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National safety campaign puts local spotlight on safety belts, booster seats
Despite having one of the highest safety belt usage rates in the nation, Oregon still experiences tragedy every year due to lack of belt use. In fact, in 2007, not wearing a safety belt was a major factor in half of Oregon’s 500* traffic deaths. More than a third of children under age eight who were injured in crashes were unrestrained, held on laps, or using adult belt systems rather than child seats. From May 19 to June 1, law enforcement personnel will be working extra shifts during the national “Click It or Ticket” campaign to help ensure motorists and their passengers are properly buckled up.
“Continual roadside reminders and extra enforcement have the potential to save many more lives,” said Carla Levinski, Occupant Protection Program manager for the Oregon Department of Transportation. “Ongoing education is especially important so people can understand the changes to Oregon laws, specifically the age and weight requirements for child safety and booster seats.” 
Oregon law requires that children weighing less than 40 pounds be restrained in a child safety seat. A child under one year of age or weighing less than twenty pounds must be restrained in a child seat, rear-facing. A child over forty pounds but under age eight or less than 4’ 9” tall must be restrained in a booster seat that elevates them so the lap/shoulder belts fit correctly. ODOT is allocating $200,000 in 2008 for qualified low-income families to purchase child seats and boosters. Seats are being distributed by volunteers at local car seat fitting stations within each county.
Oregon currently stands at number three in the nation for safety belt usage, at 95 percent. The 5 percent who remain unbuckled, and many others, will be the focus for 27 sheriff’s offices, 63 police departments and the Oregon State Police during the nationwide “Click It or Ticket” campaign.
—more—

 “The state’s goal continues to be getting everyone to buckle up on every trip, no matter how short,” Levinski said. “Just one unbuckled passenger flying around inside a car can strike other occupants hard enough to injure or kill them in a crash.”
Click It or Ticket is a national traffic enforcement mobilization funded by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration through ODOT’s Safety Division.
*Preliminary figure; will be finalized in June 2008.
Important Notes

· Changes to child restraint laws that went into effect July 1, 2007:  A child weighing less than 40 pounds must be restrained in a child safety seat. A child under one year of age or weighing less than twenty pounds must be restrained in a child seat, rear-facing. A child over forty pounds but under age eight or less than 4’ 9” tall must be restrained in a booster seat that elevates them so the lap/shoulder belts fit correctly. For help with child safety seats, refer to the seat manufacturer’s instructions, vehicle owner’s manual or call ACTS Oregon Child Safety Seat Resource Center at 1-800-772-1315.  The Center also maintains a website listing locations where the public can get free help installing their car seats from trained technicians. Go to www.childsafetyseat.org 

· Child passengers should ride in back: While it is not the law in Oregon, it is strongly recommended that children aged twelve and under ride in rear seating positions. Research indicates that such rear seating reduces the risk of injury by 37 percent for that age group.
· Removal of commercial vehicle exemption that went into effect January 1, 2008: Oregon's safety belt law no longer exempts commercial vehicles which are “designed or used to transport property.” This broad definition includes all types of trucks, vans, and passenger cars including those that are used for bulk transport, specialized delivery services, or movement of materials in conjunction with various projects or activities.  

· “Proper use” is required by Oregon law and means using the entire belt system – lap belt if only a lap belt is provided, and both lap and shoulder belts where both are provided. The lap belt should be worn low across the hips and the shoulder belt should be placed over the collarbone and crossing center of chest. Belts should be free of slack and lying flat with no twists or knots. If the shoulder belt portion of your safety belt rides up onto your neck or feels uncomfortable, you may increase your comfort by sliding the built-in adjuster up or down or by moving your seat position. Do NOT place your shoulder belt under your arm or behind your back – this can cause serious internal injuries or ejection in a crash. For help with repair, installation or retrofitting of safety belts, call your vehicle dealer or vehicle manufacturer’s customer service department.  
—more—

· Most safety advocates agree the greatest danger to unbelted or improperly belted occupants is the significant likelihood and consequences of ejection. Such occupants are five times more likely to be ejected in a crash than one who is belted. Odds of surviving ejection are estimated at one in four.
· Consistent safety belt use is the single most effective way to protect vehicle occupants from injury and reduce fatalities in motor vehicle crashes, according to the US Department of Transportation 

Safety belt stats

· Oregon ranks third among states for highest safety belt use at 95% for front seat occupants.  Hawaii ranks first at 97% and Washington State second at 96%. The average belt use reported by states nationwide is only 82%. 
· Since passage of Oregon’s adult belt law in 1990, motor vehicle crash fatality and injury rates have both decreased by 43% as belt use has nearly doubled from 50% to 95% (all seating positions.)

For more information about traffic safety, visit www.oregon.gov/ODOT/TS/safetybelts.shtml.
--0--

Oregon agencies receiving federal overtime funds for Click It or Ticket, May 19 – June 1, 2008:

Oregon State Police
Baker County 

Baker CSO
Benton County 
Benton CSO
Albany PD

Philomath PD

Clackamas County 
Clackamas CSO
Canby PD

Lake Oswego PD

Milwaukie PD

Molalla PD

Oregon City PD

Portland Police Bureau

Tualatin PD

Clatsop County
Seaside PD
Warrenton PD

Columbia County
Columbia CSO
Clatskanie PD

Rainier PD

Vernonia PD

Coos County
Coos CSO
Coos Bay PD

Myrtle Point PD

North Bend PD

Crook County
Crook CSO
Prineville PD

Curry County
Curry CSO
Brookings PD

Gold Beach PD

Port Orford PD

Deschutes County
Deschutes CSO
Bend PD
Douglas County
Douglas CSO
Winston PD

Gilliam County
Gilliam CSO
Harney County
Harney CSO
Burns PD

Hood River County
Hood River CSO
Hood River PD

Jackson County
Jackson CSO
Medford PD

Phoenix PD

Talent PD

Jefferson County
Jefferson CSO
Madras PD

Josephine County
Grants Pass Dept. of Public Safety

Klamath County
Klamath CSO
Lane County
Lane CSO
Eugene PD

Florence PD

Oakridge PD

Lincoln County
Lincoln CSO
Lincoln City PD

Newport PD

Linn County
Linn CSO
Albany PD

Sweet Home PD

Malheur County
Malheur CSO
Ontario PD

Marion County
Marion CSO
Aurora PD

Gervais PD

Hubbard PD

Keizer PD

Mt Angel PD

Salem PD




Stayton PD

Turner PD

Woodburn PD

Morrow County

Morrow CSO
Multnomah County
Multnomah CSO
Fairview PD

Gresham PD

Portland Police Bureau

Polk County
Polk CSO
Independence PD

Monmouth PD

Salem PD

Sherman County
Tillamook County
Tillamook CSO
Rockaway Beach PD

Tillamook PD

Umatilla County
Umatilla PD

Union County
Union CSO
Wallowa County
Enterprise PD

Washington County
Washington CSO
Beaverton PD

Cornelius PD

Hillsboro PD

King City PD

Portland Police Bureau

Sherwood PD

Tigard PD
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Yamhill County
Yamhill CSO
Carlton PD

McMinnville PD

Yamhill PD

###ODOT###








For updated information on highway work and current travel information throughout Oregon, visit www.tripcheck.com or call the toll-free Oregon road report at 511 or (800) 977-6368.

Visit the ODOT News Media Center at www.oregon.gov/ODOT/COMM/.
For updated information on highway work and current travel information throughout Oregon, visit www.tripcheck.com or call the toll-free Oregon road report at 511 or (800) 977-6368.

Visit the ODOT News Media Center at www.oregon.gov/ODOT/COMM/.
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