Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image

Rail Advisory Committee


The Rail Advisory Committee was formed to advise the Oregon Department of Transportation on issues that affect rail freight and passenger facilities and services in Oregon, including rail project selection for ConnectOregon.
Back to Top

Committee Members

The 13-member committee, chaired by James Irvin, President & General Manager, Portland & Western Railroad, represents diverse interests in rail transportation statewide. Committee members were appointed by ODOT Director Matt Garrett. Committee members include:
  • Johan Hellman, BNSF Railway, representing Class 1 rail lines
  • Clint Schelbitzki, Union Pacific, representing Class 1 rail lines
  • Bruce Carswell, Oregon Eastern Division, Wyoming & Colorado, representing shortline railroads
  • Randy Russ, United Transportation Union, representing labor unions
  • Robert Eaton, Amtrak, representing Class 1 passenger rail lines
  • Donald Leap, retired, representing rail passengers
  • Mark Davidson, Union County, representing local government
  • Kathryn Williams, Port of Portland, representing ports
  • Craig Levie, Tangent Services, representing businesses
  • Paul Langner, Teevin Brothers, representing businesses
  • Mark Eitzen, Gunderson LLC, representing businesses
  • Kevin Haugh, Portland & Western Railroad, representing shortline railroads
  • Gary Cardwell, Northwest Container Services, representing businesses
Back to Top

Upcoming Meetings

March 7, 2017
9:00 AM – 4:00 PM
Portland International Airport
St. Helens A Room
7000 NE Airport Way
Portland, Oregon
Back to Top

Meeting Minutes

2014 2016
Back to Top