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So You Want To Customize Your Vehicle? 
Many vehicle accessories are street legal but some may NOT  be, so take a minute and read this over.   
It may not only save you an encounter with a law enforcement officer, but could also save you some cash! 

 
Accessory Vehicle Code(s) Rule / Interpretation Rationale 

Is a front license 
plate required? 

ORS 803.525 Number of 
plates.  803.540 Failure to 
display plates.  Class D 
traffic violation. 

• Always require a front and back plate on a 
passenger vehicle. (Mopeds, motorcycles, 
trailers, campers, antique and specialty 
vehicles require only one plate.) 

• Must be firmly secured, visible & legible. 

• License plates are reflectorized and if a vehicle is 
stranded or disabled on a highway the plate will 
reflect the lights of an oncoming vehicle.  This 
gives the driver of the oncoming vehicle an 
opportunity to recognize the hazard.  

• Helps police identify oncoming vehicles. 
Are license plate 
lights required? 
What about neon 
license plate lights? 

ORS 816.090 Registration 
plate lights. ORS 816. Use 
of prohibited lighting 
equipment.  Class C traffic 
violation. 

• A white license plate light is required . 
• Must illuminate the license plate so that it 

can be read from 50 feet behind. 
• Must be wired to come on when the 

headlights or parking lights are on. 
• No additional lamp or equipment that 

impairs the effectiveness of the required 
lamps are permitted. 

• White light enhances the visibility of the license 
plate during low light conditions and light is to 
be projected toward the plate. 

• Neon license plate lamps may impair the ability 
to read the plate from 50 feet behind. 

Are license plate 
covers permitted? 

ORS 803.550 Illegal 
alteration or display of 
plates. Class B traffic 
violation. 

• Any material or covering, other than a 
frame or plate holder, placed on, over or in 
front of the plate that alters the appearance 
of the plate. 

• Tinted and non-tinted plate covers can alter the 
appearance of or the reflectivity of the plate and 
make it unreadable or reduce the reflectivity for 
safety purposes. 

What are legal 
bumper heights? 
 

Oregon has no bumper 
height laws, but all lights 
must fall within the 
standards set by FMVSS 
108.  

• Headlights: between 22 and 54 inches 
from the road surface. 

• Tail & brake lights: between 15 and 72 
inches from the road surface. 

• Heights other than these limits for lights can 
create safety issues with glare from lights and 
potential dangerous over-ride issues during 
crashes.  

How low can a car 
be lowered? 

ORS 815.245 Violation of 
minimum clearance 
requirements for passenger 
vehicles.  Class B traffic 
violation 

• A vehicle may not have less clearance 
from the surface of a level roadway than 
the clearance between the roadway and the 
lowest portion of any rim of any wheel in 
contact with the roadway.  

• Lowered vehicles may get hung up on uneven 
road surfaces or may not be able to enter or leave 
driveways or traverse railway crossings.  This 
may cause crashes or tie up traffic waiting to 
remove the lowered vehicle from an obstruction. 

Are turn signal, tail-
light and headlight 
covers permitted?  

ORS 816.360 Use of 
prohibited lighting 
equipment.  Class C traffic 
violation. 

• Oregon adopted FMVSS 108 which 
disallows the use of light covers on 
required lighting equipment when lights 
are required to be in use.  Light covers on 
turn signals, taillights and brake lights are 
not permitted as these lights are always in 
use.  Headlight covers may not be used 
when headlights are required to be in use.  

• Covers reduce the size and impair the 
effectiveness of the lamps and reflectors required 
by the regulations. 

• Covers reduce the amount of light transmitted in 
some cases by over 30%.  Reduction of light 
decreases the amount of time a driver has to react 
to an object. 

• Covers reduce visibility to other road users. 
Are clear tail lamp 
lenses permitted?  
 
 
 
 
 
 

ORS 816.360 Use of 
prohibited lighting 
equipment.  Class C traffic 
violation. 

• Signal lamps must emit either amber or 
red light.  Brake lamps must emit red.  Tail 
lamps and the required reflex reflectors 
(usually a part of the red lamp lens) must 
emit red.  Side marker lamps and side 
reflex reflectors must emit red.  Clear tail 
lamp covers only permitted where all of 
the above requirements are met. 

• Usually the clear tail lamp lens does not include 
side marker lamps or any red reflex reflectors as 
required. 

• Identifies the rear of the vehicle. 
• Ensures optimum visibility to other road users. 
• LED bulbs can emit the required color and 

comply. 

Are blue or purple 
dot inserts in 
taillights legal? 

ORS 816.080 Taillights. 
ORS 816.360 Use of 
prohibited lighting 
equipment.  Class C traffic 
violation. 

• On a motor vehicle that was manufactured 
before 1959, the taillight or taillight 
assembly, if the taillight is combined with 
another light, may contain a blue or purple 
insert of not more than one inch in 
diameter. 

• Taillights with blue or purple inserts emit an 
unusual purplish light that is not usually 
attributed to tail and brake lights and can create a 
safety issue. 

Are colored (blue, 
green etc.) headlight 
bulbs permitted? 

ORS 816.360 Use of 
prohibited lighting 
equipment.  Class C traffic 
violation.  ORS 816.050 
Headlights. 

• All headlamps must be WHITE in color as 
defined by Society of Automotive 
Engineers and FMVSS 108.  White lamps 
have been tested to meet all headlamp 
requirements. 

• Maximum wattage allowed in a headlamp 
is 70 watts. 

• FMVSS 108 disallows any color coating 
on headlights and/or headlight bulbs. 

• Blue and green lamps are designated for use on 
emergency vehicles only. 

• Red lamps to front are reserved for emergency 
vehicles and school bus warning lamps.   

• Colored bulbs give a distorted headlamp pattern, 
which may prevent the driver from seeing a 
person or object at the road edge or starting to 
cross the road. 

Are under-car glow 
lamp kits (neon 
lights) permitted? 
How about 
windshield washer 
and valve stem 
lights? 
 

ORS 816.360 Use of 
prohibited lighting 
equipment.  Class C traffic 
violation. 

• All lighting equipment for road use in 
Oregon must meet FMVSS 108 standards.  
Neon lights of any type, windshield 
washer lights and valve stem lights have 
not met these standards and are not legal 
for use on Oregon’s roadways.  Flashing 
red and blue lights may only be used by 
emergency vehicles. 

• Lamps that emit a red, blue or green light are for 
use on emergency vehicles only.  

• Check lighting equipment for disclaimers.  If 
they are marketed for “Off-road Use Only”, “For 
Show Use Only” or something like: “Check local 
laws and ordinances for use.” This is an indicator 
that the product is not legal for roadway use. 

When are fog lamps 
permitted? 
 
 
 
 
 
 

ORS 811.515 When lights 
must be displayed; kind of 
light; number; direction; 
use on certain vehicles. 
ORS 811.520 Unlawful 
use or failure to use lights. 
Class B traffic violation. 

• Fog lamps may only be used when high 
beams lights are allowed.  

• Must be properly aimed (see Oregon 
Administrative Rule 735-108-0073). 

• Must be amber lights and must be 
approved for street use. 

• Restricted use and aiming avoids reduction of 
visibility for oncoming drivers.  

    
CONTINUED ON OTHER SIDE  



Accessory Vehicle Code(s) Rule / Interpretation Rationale 
Does a windshield 
with cracks and 
damage need to be 
replaced? 
 
 

ORS 815.020 Operation of 
an unsafe vehicle. Class B 
traffic violation.  ORS 
815.220 Obstruction of 
vehicle windows.  Class D 
traffic violation. 

• Anything that prohibits or impairs the 
ability to see into or out of the vehicle is a 
violation of ORS 815.220. 

• If a cracked or broken windshield is in the 
drivers line of vision it should be 
repaired/replaced.  

• Vehicles sold by a dealer or private party 
must have all safety equipment including 
windows in proper working safe condition. 

• These standards ensure the driver’s visibility is 
not obstructed and the windshield is structurally 
sound. Windshields are an integral part of the 
unibody design that directs forces (energy) away 
from the driver in a crash. 

• A cracked or broken windshield impairs the 
ability to see other objects.  

• A damaged windshield reduces load carrying 
capacity of the windshield.   

 
Is after-market 
window tinting or 
decals permitted on 
a window?  

ORS 815.221 Tinting: 
authorized and prohibited 
materials; certificate.  ORS 
815.222 Illegal window 
tinting. Class B traffic 
violation. 

• Windshields may have tint only in the top 
6 inches of the windshield. 

• All windows except the windshield must 
have a minimum of 35% light 
transmittance and a reflectivity of 13% or 
less. 

• SUVs, pickups, vans, limousines and other 
multipurpose vehicles may have darker 
tinted (privacy glass) for windows behind 
the driver. 

• A certificate must be provided by the 
person tinting vehicle windows stating the 
tint and reflectivity in each window, the 
tinter’s name and date the tint was applied.  
This certificate must be kept in the vehicle 
at all times. 

• Physicians or optometrists may sign 
affidavits for darker tint for persons with 
physical conditions requiring darker 
tinting.  This affidavit and the certificate 
mentioned above must be kept in the car at 
all times.  This darker tint must be 
removed prior to resale of the vehicle. 

• After market material may lower the level of 
light transmission through windows which could 
affect a driver's ability to see unlit objects and 
pedestrians in low light conditions and increase 
the probability of a collision. 

• The application of a film on the glass changes the 
characteristics of automotive glass, including 
how the glass shatters. 

• Dark film on the windows of a vehicle may 
jeopardize a police officer’s safety. 

• Decals may obstruct the driver’s view.  

Is one windshield 
wiper permitted?  
 

ORS 815.215 Failure to 
have windshield wipers.  
Class C traffic violation. 

• Vehicle must be equipped with the same 
number of wipers that came with the 
vehicle as original equipment from the 
manufacturer. (Motorcycles, vehicles of 
special interest, street rods, and antique 
vehicles may have exemptions from the 
windshield wiper(s) requirement.) 

• Required to provide clear view to the driver 
when operating in poor weather conditions. 

Are less restrictive 
flow (loud) mufflers 
/ exhaust systems or 
noise enhancing 
attachments 
permitted? 

ORS 815.250 Operation 
without proper exhaust 
system.  Class C traffic 
violation. 

• Vehicle must be equipped with a muffler 
that meets the following noise levels: 

• Motor vehicles: before 1976,  94 dBA 
• Motor vehicles 1976 & after, 91 dBA 
• Motorcycles before 1976,  94 dBA 
• Motorcycles 1976, 91 dBA 
• Motorcycles after 1976, 89 dBA 
 

• Emission of any loud or unnecessary noise from 
a motor vehicle is prohibited.  

• Less restrictive exhaust systems may not meet 
exhaust emission standards. 

• Permitted dB levels vary according to vehicle 
type and year of manufacture.   

• Removal of catalytic converters is not permitted 
by state and federal emission laws. 

Are after-market 
exhaust headers 
permitted? 

ORS 815.250 Operation 
without proper exhaust 
system.  Class C traffic 
violation. 

• Headers are permitted providing the rest of 
the exhaust system, including legal 
mufflers and catalytic converter (if 
required), is in compliance. 

• Less restrictive exhaust systems may not meet 
exhaust emission standards. 

• Permitted dB levels vary according to vehicle 
type and year of manufacture. 

Are wide tires 
permitted? 

ORS 815.180 Mudguards 
and Fenders Standards.  
ORS 815.185 Operation 
without proper fenders or 
mudguards. Class C traffic 
violation. 

• A fender, mudflap or body overhang that 
reduces the rearward projection of gravel, 
mud, water and snow from each tire is 
required.  This must extend the full width 
of the tire tread. 

• For non-commercial vehicles, the fender, 
mudguard/mudflap or body overhang must 
cover the complete width of the tire tread 
and come within 27 inches of the road 
surface behind all tires.  

• Protects motorist visibility that could otherwise 
be reduced from spray from another vehicle. 

• Protects motorists from inadvertently discharging 
road debris (rocks, dirt, sand, etc.) into the path 
of other motorists. 

Can a smaller 
steering wheel be 
installed? 

ORS 167.822 Improper 
repair of vehicle inflatable 
restraint system.  Class A 
misdemeanor. 

• If the vehicle was manufactured with an 
air bag restraint system, that system must 
be retained in the vehicle and must be in 
good operating condition when the vehicle 
is sold. 

• Oregon adopted the federal Motor Vehicle Safety 
Standards for occupant restraint systems, 
including air bags.  They must be maintained in 
good working condition.  This is a safety issue 
for the driver and passengers. 

Can I install an 
interior lamp kit? 
(neon bulbs etc.)  

ORS 816.360 Use of 
prohibited lighting 
equipment.  Class C traffic 
violation. 

• Interior lamps are not specifically 
addressed but distractions to other road 
users are not permitted.  If a lamp kit is 
installed the emitted light should not 
reduce the driver’s vision and not emit 
light that can be seen by other road users 
while the vehicle is moving, especially if 
the light is one that is only allowed for use 
by emergency vehicles (red, blue, green). 

• Lights that reduce the driver’s vision, or are a 
distraction to other motorists may contribute to a 
crash. 

• These types of interior lamp kits may be 
misconstrued as emergency vehicle lights by 
other roadway users. 

 

Can a motorcycle 
have a flashing 
brake light? 

ORS 816.100 Brake lights. 
ORS 816.360 Use of 
prohibited lighting 
equipment.  Class C traffic 
violation 

• Brake lights on all vehicles must emit a 
steady burning red light. (See Update at 
right for new information.) 

• Motorcycle brake lights may flash intermittently, 
provided that the brake lights do not override the 
rear turn signal function.   

 
There are some special allowances and or exemptions for vehicles that are registered and plated as antique vehicles, hot rods, vehicles 
of special interest, and for road machinery, and implements of husbandry (farm tractors and machinery). 
For additional information please contact: Vehicle Equipment Standards Program, Transportation Safety Division, Oregon 
Department of Transportation, 235 Union Street NE, Salem, OR 98301-1054, or call (503) 986-4198, or visit the Vehicle Equipment 
Standards web page at:  http://www.odot.state.or.us/transafety/Veh_Equipment.htm

http://www.odot.state.or.us/transafety/Veh_Equipment.htm
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