
The best seat for your child is one that fits your child’s size, is correctly installed, is used properly
every time you drive and meets Oregon laws.

WHICH SEAT IS RIGHT
FOR MY CHILD?

Buckle Up. The Way to Go. Transportation Safety — ODOT

Tips for a safely
buckled up trip: 

• BE A ROLE MODEL
FOR YOUR CHILD.
Buckle up every single
time — even on short
trips.

• Always read and follow
your child safety seat
instructions and vehicle
owner’s manual when
installing a child safety
seat.

• ALWAYS put children
under 13 in the back
seat.

• Never place more than 
one person in the same
safety belt.

• Never hold a child on
your lap in a vehicle –
in a crash, the child
can be ripped from
your arms and crushed. 

• Never let a child push a
shoulder belt under the
arm or behind the back.

• Never allow a child
under 18 to ride in the
open bed of a pickup
truck. It’s illegal in
Oregon – and it’s often
deadly.

For more information on Oregon law, safety seat installation tips or to locate a child 
safety seat checkup event, call the Child Safety Seat Resource Center at 503-643-5620 
in Portland or toll-free statewide at 1-800-772-1315. Or visit www.childsafetyseat.org.

For infants until they are 1 year old and more than 20 pounds.

•  Never put a rear-facing infant seat in the front seat of a 
vehicle with air bags.

Oregon Law for Rear-Facing Infant Seats: Infants must ride in rear-facing seats
until they are 1 year old and weigh more than 20 pounds.

REAR-FACING INFANT SEAT

For kids 1 year old or older and between 20 and 40
pounds.
•  Make sure the forward-facing child safety seat is placed in

an upright position.

Oregon Law for Forward-Facing Child Safety Seats: All children who weigh
40 pounds or less must ride in a child safety system appropriate for the child's size.

FORWARD-FACING CHILD SAFETY SEAT

For children who have exceeded the height or weight limit
for their forward-facing seat. 
•  Secure with the car’s lap and shoulder belts. Never use a

booster seat with just a lap belt.

Oregon Law for Booster Seats: All children weighing more than 40 pounds
must ride buckled in a booster seat or system that raises them up so the adult

safety belt fits properly. Children must continue to use a booster seat until they are at least 8 years old or 
4’9” tall.
Exemption: Children are exempt when the rear seats of the vehicles they are riding in have lap belts only. In such case, children must be secured
by the lap belts.

For children who are big enough to wear a lap and shoulder
belt properly (usually at least 4'9" tall).

•  Proper fit means the lap belt is low across the thighs, and the
shoulder belt is over the collarbone and away from the neck.

Oregon Law for Lap and Shoulder Belts: Children who are at least 8 years old
or 4’9” tall may graduate to an adult safety belt, but only if it fits properly.

LAP AND SHOULDER BELTS

BOOSTER SEATS
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