'SHgey ol
S||IMS BuiALIp ajes uin)
01 Aem 1saq ay) Sl adnoeid e

‘way) paau 1ybiw noA usym
MOUY| JaABU NOA “ybBIyse)) e pue 1 pie.sily
e ‘s10109|jal ‘sale)} ‘sajqed Jadwnl ‘wnwitiw

e Je ‘aney pinoys 1 Aiayes Aouablowa uy e

"yselo e ul saunoj|inb
awo29q Aew Aemjiey umop pPaj|os SMOPUIAA e

‘uonsod aue| urelurew ol
aln|rie) pue Buipaads ‘sjuedIxojul Jo aduanjul
3yl Japun BUIALIP 8Je SIaAlp BunoA BuiajoAul
sayse.d Jo.Sasned bunnglLiuod aalyl doy ayl e

‘aInssaid jueisuod asn
‘pealsu] ‘padwnd aq 10U pjNoYs saxeiq Sgy e

‘loaym
Buliaals ay) SSoloe swie INoA Ylim aALp
1,UP|NOYS NOA ‘sied J1amau ul sbeq e Yipn e

"‘00:¥7 pue 00:8— 10 — 00-€ pue 00:6 J0
suonisod »20J2 ay} ul sI [gaym bBuusals
3yl uo spuey InoA 1oj ade|d 1sajes ayl e

‘'noA JO papuewap
Apue1suod s||iMs 000°‘T Ajerewixoldde
aney noA ‘BUIALIp a1e NOA Usypn e

¢mouyl nog pIQ

Frequently Asked
Questions

Q. How do I know if a driver
education course is approved
by the Oregon Department of
Transportation?

A. The department has a list of approved
courses offered through public schools
and private companies. You can check
with TSD tfo see if their program is
ODOT-approved, at:
www.oregon.gov/ODOT/TS/de.shtml.

Q. I had a permit from another
state for three months. Do I
only need one for three months
in Oregon?

A. No,you need a permit from Oregon for

six months or you need a permit from
another state for six months.
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Q. How do I certify my hours of
supervised driving practice?

A. You will need to keep a driving log to
track your hours. You and your parent or
legal guardian must certify driving hours
at DMV when getting your license.

Q. Can my parent take my
license away?

A. Yes. If you are under age 18, the
parent who signed your original driver
license application can send a written
request for cancellation o the DMV.

Q. I am 15 years old. My dad
had his driver license revoked
and there are no other relatives

who can supervise my driving.
What can I do?

A. Try asking a school counselor, a church
pastor or a friend's mom or dad to help.
The supervising driver must be at least 21
years old and have had a valid license for
at least three years.
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Q. What happens if I'm caught
driving outside the night driving
restrictions and/or the
passenger restrictions?

A. Law enforcement can cite you and your
license can be suspended. Further
violations can mean your license will still
be suspended even after you furn 18.

Q. Does the law mean that I
can't ever drive after midnight?

A. For the first year after receiving your
license you can't be driving after midnight
unless you're driving between home and
work, driving home after a school event
for which no other transportation is
available, driving for employment purposes
or driving accompanied by a licensed
driver who's at least 25 years old.
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What You Need To Know About

Oregon's Teen Driving Law



The Road To Getting Your License

If you're under 18 and getting your license for the first time, here’s what you need to do.

~

Starting Off in the
Right Direction

Learning to drive? Cool.
Oregon's teen driving law
is designed to keep you
safe in the process. The
fact is, as a young driver,
you're more likely to be
involved in a fatal crash
within the first six months
of getting your license
than at any other time.

And nobody wants to see
that happen. The new law
lets you ease into driving,
with plenty of time for
practice so you can learn
how to do it right —
without wrapping yourself
around a free.

To get started down the
road to your license, just
follow these directions.
And learn how fo drive
safely — for life.

Covering New
Territory — the
First Six Months
After You Get
Your License

For the first six months you can’t
drive with a passenger under the
age of 20 who isn't a member of
your immediate family and you can't
drive between midnight and 5am.

Why? You still need time to get

used to driving solo, without a lot of
distractions. It's hard to focus on the
road if your friends are bugging you

The First Leg
of the Trip

GET YOUR OREGON
INSTRUCTION PERMIT.

You have to have your permit for at
least six months before you can get
a license. (To get your permit — if
you haven't already — you need to
be at least 15 years old and pass a
written test.)

‘\

Entering the

Restricted Zone

YOU'RE OFF AND ROLLING. But
there are still some restrictions
after you get your provisional
license. These are designed to
keep you safe (and alive) during
that crucial first year of licensed

driving. /

%

Wow! Do you realize that
100 hours of driving is 2
hours a week for almost

. 2 years!
Practice, =
Practice,
Practice And Practice
Seriously. You have to certify
that you've had at least 50 Some More
HOURS of supervised You have to:
driving practice*. Complete a driver education course
that’s approved by the Oregon
Department of Transportation. unless you

Complete an additional 50
HOURS of supervised driving
practice*. Both you and a parent
or legal guardian will need to
certify your hours of supervised
driving and/or your driver
education course completion.
*Your supervising driver needs to
be someone who's at least 21
years old and who'’s had a valid
license for at least three
years.(Hint: Like Mom or Dad.
Believe it or not, they actually
know more about driving than
you think. Besides, it's a chance
to do that whole bonding thing.
Humor them — you may need to
borrow money someday.)

The halfway sh

So, now you get to strut your

stuff and show us what you
know about driving safely by
taking the Safe Driving ,

Practices written exam.

The Big Test

PASS THE DRIVING TEST AND
GET YOUR PROVISIONAL
LICENSE. (This is where all that
practice starts to pay off.)

REST AREA
@ 1 MILE

The Home
Stretch

All of the restrictions listed are only for the first year. Then
you're off driving in the real world. But remember to play it
smart. There are a lot of cars out there. So drive safely — for
life. Remember to be extra cautious at night since your greater
risk of being involved in a fatal or injury crash is at night.

Getting
Comfortable —
The Second Six
Months After
You Get Your

For the second six months you can’t drive

to change the radio station or stop
and get nachos. For right now,
concentrate on getting into safe
driving habits.

with more than three passengers who are
under the age of 20 who are not members
of your immediate family and you still
can't drive between midnight and 5am.

Makes sense. At this point, you're still
getting comfortable handling the car
safely and following traffic rules. Besides
— how big is your car anyway?

For the first year, you can’t drive between midnight
and 5:00 a.m. unless you are:

a) driving between home and work.

b) driving between home and a school event for which
there is no other transportation available.

¢) driving for employment purposes.

d) accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least
25 years old.

The reason for this is simple. As a young driver,your

greatest risk of being involved in a fatal or injury crash

is at night.
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Passenger restrictions do not apply
while driving with an instructor as part
of a certified driver education course or
with a parent or stepparent who has
valid driving privileges(per ORS
807.122(3) a & b).
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