10 hours required
Licensees must complete 10 hours of continuing education
every year. Continuing education addresses subject matter related to music
therapy in accordance with ORS 681.700 through 681.730 and must be obtained by
participation in or attendance at a course provided by an accredited college or
university, a course or program approved by the Certification Board for Music Therapists
or American Music Therapy
or a course or program pre-approved by the Health Licensing
Continuing education experiences are programs beyond the
basic education required to obtain licensure that are designed to promote and
enrich knowledge, improve skills, and develop attitudes for the enhancement of
the practices of music therapists, thus improving music therapy
care to the public.
Continuing education requirements apply whether the
applicant renewing licensure is living or working within Oregon or outside of
the state, so long as Oregon licensure is maintained, and remain in effect
during the time licensure is inactive.
Also note that:
- CE credits obtained in excess of those required for the current one-year reporting period may be carried forward for up to four years. However, no more than 40 annual excess CE credits may be carried forward.
- Excess CE credits may not be used to reinstate an expired license.
- For more information on continuing education requirements, go to Oregon Administrative Rule (OAR) 331-320-0010.
Licensees must attest, or declare, they have met continuing
education requirements upon license renewal and are subject to periodic audits
specified in OAR 331-320-0020.
Applicants for license renewal must submit the completed
renewal form, with their signature as attestation to completion of required
continuing education hours. Documentation of continuing education hours earned
must be provided to the office only when selected for audit.
HLO audits a select percentage of license records to
verify compliance with continuing education requirements.
Licensees notified of selection for audit of continuing
education shall submit to the HLO, within 30 calendar days from the date of
notification, satisfactory evidence of participation in required continuing
education in accordance with OAR 331-320-0010 and 331-320-0020. If selected for
audit, the licensee must provide documentation of the required continuing
education, which must include:
For courses provided by an accredited college or university — a course syllabus and an official transcript from the accredited college or university;
- For CBMT or NMTR approved programs or courses — a certificate of completion that includes the CBMT or NMTR approval number; or
- For Office pre-approved programs or courses — a certificate of completion or other Office-approved documentation that includes the Office pre-approval number.
If documentation of continuing education is incomplete, the
registrant has an additional 30 calendar days from the date of notice of
incompleteness to submit further documentation to substantiate having completed
the required continuing education.
Failure to meet continuing education requirements shall
constitute grounds for disciplinary action, which may include, but is not
limited to, assessment of a civil penalty and suspension or revocation of
National organizations that offer continuing education in music