Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

Region Transportation Safety Newsletter, October 2013
reg2_header.jpg 
Walk and Bike to School Day

 

More than 227 schools around the state are participating in this year’s international "Walk and Bike to School Day" on October 9. Whether it’s an entire community event or parents meeting at a park to walk with their kids, participating in this event shows the many benefits of walking or biking to school, such as finding a safe route, getting some exercise and just having fun! For more information and to find out who is participating in Oregon, visit the Walk + Bike website.

 

 

Buckle Up: Every Ride, Every Time
 

Having trouble installing your car seat correctly? Don’t worry. You’re not alone. Check out the Safe Kids video to learn how one mom overcomes these challenges.

 
Safe Kids bubble wrap video

 

Want to check to see if you already have it right? Here are 5 things every parent needs to know (PDF 340KB) to make sure your car seat is properly installed.


 
Everyone is a Pedestrian


U.S. Transportation Secretary Anthony Foxx announced a new set of tools to help communities combat the rising number of pedestrian fatalities in recent years. On average, a pedestrian was killed every two hours and injured every eight minutes in traffic crashes according to 2011 NHTSA data. Check out the pedestrian safety resources on the new Everyone is a Pedestrian website to help in your community.

 

 
Trick-or-Treat Safety

Halloween trick-or-treat children
Ghosts and goblins will soon be frolicking on the city streets. Beware! Remind kids to stay on sidewalks when possible and obey traffic signals. When a sidewalk is not available, walk on the left side of the road facing traffic. Costumes with retro reflective material or reflective tape allow children to be much more visible and add little to the cost of costumes, so lighten up with reflectors! Spook Safely. The Way to Go.

 

 
What You Need to Know About Oregon Crosswalk Laws

PedSafetyBusShelter-web.JPG 

In collisions with cars, pedestrians are always the losers. Studies show a pedestrian hit at 40 mph has an 85 percent chance of dying. A crosswalk exists at any public street intersection, whether marked with paint or unmarked. Crosswalks also exist between intersections (mid-block) only if they are marked with white painted lines. If a pedestrian is in a safety buffer when the vehicle enters the crosswalk, the driver will be cited for a fine over $200.

 

When turning at a traffic signal, drivers must:

  • Stop and remain stopped for pedestrians until they have cleared the lane into which your vehicle is turning and at least 6 feet of the next lane.

At any other crosswalks - whether marked with paint or unmarked - drivers must:

  • Stop and remain stopped for pedestrians until they have cleared the lane in which you are traveling (or into which you are turning) and the next lane.
  • Stop and remain stopped for students as you are directed by a crossing guard.
  • Stop and remain stopped for a blind pedestrian using a white cane or a guide dog until the pedestrian is completely across the roadway.

In order to keep pedestrians safe, be particularly cautious when making left turns, as a pedestrian may be difficult to see on your left side. And do not pass a vehicle stopped at a crosswalk. A stopped car may be a clue that a pedestrian is crossing.

     
Drive Safely Work Week 
No matter how many years of experience we have or how much driving we do, there are underlying basic skills and behaviors that are fundamental to safe driving that need to be continually practiced. During the Drive Safely Work Week campaign October 7-11, remember these key tips:
  • Buckle Up! Seatbelts should never have time off,
  • Steer with a clear head (recognize and prevent driver fatigue),
  • Drive distraction-free,
  • Backing basics – complete a vehicle walk-around to check for children and other objects before backing out,
  • Keep your vehicle healthy through preventative maintenance, and
  • Get the right fit to your vehicle for maximized field of vision and sustained energy.
The Drive Safely Work Week 2013 toolkits are available at no cost.
(Source: NETS, Drive Safely Work Week Toolkit, September 2013)

 
 
How Vehicle Age and Model Year Relate to Driver Injury

 

NHTSA recently released a Traffic Safety Facts document (PDF 1.2MB) on the correlation between the age of a vehicle and the injury outcome of the driver involved in a fatal crash. Restraint use for vehicle drivers plays a large role in injury outcomes and so does the age of the vehicle being driven.


 

Features
 
Latest NHTSA Traffic Safety Fact Sheets
Region 4 (Bend)
 
Region 5 (La Grande)
 
 
Links
 
 
Archived Newsletters