Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

 
Welcome to the Oregon Driver Education Program
Click image to access conference information

 
Contact Us  Program Information Resources for Students/Parents Resources for Providers Resources for Instructors Advisory Committee (DEAC)​




 
  • Driver Education Reduces Crashes and Saves Lives
    Motor vehicle crashes are the no.1 cause of death for 15- to 20-year-olds.  Teens who take formal driver training in Oregon have much lower crash rates.  Yet, only about one third of eligible Oregonians sign up for driving classes, saying they don't have the time, money, or easy access to them.  Teens who took an ODOT-approved driver education course have had fewer crashes, traffic convictions and suspensions.
  • DMV Drive Test Waivers
    Effective January 1, 2014
    Some approved providers may be able to issue a course completion card that will waive the Class C drive test at DMV. Please check with the driver education provider before taking the course to be sure that their course completion card will waive at DMV. The drive test waiver only applies to eligible students younger than age 18.
  • Driver Education Division 15 OARs
    Effective March 1, 2014
    The Oregon Administrative Rules for Division 15 (Driver Education) have been modified to accommodate the new law that was signed into effect in May 2013. The rules affect every provider, instructor, school and potential student in the driver education community. Read the OAR text
  • New Continuing Education Course
    The National Institute for Driver Behavior (NIDB) has just posted a new continuing education course (from St. Cloud State University) for driver educators. This course is for licensed or certified driver education classroom teachers and in-car driving instructors who would like to supplement their classroom and in-car program with state-of-the-art techniques and materials to prepare teens and parents with “Pledge Zero Crashes” habits.   Today’s teens learn differently from those of the past. They learn by digital media presented in short segments. 

    The Cost for this “3 CEU Credit” course is $150.00 and enrollment is open until February 1, 2015.  The course runs from February 2nd  to June 22nd, 2015.      View the Course Flyer
  • AAA Foundation / TIRF report on the 7 year study of Oregon’s Driver Education Program


    “This just in!  The AAA Foundation / TIRF report on the 7 year study of Oregon’s driver education program has been released.  Highlights?  How about that Driver educated teens have 4.3% fewer crashes and 39% fewer convictions than Oregon teens who don’t take driver education!!”