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Use fog lights correctly and safely

With increasing numbers of vehicles on the road with fog or auxiliary lights, state transportation
safety officials are reminding people to use vehicle lighting correctly and safely.

Fog lights are designed to be used at low speeds in fog, heavy mist, snow and other situations
where visibility is significantly reduced. Front fog lights are generally aimed and mounted low to
increase the illumination directed towards the road surface. In low visibility situations, fog lights
should be turned off when an oncoming vehicle approaches. In normal visibility conditions, fog

or auxiliary lights should be turned off.

According to Oregon law, fog and/or auxiliary lights must be used like the high beam headlight
system of your car. They must be turned off within 500 feet of approaching an oncoming vehicle
and 350 feet when following another vehicle. The color of fog and/or auxiliary lights is also
regulated. Fog lights may be either white or amber (yellow). Rules prohibit other colors such as

blue.

If your car came equipped with auxiliary lighting, ODOT recommends knowing where the

switches are and how to use them.

If you plan to install fog and/or auxiliary lights as an after-market feature, it is important to know
that Oregon has adopted federal rules that all manufacturers must meet. Products must be
labeled; anything that is labeled “not for street use” cannot be used on public roadways.
Manufacturers must meet or exceed SAE and/or DOT manufacturing standards to market their
products for street use.

For more information on vehicle equipment and standards, visit ODOT’s Transportation Safety
Web site, www.oregon.qov/ODOT/TS/Veh Equipment.shtml, or see the Oregon Driver Manual

on the DMV Web site, www.oregondmv.com.
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For updated information on highway work and current travel information throughout Oregon, visit
www.tripcheck.com or call the toll-free Oregon road report at 511 or (800) 977-6368.
Visit the ODOT News Media Center at www.oregon.gov/ODOT/COMM/.
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