* No fuel system part is wider than the widest part
of the truck or forward of the front axle. Fuel lines
don’t extend between the truck and trailer.
 Coupling devices and fifth wheel assemblies
securely attached and safe.

* Cargo loaded and secured so it will not shift or
fall off.

* Tires in good shape, including 4/32 inch or more
tread on front tires and 2/32 inch on other tires.

» Wheels in good shape (no cracks or loose
fasteners).

» Exhaust system securely fastened and not
located below fuel tank or tank filler pipe or located
where it could burn or damage wiring, fuel supply,
or anything combustible. Also, no temporary
repairs or patches and not leaking at a point near
the driver.

» Bumper or other device to prevent under ride if
another vehicle strikes the rear end. (Tractors,

11
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pole trailers, and driveaway-towaway vehicles are
exempt.)

 Equipped with functional seat belts (applies to
post-1965 trucks).

» Emergency equipment includes fire extinguisher,
spare fuses, stopped vehicle warning devices.

* Truck fire extinguisher has a rating of at least

UL 5 B:C, or 10 B:C if transporting hazardous
materials.

* Frames and suspension systems (axles,
adjustable axles, leaf and coil springs, torsion
bars, air suspensions) are structurally sound and
in safe working order. No cracked or broken frame
members.

* Steering system (steering wheel, steering
column, gear box, ball joints) must be in proper
working order.

M Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance

» Keep inspection, repair, and maintenance
records for each vehicle for one year.

* Drivers prepare and sign a daily post-trip
inspection report that at least remarks about
service brakes (including trailer brake
connections), parking brake, steering, lights, tires,
horn, windshield wipers, rearview mirrors,
coupling devices, wheels and rims, and
emergency equipment. Keep driver reports at
least three months. (Doesn’t apply to one-truck
operators.)

» Have truck inspected by a knowledgeable,
gualified person at least once a year and keep a
copy of that inspection report for 14 months.
(Inspector can be company employee.)

12
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M Driver Qualifications

* Driver is 21 years old if involved in interstate
commerce, 18 if intrastate, able to read / speak
English, able to safely operate the type of vehicle
being driven, is physically qualified, has provided a
list of all traffic violations, has passed a road test,
and is not considered disqualified from operating a
commercial motor vehicle.

NOTE: All drivers need a current, appropriate
operator’s license. Driver qualifications do not
apply to solo farm truck drivers within 150 air-
miles of the farm. Drivers of articulated trucks
must be able to speak /read English, safely
operate the type of vehicle being driven, be
medically qualified, and not be disqualified from
operating a commercial motor vehicle.

M CDL Requirements

* Driver needs a Commercial Driver License when
operating a farm truck in interstate commerce
when (1) it has a GCWR of 26,001 pounds or
more, inclusive of a towed unit with a GVWR of
10,001 pounds or more, or (2) a GVWR of 26,001
pounds or more, or (3) it's transporting hazardous
materials in a quantity requiring placards.

NOTE: When hauling for the farm, a driver of a
farm-registered truck over 26,000 lbs. GVWR
doesn’t need a CDL if he or she has a Farm
Endorsement on a Class C Driver License and
operates within 150-miles of the boundary of the
farm, including distance into Washington, Idaho,
California, or Nevada. Triple trailer operations do
require a CDL, however.

13
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M Drug and Alcohol Testing

* Drivers required to have a CDL are subject to:
(1) pre-employment test
(2) post-accident test
(3) random tests
(4) reasonable suspicion tests
(5) return-to-duty and follow-up tests

» Keep records related to testing.

« Establish a policy regarding alcohol misuse and
controlled substance abuse and provide drivers
with related educational materials.

Testing requirements don’t apply to drivers who
are not required to have a CDL for the type of
vehicle they're operating. For example, if a driver
does not need a CDL but chooses to have one,
he or she does not have to meet the
requirements. Also, a farmer with a farm
endorsement operating a vehicle within 150 miles
of the farm is not required to have a CDL and not
required to meet the requirements.

14
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Interstate Driver
Hours of Service Rules

» No more than 11 hours driving

following 10 hours off duty.

* No driving after 14 hours after coming on duty
following 10 hours off duty.

* No driving after 60 hours on duty

in 7 consecutive days.

* No driving after 70 hours on duty

in 8 consecutive days.

» A 7- or 8-consecutive day period

may restart after 34 hours off duty.

» Keep log book records for six months.

Driving time limits don’t apply to farm truck drivers
hauling agricultural commodities or farm supplies
within a 100 air mile radius from the source of the
commodities, or the distribution point for the farm
supplies, when done during planting and
harvesting seasons within the state.

Under Oregon administrative rules, carriers
operating in intrastate commerce and transporting
passengers or property other than hazardous
materials can follow these limits:

* Drivers may not exceed 12 hours driving
after 10 consecutive hours off duty.

* Drivers may not drive beyond the 16th hour
after coming on duty following 10 consecutive
hours off duty.

* Drivers may not drive following 70 hours

on duty in any 7 consecutive days.

» Drivers may not drive following 80 hours

on duty in any 8 consecutive days.

15
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Other Requirements

M Vehicle Identification

Trucks should be marked on both sides with the
company’s hame or trade name and U.S. DOT
number. Letters and numbers must contrast
sharply with background colors and be large
enough to be seen
from a distance

of 50 feet during
daylight hours
when the truck

is stationary.

N U8, DOT # [

g

Farmers who operate solely intrastate and
don’t haul hazardous materials may be exempt
from these marking requirements.

Get a U.S. DOT number from the Federal Motor
Carrier Safety Administration by completing

an MCS-150 Registration Form. This form is also
used to update information every two years.
Register online at the following Internet address:

MCS-150 Registration / U.S. DOT Number
https://li-public.fmcsa.dot.gov/LIVIEW/PKG_Registration.prc_option

16
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M Accident Reporting

Report to DMV any accident involving a fatality,
injury, or damage exceeding $1,500. Also, report
to the ODOT Crash Analysis and Reporting Unit
any accident involving a fatality, injury, or disabling
damage requiring that a vehicle be towed away.

The Oregon Traffic Accident and Insurance
Report includes a Motor Carrier Crash Report
Form, on pages 6 and 7, that must be filed with
the Crash Analysis and Reporting Unit of ODOT's
Transportation Development Division.

Oregon Traffic Accident and Insurance Report
http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/32.pdf

Motor carriers can use an Online Crash Report
Form to submit the report electronically.

Online Crash Report Form
http://www?2.odot.state.or.us/mcad/pubmetaentry/

Maintain an accident register, including copies of
accident reports, for three years after an accident.

M Insurance

Have at least the minimum amount of liability
insurance required by DMV. Trucks transporting
hazardous materials may need insurance
coverage between $1 million and $5 million.

17
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Trailer Markings

Trailers and the rear of truck tractors need to be
marked with red and white reflective material to
make them visible to other drivers at night.

Since 1993, manufacturers have been outlining
trailers with red and white reflective tape or hard
plastic reflector strips. In 1999, the Federal Motor
Carrier Safety Administration ordered all older
trailers to be retrofitted to the new standards. But
old trailers that were already marked with colors
other than red and white were given until June
2009 to get refitted with red and white material.

The requirements apply to all trailers and semi-
trailers with an overall width of 80 inches and a
gross vehicle weight rating of 10,001 pounds or
more. The only exceptions are pole trailers,
trailers transported in a driveaway-towaway
operation (when the trailer itself is the cargo or is
being towed for repair), and trailers used only as
offices or dwellings.

The federal regulations are in Part 393.13:
www.fmesa.dot.gov/rulesregs/fmesr/regs/393.13.htm

18
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Rear Impact Guard / Rear-End Protection

Trailers and semitrailers need to have a rear
impact guard to protect against vehicles going
under the trailer in a collision. For trailers
manufactured after January 26, 1998, the rear
impact guard must be within 12 inches of the rear
end of the vehicle, no more than 22 inches from
the ground, and extending to within 4 inches of the
sides. All other vehicles, including trucks, can
have a rear impact guard that is within 24 inches
of the rear of the vehicle, no more than 30 inches
from the ground, and extending to within 18 inches
of the sides.
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The requirements apply to all vehicles with a
gross vehicle weight rating of 10,000 pounds or
more, except pole and pulpwood trailers, special
purpose vehicles, and certain temporary living
guarters. The regulations are in Part 393.86.
www.fmcsa.dot.gov/rulesregs/fmcsr/regs/393.86.htm
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Farm trucks 10,000 Ibs. or less
GVWR or actual weight,

whichever is greater

Applicability of safety regulations
when operating in interstate commerce

Private For-Hire | Hazardous
Materials

Drug NO NO NO,
Testing with farm
Part 382 endorsement
CDL — NO NO NO,
Commercial with farm
Driver License endorsement
Part 383
Insurance MeetDMV | Meet DMV YES,*
Part 387 requirement | requirement | $5 Million
Driver NO NO NO
Qualifications
Part 391
Driver Hours | NO NO NO
of Service
Part 395
Maintenance | NO NO NO

Part 396

20
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Excerpts from two safety regulations:
* Part 387 — Minimum Levels of

Financial Responsibility for Motor Carriers
www.fmcsa.dot.gov/rulesregs/fmcsr/regs/387.htm

* 8387.3 Applicability. (Insurance)

(a) This subpart applies to for hire motor carriers operat-
ing motor vehicles transporting property in interstate or
foreign commerce.

(b) This subpart applies to motor carriers operating
motor vehicles transporting hazardous materials,
hazardous substances, or hazardous wastes in inter-
state, foreign, or intrastate commerce.

(c) Exception. (1) The rules in this part do not apply to
a motor vehicle that has a gross vehicle weight rating
(GVWR) of less than 10,000 pounds. This exception
does not apply if the vehicle is used to transport
any quantity of a Division 1.1, 1.2, or 1.3 (explo-
sives) material, any quantity of a Division 2.3
(poisons), Hazard Zone A, or Division 6.1 (poisons,
inhalation hazards), Packing Group |, Hazard Zone
A, or to a highway route controlled quantity of a
Class 7 (radioactive material) material as it is
defined in 49 CFR 173.403, in interstate or foreign
commerce.

** Part 395 — Hours of Service of Drivers
www.fmcsa.dot.gov/rulesregs/fmcsr/regs/395.htm

** §395.1 Scope of rules in this part.

(k) Agricultural operations. The provisions of §395.3
shall not apply to drivers transporting agricultural
commodities or farm supplies for agricultural
purposes in a State if such transportation:

(k)(1) Is limited to an area within a 100 air mile radius
from the source of the commaodities or the distribution
point for the farm supplies, and

(k)(2) Is conducted during the planting and harvesting
seasons within such State, as determined by the State.

21
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Farm trucks 10,001 Ibs. and
up to 26,000 Ibs. GVWR

Applicability of safety regulations
when operating in interstate commerce

Private For-Hire | Placarded
Hazardous
Materials
(Private)
Drug NO NO NO,
Testing with farm
Part 382 endorsement
CDL — NO NO NO,
Commercial with farm
Driver License endorsement
Part 383
Insurance MeetDMV | YES, YES*
Part 387 requirement | $750,000 Any - $1 Million
Bulk - $5 Million
Driver Limited YES Limited
Qualifications | Exemption Exemption
Part 391 (see pg. 13) (see pg. 13)
Driver Hours | NO, within | NO, within | NO, within
of Service ** | 100 air miles| 100 air miles| 100 air miles
Part 395 of farm of farm of farm
Maintenance | YES YES YES

Part 396
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Farm trucks 26,001 Ibs. or more GVWR

Applicability of safety regulations
when operating in interstate commerce

Private For-Hire | Placarded
Hazardous
Materials
(Private)
Drug NO, YES NO,
Testing if CDL not with farm
Part 382 required endorsement
CDL — NO, YES NO,
Commercial with farm with farm
Driver License| endorsement endorsement
Part 383
Insurance MeetDMV | YES, YES,*
Part 387 requirement | $750,000 Any - $1 Million
Bulk - $5 Million
Driver Limited YES Limited
Qualifications | Exemption Exemption
Part 391 (see pg. 13) (see pg. 13)
Driver Hours | NO, within | NO, within [ NO, within
of Service ** | 100 air miles | 100 air miles| 100 air miles
Part 395 of farm of farm of farm
Maintenance | YES YES YES

Part 396
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Summary of Oregon Law Regarding
Farm Endorsements on Driver Licenses

Most drivers of farm vehicles are not required to
have a commercial driver license (CDL) if they
have a farm endorsement on their regular driver’s
license.

To qualify for a farm endorsement the driver must:
* Be at least 16 years of age

» Meet the qualifications for or have a non-
commercial Class C (or higher) driver license

» Complete a Farm Endorsement Application

» Have a good driving record, as defined in
Oregon Administrative Rules 735-062-0085

 Pay appropriate fees

* Provide Proof of Identification

Drivers with a farm endorsement can drive large
farm trucks under certain conditions, including:

* The vehicle must be controlled or operated

by a farmer

* It must be transporting agricultural products,
farm machinery, or farm supplies to and

from a farm

* It must be operated within 150 miles of the
farmer’s farm

* It cannot be used in for-hire operations

A driver with a farm endorsement may operate a
vehicle transporting hazardous materials if the
vehicle is placarded in accordance with the law.

A CDL is always required to operate a triple trailer
combination vehicle.

24
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Operating Farm Trucks
Under Lease Agreements

Farmers may lease trucks for their farming
operation, but only as many as are reasonably
required to support operations.

When an Oregon farmer leases a truck for his
farming operation, or an out-of-state farmer leases
a truck for his farm-related operations in Oregon,
the farmer must carry in that truck a signed copy
of the leased vehicle letter that is obtained from
the Oregon Farm Desk and a copy of the Lease /
Rental Agreement that contains the starting and
ending date and the terms of the rental basis
(daily, weekly, monthly, annually).

A farm certification or farm verification does not
exempt a farmer from Oregon use fuel tax law.
For further information about the law, call the
ODOT Fuels Tax Group at 503-378-8150 or visit
their Web site: www.odot.state.or.us/fsbpublic/ftg/

Other questions? Contact the ODOT Motor
Carrier Transportation Division, Farm Certification
Unit— 503-378-5203.

25
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Farm Operations in
Oregon’s Neighboring States

REGISTRATION

Washington has an agreement with Oregon to
waive its registration requirements for farm-plated
trucks operating within 50 miles of the border.
Oregon farmers can haul products from point of
production to market or warehouse in that state.
They can also haul commodities, supplies, or
equipment for their farm or ranch. But if they go
beyond 50 miles of the border, farmers must meet
state registration requirements.

Oregon has other farm-related agreements with
Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Missouri, North Carolina,
Nebraska, Nevada, Virginia, West Virginia,
Wyoming, Nova Scotia, and Saskatchewan. It
does not have an agreement with California. For
more information about reciprocity agreements,
contact the Oregon Farm Desk at 503-378-5203.

FUEL TAX

Oregon farmers may operate in neighboring
states if they pay each state’s diesel fuel tax.
Oregon farmers either need to participate in the
International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) or geta
temporary fuel tax trip permit before going to
California, Nevada, or Washington. Those states
don’t allow truckers to stop at the nearest truck
stop or Port of Entry to get a permit. Idaho is the
only neighbor state that allows farmers who don’t
participate in IFTA to obtain a fuel tax trip permit at
their first stop in the state.

Under IFTA, an Oregon farmer pays an annual

license fee to operate in any state or Canada.

(If more than half of an Oregon farmer’s IFTA-
26
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qualified vehicles are farm-registered vehicles, the
fee is $50.) The farmer then files quarterly reports
with the ODOT Motor Carrier Transportation
Division showing the miles traveled and fuel taxes
owed. Oregon collects the fuel tax and distributes
it on behalf of the farmer. Call the Motor Carrier
Division at 503-373-1634 for more information.

CALIFORNIA FUEL TAX PERMITS

Temporary permits can be obtained at two
Medford truck stops on I-5 — the Petro Truck Stop
at 541-535-3372, and Withams Truck Stop at
541-779-0792 — and at the Worden Truck Stop on
US97 at 541-882-3023. Truckers can also call the
Board of Equalization, Fuels Tax Division, in
Sacramento at 916-322-9669.

NEVADA FUEL TAX PERMITS

Temporary permits can be obtained from
Transceiver at 800-749-6058, The Permit Co.

at 800-331-0418, or AKD Mid-Cow Permit Co. at
800-257-4568. Call the Nevada DMV Motor Carrier
Bureau at 775-684-4711 for more information.

WASHINGTON FUEL TAX PERMITS
Temporary permits can be obtained from several
permit agents, but the Washington Truckers
Association is the only one through which a
person can call, pay by credit card, and have a
permit faxed back. Call the Washington Truckers
Association at 800-732-9019 or 253-838-1650.

IDAHO FUEL TAX PERMITS

Temporary permits can be obtained at the first
Idaho truck stop or Port of Entry, or by calling the
East Boise Port of Entry at 208-334-3272.
Farmers registered with Idaho can use the Internet
for online service: http://trucking.idaho.gov/
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Types of Truck Safety Inspections
Conducted Throughout North America

LEVEL 1 — A complete inspection that includes a
check of the driver’s license, medical examiner’s
certificate (and waiver, if any), alcohol and drugs,
hours of service, seat belt, annual vehicle
inspection report, brake system, coupling devices,
exhaust system, frame, fuel system, turn signals,
brake and tail lamps, headlamps, lamps on loads,
load securement, steering, suspension, tires, van
and open-top trailer bodies, wheels and rims,
windshield wipers, emergency exits on buses and
hazardous materials requirements, as applicable.

LEVEL 2 — A“walk-around” inspection that
includes a check of each of the items in a Level 1
inspection, but not items that require the inspector
to physically get under the truck.

LEVEL 3 — An inspection of just the driver-related
items in a Level 1 inspection.

LEVEL 4 — A special inspection, typically a one-
time examination of a particular item for a safety
study or to verify or refute a suspected trend.

LEVEL 5 — An inspection of just the truck-related
items in a Level 1 inspection.

LEVEL 6 — An inspection of a shipment of
highway-route-controlled quantities of radioactive
material. A Level 6 inspection includes an
enhanced check of each of the items in a Level 1
inspection.
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Level 2 “Walk Around” Checklist

Identify company name and check for
a U.S. DOT number.

Review driver documents and check for
appropriate driver license.

If hauling hazardous materials, check shipping
paper, package labels, and placarding.

Inspect front of truck. Check lights, windshield,
wipers, horn, wheels, and tires.

Inspect left side of truck. Check fuel tanks,

air and electrical lines, wheels and tires,
exhaust system, coupling device, side lamps,
and condition of vehicle and trailer body. Check
tractors and trailers for required reflective tape.

Inspect rear of truck. Check lights, rear
bumper, wheels and tires, reflective tape.

Inspect right side of truck. Inspect as
described in #5.

Check for proper cargo securement. Check for
unsecured dunnage, tools, and spare tire.

Inspect inside truck. Check for low air brake

warning device. Check same for vacuum and
hydraulic brakes. Check fire extinguisher and
reflective triangles.

1 Complete the inspection document and
return documents to the driver.
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Safety Inspection Decals

Oregon doesn’t have enough safety inspectors to
go out and check every farm truck so they can
avoid getting stopped during the busy harvest
season. Inspectors also can’t promise they'll have
time to check a truck if it stops at a weigh station
and volunteers for an inspection. But once a truck
gets a complete inspection, there is a good decal
system that ensures

the truck should not

have to be checked

again soon.

Trucks that
successfully pass a
comprehensive

Level 1 or Level 5
inspection receive a
Commercial Vehicle
Safety Alliance
(CVSA) decal valid for
three consecutive
months. Vehicles

displaying a decal 9694301
gen_era“y will not be This white CVSA decal is the
subject to another kind issued to trucks that passed
inspection in that a Level 1 or Level 5 inspection in
. the last quarter of 2001. If neither
three-month peHOd- of the decal’s upper corners is
removed, it would indicate the
The CVSA is an inspection occurred in December.

organization of
federal, state, and provincial government
agencies working with the private industry in the
U.S, Canada and Mexico to establish uniform
safety inspection standards and practices.
Inspections performed according to CVSA
standards are done by certified government
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employees who successfully completed an
approved training program.

Each vehicle used singularly or in combination
may qualify for a CVSA decal if a Level 1 or

Level 5 inspection finds no defects in the following
critical vehicle items: brake system, coupling
devices, exhaust system, frame, fuel system,
turn signals, brake lamps, tail lamps, head lamps,
lamps on projecting loads, safe loading, steering
mechanism, suspension, tires, van and open-top
trailer bodies, wheels and rims, windshield wipers,
and emergency exits for buses.

On a decal, the year in which a Level 1 or Level 5
inspection was done is indicated by a large
number at the top of each CVSA decal. In 2001,
for example, the number “1” was displayed.

The quarter of the year in which the inspection
was done is indicated by the color of the decal.

Inspection Period Decal Color
January ¢ February * March Green
April « May * June Yellow
July ¢ August  September Orange

October * November « December  White

The month in which the inspection was done is
indicated by the decal’'s upper corners. Decals
issued in the first month of a calendar quarter
have both upper corners removed. Decals issued
in the second month of the quarter have the upper
right corner removed. Decals issued in the last
month of a calendar quarter have no corners
removed.
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Oregon Department of Transportation
Motor Carrier Safety Specialists

SALEM

Phone 503-378-6168 FAX 503-378-3567
Chuck Adams, Terry Evert, Paula Hartland,
David Rios, Steve Swanson, Cathy Shamblin
Jess Brown, Haz Mat Specialist, 503-378-3667

PORTLAND

Phone 503-240-5660 FAX 503-283-5703
Neil Byrne, Charles Erlandson, Greg Johnson,
Kynda Nembhard, Todd Raska, Ken Reaves,
Sharon Wyle

SPRINGFIELD
Phone 541-736-2303 FAX 541-736-2319
Ken Norwood, Susan Combs

MEDFORD
Phone 541-776-6221 FAX541-776-6064
Harold Smith, John Truly, Walter Rich

BEND
Phone 541-388-6171 FAX 541-388-6320
Kevin Johnson, Lyle Lorentz

LA GRANDE
Phone 541-963-1389 FAX 541-962-7674
Harold Wolford

UMATILLA
Phone 541-922-2578 FAX 541-922-2705
Don Servi, Monica Whelden

PROGRAM MANAGERS - SALEM
David McKane 503-373-0884
Howard Russell 503-373-1979
Greg Smith 503-378-5983
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Oregon Department of Transportation
Size and Weight Enforcement
District Offices

CASCADE LOCKS — Terry Cook, Manager
Cascade Locks Port of Entry, 541-374-8980
Portland, 503-731-3238

UMATILLA — Ben Derby, Manager

Umatilla Port of Entry, 541-922-5183

La Grande, 541-963-3170

FAREWELL BEND — Lloyd Pratt, Manager
Farewell Bend Port of Entry, 541-869-2474
Burns, 541-573-2261

KLAMATH FALLS — Phil Grant, Manager
Klamath Falls Port of Entry, 541-883-5701

ASHLAND — Sven Johnson, Manager
Ashland Port of Entry, 541-776-6004

COAST VALLEY — David Gaffney, Manager
Springdfield, 541-736-2314

Roseburg, 541-957-3605

WOODBURN — Don Shinpaugh, Manager
Woodburn Port of Entry, 503-982-0804

CENTRAL OREGON — Bruce Ward, Manager
Bend, 541-388-6217
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