Skip to main content
Oregon.gov Homepage

Board of Athletic Trainers Registration

Qualifications

Bachelor's degree from an accredited four-year college or university, with course work in athletic training, health, physical education or exercise science, with:

  • Passing score on examination administered by the Board of Certification (BOC), or equivalent (prior to taking BOC exam);
  • Or, completion of course work, education and practical work experience, including graduation from an entry-level Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Educational Programs curriculum in athletic training or a combination of approved course work and completion of at least 1,500 hours of practice work experience;
  • Or, current license, certificate or registration issued by another state or territory

Applicants must also be at least 18 years old and hold current CPR certification.

CPR certification or recertification courses must be obtained through hands-on training, or blended training that includes a hands-on skills evaluation prior to certification. Course provider certifications for these courses must include an evaluator/instructor name and authorization number on the certification card.

Approved CPR, First Aid, and Blood Borne Pathogens Providers

Exemptions from registration

Those who perform athletic training duties and/or publicly promote themselves to be an athletic trainer must register as an athletic trainer.

The following exemptions apply under Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 688.718:

  • Health care providers or other persons licensed or registered in this state under any other statutes, or health care providers or other persons engaging in the profession or occupation for which the health care provider or person is licensed or registered
  • Anyone practicing athletic training who is employed by the federal government or any of its agencies
  • Anyone pursuing a supervised course of study leading to a degree or registration as an athletic trainer in an accredited or approved educational program if the person is identified by a title that clearly indicates student or trainee status
  • Any person completing any supervised practical experience requirements established by the Board of Athletic Trainers by rule
  • Persons performing athletic training services in this state for purposes of continuing education, consulting or training if the services are performed for no more than 60 days in any calendar year and are performed in association with a registered athletic trainer if the person is:
    • Registered or licensed and in good standing as an athletic trainer in another state; or
    • Certified by and in good standing as an athletic trainer with the Board of Certification of Athletic Trainers.
  • Elementary or secondary school teachers, coaches or volunteers who do not hold themselves out to the public to be athletic trainers or perform the services of an athletic trainer are exempt from this law.

Application for registration

After completing education and/or training requirements, the applicant must complete an application and pay applicable application and registration fees.

Forms

Registration expires one year after the date of issuance. Practitioners receive courtesy renewal notices in the mail approximately six weeks prior to the registration date.

Renew Your Registration Online

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how

×