Skip to main content
Oregon.gov Homepage

Board of Electrologists and Body Art Practitioners - Specialty body piercers - License Information

Definitions

After obtaining a standard body piercing license, licensees may obtain a specialty level one and specialty level two license after completing additional training.

Procedures required for specialty level one piercing are specified in Oregon Administrative Rule (OAR) 331-905-0005. Procedures required for specialty level two piercing are specified in OAR 331-905-0010. Go to the Laws and Rules page to access OARs listing procedures.

Note: Please bring or send in your standard license (original paper certificate issued by the office) when applying for specialty piercing. You will be issued a new paper license in exchange.

Specialty level one education or training

Pursuant to OAR 331-905-0005, an education curriculum or training for specialty level one piercing must meet requirements set forth by the Health Licensing Office prior to beginning training or education. Specialty level one piercing education or training must include 26 hours of practical education and a minimum of 26 practical procedures.

The 26 practical procedures required must include:

  • 10 practical procedures in which the trainee observes and participates; the trainee must observe four (4) male and four (4) female procedures, with at least two (2) cheek piercings, and four (4) different types of piercings and
  • 16 practical procedures performed by the trainee under direct supervision, but without assistance; the trainee must perform a minimum of four (4) male and four (4) female procedures, with at least two (2) cheek piercings, and four (4) different types of piercings.

The 26 piercing procedures must include at least four (4) piercing procedures from the following list:

  • Scrotum
  • Frenum
  • Foreskin
  • Perineum behind the scrotum
  • Piercing of the penis through the urethra and exiting on the underside of the penis
  • Labia majora
  • Labia minora
  • Piercing of the perineum between the vagina and the anus
  • Piercing of the clitoral hood
  • Vulva
  • Non midline vertical tongue
  • Cheek

To apply for a specialty level one piercing license

An applicant must:
  • Submit a completed application form (see forms below) and pay application fees ($50).
  • Submit two forms of government identification. Legible (clear) photocopies are acceptable if submitted by mail. At least one form of ID must be photographic, and names must match on both forms of ID.
  • Submit proof of being at least 18 years of age, providing a copy of birth certificate or school/military/governmental record with age documented, if not already provided on photographic ID required above.
  • Submit documentation of having completed blood borne pathogens training from an HLO-approved provider.
  • Submit documentation of having completed cardiopulmonary resuscitation and basic first aid training from an HLO-approved provider.
  • Submit proof of having a high school diploma or GED.
  • Hold a current Oregon standard body piercing license that is active with no current or pending disciplinary action.
  • Provide documentation of completing a qualifying pathway (see below).

Pathway One: Graduated from an Oregon-licensed career school for specialty level one piercing

Note: Oregon does not currently have any licensed career schools in piercing.

Pathway Two: Qualification through specialty level one piercing temporary trainee license

An applicant must:
  • Submit documentation showing proof of having completed the required specialty level one training and verified by an approved supervisor on a form prescribed by the HLO.
  • Pay examination fees ($50), if applicable.
  • Pass an HLO-approved standard body piercing written examination. Completion of the written exam is not required if the applicant has passed the exam within two years of the application date.
  • Upon passage of all required examinations, if applicable, and before issuance of license, pay all license fees and return any previously issued body piercing licenses. A new license will be issued in replacement.

Specialty level two genital piercing education or training

Pursuant to OAR 331-905-0010, an education curriculum or training for specialty level two piercing must meet requirements set forth by the Health Licensing Office prior to beginning training or education. An individual must obtain a standard body and specialty level one piercing license prior to beginning education for specialty level two genital piercing. The specialty level two genital piercing career school course of study must include 16 hours of practical education and a minimum of 16 practical procedures.

The 16 practical procedures required must include:

  • Eight (8) practical procedures in which the student observes and participates, with at least three (3) different piercing procedures from the list below.
  • Eight (8) practical procedures performed by the student under direct supervision, but without assistance. The student must perform a minimum of three (3) different piercing procedures from the list below.

The 16 piercing procedures must include at least three (3) different piercing procedures from the following list:

  • Piercing of the penis entering through the urethra and exting on the upper side of the penis
  • Piercing through the corona or ridge of the glans of the penis
  • Horizontal piercing through the glans of the penis
  • Vertical piercing through the glans of the penis
  • Clitoris
  • Piercing in which jewelry is inserted below the hood behind the clitoris
  • Any piercing of the female genitals through the urethra
  • Any other genital piercings not listed in specialty level one genital piercing

To apply for a specialty level two genital piercing license

An applicant must:

  • Submit a completed application form (see forms below) and pay application fees ($50).
  • Submit two forms of government identification. Legible (clear) photocopies are acceptable if submitted by mail. At least one form of ID must be photographic, and names must match on both forms of ID.
  • Submit proof of being at least 18 years of age, providing a copy of birth certificate or school/military/governmental record with age documented, if not already provided on photographic ID required above.
  • Submit documentation of having completed blood borne pathogens training from an HLO-approved provider.
  • Submit documentation of having completed cardiopulmonary resuscitation and basic first aid training from an HLO-approved provider.
  • Submit proof of having a high school diploma or GED.
  • Hold a current Oregon specialty level one body piercing license that is active with no current or pending disciplinary action.
  • Provide documentation of completing a qualifying pathway (see below).

Pathway One: Graduated from an Oregon-licensed career school for specialty level two genital piercing

Note: Oregon does not currently have any licensed career schools in piercing.

Pathway Two: Qualification through specialty level two genital piercing temporary trainee license

An applicant must:

  • Submit documentation showing proof of having completed the required specialty level two training and verified by an approved supervisor on a form prescribed by the HLO.
  • Pay examination fees ($50), if applicable.
  • Pass an HLO-approved standard body piercing written examination. Completion of the written exam is not required if the applicant has passed the exam within two years of the application date.
  • Upon passage of all required examinations, if applicable, and before issuance of license, pay all license fees and return any previously issued body piercing licenses. A new license will be issued in replacement.

License renewal

Body piercing licenses are valid for one year.
  • Licensees receive a renewal form in the mail approximately 45 days prior to the license entering inactive status.
  • Licensees must attest on the renewal form that they have current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation from an approved provider, current first aid training from an approved provider, and current certification in blood borne pathogens training from an approved provider.
  • Licensees must also attest upon renewal that they have obtained required continuing education. More information
  • Renew your license online.

 

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how

×