Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image

Rail Advisory Committee


The Rail Advisory Committee was formed to advise the Oregon Department of Transportation on issues that affect rail freight and passenger facilities and services in Oregon, including rail project selection for ConnectOregon.
Back to Top

Committee Members

2012 Rail Advisiory Committee Meeting at PDX
2012 Rail Advisory Committee Meeting at PDX
The 14-member committee, chaired by former Albany Mayor Chuck McLaran, represents diverse interests in rail transportation statewide. Committee members were appointed by ODOT Director Matt Garrett. Committee members include:
  • Johan Hellman, BNSF Railway, representing Class 1 rail lines
  • Jerry Wilmoth, Union Pacific, representing Class 1 rail lines
  • Bruce Carswell, Mt Hood Railroad/Iowa Pacific Holidings, representing shortline railroads
  • Randy Russ, United Transportation Union, representing labor unions
  • Robert Eaton, Amtrak, representing Class 1 passenger rail lines
  • Donald Leap, retired, representing rail passengers
  • Dale Keller, City of Prineville Railway, representing shortline railroads
  • Chuck McLaran, retired, former mayor of Albany, representing rail passengers
  • Mike Hayward, Wallowa County, representing local government
  • Annette Price, Port of Portland, representing ports
  • Craig Levie, Tangent Services, representing businesses
  • Paul Langner, Teevin Brothers, representing businesses
  • Mark Eitzen, Gunderson LLC, representing businesses
  • Joel Haka, Genesee & Wyoming, representing shortline railroads
Back to Top

Upcoming Meetings

There are no meetings scheduled at this time. 
Back to Top

Meeting Minutes

March 14
March 13
Back to Top