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Driver Education Program Update 
 
William A. Warner, Manager 
ODOT-TSD Driver Education 
 

ew forms are a-coming!  That’s right; Mary and I have been re-working the reimbursement form down to 1 page 
from 4 pages!  In order to do this we are creating a worksheet that is totally optional and does not need to be 

turned in.  The worksheet will only be available to help you figure out the FOUR items you place on the one page 
reimbursement form!  In production, we currently are thinking: 
  

• Total students for that claim 
• Total Income received (including the extra fees, etc.) 
• Total expense of the course (One line item!) 
• Free and Reduced subsidy for those who offer reduced tuition based on 

income 
 
That’s it!  The worksheet is there for your own use. Just use the parts you need to 
do your “cypherin’” and keep it as part of your back-up documentation if you wish.  
(The fact that you have to have back-up documentation is not an “if you wish” just 
using that particular form.  By law, you have to keep documentation) 
 
We have also retooled the Assurance form.  It is now two pages, but takes that pesky “site list” that was on every 
reimbursement request and places it in a “beginning of the year” format so that we can see the places where you are 
currently offering driver education.  There is also a subtle change in the middle of the form… adding the instructor name 
next to their certification number. 
 
Look for these changes in the next month or two, but remember, it is a good idea to always download your form directly 
from our website in case there have been changes made since your last request or report. 
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We’ll Gladly Pay You Tuesday!... 
 
Every now and again, we are asked about our claim and reimbursement policy here at ODOT.  Since this topic has come up 
more than a few times in the past month, I decided to show you where in statute we get our “marching orders.”   Oregon 
Revised Statute (ORS) 293.462 (4) requires that claims for payment be made within 45 days from the latest of the following 
dates: 

• the date of the receipt of the invoice, 
• the date of the initial billing statement if no invoice is received, or  
• the date the claim is made certain by agreement of the parties or by operation of law.  

 
So, the fact is, we have up to 45 days to process and fulfill your claims.  Aren’t you glad we maintain about a 10 day 
turnaround for payments on average?  
 
Did you know that reimbursement can be claimed any time of the year, and as often as once per month? There is also no 
longer the requirement to “cut off” your submissions on June 30th each year, as we did in the past. Just please continue to 
submit your claims at least once per year using the timeline that is best for you.  
 
 For more questions of claims and quarterly reports, feel free to contact our office at 503.986.4413. 
 

 
 
“Hey Dude, Where’s My Car?” 
 
Melissa Richey, from Linn-Benton Community College recently sent us an email.  In it she stated: 
 
“I would like to see if it is possible to find out what kind of vehicles other providers are using in Oregon.  We have a number of 
leases maturing in the next few months and would like to be able to make an informed decision on what type of vehicle works 
best for Driver Education.  If there is any way I can obtain feedback from other providers, please let me know what I can do to 
help facilitate that.” 
 
Well, Melissa, how about your very own newsletter article promoting your question?  
 
How about it providers??  Please send an email to ODOTDEMail@odot.state.or.us with a short statement of the kinds of 
vehicles you use to offer driver education services around the state.  While you’re at it, if you have any additional wisdom 
about leases, mechanical issues, etc. feel free to pass those along as well.  If we get some good feedback, we’ll either post to 
the website or include in the next newsletter (in addition to forwarding to Melissa, of course!). 
 
Putting the “Pliant” into Compliance 
 
At their last quarterly meeting, the Driver Education Advisory Committee participated in an exercise to look at our inspection 
criteria. Advice provided by DEAC is especially valuable to us because its members serve as your representatives.   
 
What we learned from the committee is that deficiencies should be tiered by level of severity.  For example, they said that a 
student lacking a couple of hours of classroom instruction time should be considered more “serious” than lacking a required 

Low Income Subsidy:  If you are offering reduced tuition based on student income, Oregon Revised 
Statute requires you to include information about the availability of reduced tuition in all advertisements 
and printed materials, as well as on all websites maintained by the course.  
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written policy. Repeated deficiencies would step up a level in severity because we expect corrections to have been made the 
first time.  
 
In response to DEAC’s input, we are revamping the entire compliance program. We don’t know exactly how it will look at this 
point, but here are some other ideas in the works: 
 

• Pre-inspection form. This is, in effect, the provider conducting a portion of their own compliance review. The thought 
is that a simple form would be completed by a provider prior to their scheduled review. It might require vehicle 
information, a list of sites, and providing a copy of written policies. The pre-inspection form would give you the 
opportunity to gather information at your own pace, and would reduce on-site time. 

• Inspection frequency. We are looking at the level of risk in determining inspection frequency. The more students a 
program enrolls, or the more sites where courses are offered, the greater the potential risk. This may be a factor in 
future scheduling. 

• Grace period. When we begin weighting deficiencies, we may also do away with the 5 day grace period, where a 
provider currently has the opportunity to drop deficiencies off their report by responding quickly after an inspection. 

• Instructor evaluation. We are considering periodic evaluation of every instructor. 
 
Watch for more information coming soon. 
 
Mary 
 
 
 
New CEU Opportunity  
 
Recently we received a letter from Fred Mottola, who, as most of you know, is the god-father of 
driver education for the state of Oregon.  It is his core curriculum that we adapted and revised into 
the Playbook®.  He has more than earned his place among the “greats” in driver education.  He 
has developed a new continuing education series online and has asked if we would let you know 
it’s out there, so…  

 
The National Institute for Driver Behavior (NIDB) has just posted a new continuing education 
course (from St. Cloud State University) for driver educators. This course is for licensed or 
certified driver education classroom teachers and in-car driving instructors who would like to 
supplement their classroom and in-car program with state-of-the-art techniques and materials 
to prepare teens and parents with “Pledge Zero Crashes” habits.   Today’s teens learn 
differently from those of the past. They learn by digital media presented in short segments.  
 

The Cost for this “3 CEU Credit” course is $150.00 and enrollment is open until February 1, 2015.  The course runs 
from February 2nd to June 22nd, 2015.  Oregon would grant 8 hours for proof of successful completion.  Click here 
for the Course Flyer: 
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/TS/docs/DE/Announcement%20of%203%20CEU%20Course%20Experiencing%20Ten%
20Habits.pdf 
  
 

What online courses would YOU like to see? 
 

Chemeketa Community College is currently developing both four (4)                              
and eight (8) hour courses and they are requesting your feedback. 

  

Contact Amanda at 503.584.7541, or our office with your suggestions. 
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One Final Thought Regarding Online Continuing Ed… 
 
On-line courses are there as a convenience for our instructors. But when an instructor places a burden on our contractor by 
waiting until the last minute to complete their course, it is not our contractor’s problem. They have been extremely generous 
in this area, but we have advised Chemeketa Community College to develop a policy regarding their timelines. So if you 
completed your entire course last night in the hopes that you would have results in time for today’s 3:00 pm course, they may 
not be able to accommodate you.   
 
Along with that, please review Chemeketa’s timelines with regard to on-line course completion. Most courses must be 
completed within two weeks of registration. If you have questions or otherwise need to discuss your course, contact Amanda 
at 503.584.7541.  
 
 
 
 
Happy 2015 from the DEAC! 
 
 
The committee had a full agenda for its January 9 meeting. We received updates from Bill and Mary from ODOT, Aaron East and 
Bonnie Morihara from WOU, Becky Renninger from DMV, and Amanda Franks from Chemeketa CC. Topics under discussion 
included 2014 Driver Ed by the numbers, clarification of rules, instructor certification, the spring conference (see below), continuing 
education for instructors, and compliance. 
 
Andrew Crites and I joined Bill to attend ODOT's Traffic Safety Division (TSD) 2016 planning workshop January 12-13. It was a 
fascinating experience to see TSD's focused and comprehensive approach to goal setting, and to have the opportunity to provide 
feedback. It is also gratifying to know that the work we do as Providers plays such a crucial role in helping ODOT reduce crash and 
fatality rates in Oregon. 
 
The next DEAC meeting will be held in Portland on February 27 in conjunction with the Pacific Northwest Driver and Traffic Safety 
Conference at the Red Lion. If you have the opportunity, please join us to discuss current issues in DE. We welcome your 
participation and input. 
 
Have a safe year; I hope to see you at the conference! 
Dawn Davis 
DEAC Chair 
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