Skip to main content
Oregon.gov Homepage

Hemodialysis Technician Certification

About Hemodialysis Technicians

healthcare provider

Hemodialysis Technicians are certified individuals responsible for operating dialysis machines that act as artificial kidneys by removing waste from blood and removing excess fluids from the body when kidney failure or disease prevents the kidneys from doing so.

On this Page

  • Full certification
    Become certified if you have been provisionally certified in Oregon or are certified in another state
  • Renewal
    Maintain your full certification

Remember: Uncertified technicians cannot have direct patient care responsibilities


Laws & Rules Governing Hemodialysis Technicians

 

 


Provisional Certification

If you have not previously worked as a hemodialysis technician in Oregon you can apply for provisional certification. Provisional certification will allow you to begin learning the skills and responsibilities of a hemodialysis technician. In order to get provisional certification you must:

Step 1: Complete the PDF iconcertification application and check the box for Provisional Certification Initial; and

Step 2: Send in

A. The certification application;
B. The $37.50 fee. We are unable to accept credit cards or payment by phone. Please make your check or money order payable to the Oregon Health Authority; and 
C. A copy of your high school diploma, GED certificate, or your high school transcript to

Health Facility Licensing and Certification Program
Oregon Health Authority
PO Box 14260
Portland, OR 97293-0450

Step 3: When the Oregon Health Authority has your complete packet, your application will be processed and the provisional certification will be mailed to qualified applicants.

A Provisional Certification is valid for six months and can be renewed for one additional six month period.


Provisional Certification Renewal

If you have been provisionally certified for six months or less you can apply for renewal of your provisional certification. Provisional Certification Renewal applications must be received at least three weeks prior to the Provisional Certification expiration date in order to allow for renewal processing. In order to have your provisional certification renewed you must:

Step 1. Complete the PDF iconcertification application and check the box for Provisional Certification Renewal
Step 2: Send in:

A. The certification application and 

B. The $37.50 fee. Renewal applications received less than three weeks prior to the Provisional Certification expiration date must include the $37.50 renewal fee and a $25.00 late fee. We are unable to accept credit cards or payment by phone. Please make your check or money order payable to the Oregon Health Authority; to

Health Facility Licensing and Certification Program
Oregon Health Authority
PO Box 14260
Portland, OR 97293-0450

Step 3: When the Oregon Health Authority has received your complete packet, your application will be processed and provisional certification renewal will be sent to qualified applicants.

Provisional Certification Renewal is valid for six months and cannot be renewed again.

Full Certification

If you have been provisionally certified in Oregon or certified in another state you can apply for full certification. In order to get Full Certification you must:

Step 1: Pass a national commercially available certification examination. The national commercially available certification examinations are CCHTBONENT, NNCC and NNCO. Documentation showing that you previously passed one of these examinations will also satisfy this requirement. 

Step 2: Once you have passed the examination you must send the Oregon Health Authority a copy of your numerical test score from the certification entity showing your examination results.

Step 3: Complete the PDF iconcertification application and check the box for Full Certification;

Step 4: Determine the fee by consulting the chart below. Fees are prorated according to the application date. 

Fees are prorated by when you apply for full certification Application Dates Application Fee
Full Fee for applications received 
19-24 months before expiration date
July 1, 2017 - December 31, 2017 $150.00
Prorated Fee for applications received
13-18 months before expiration date
January 1, 2018 - June 30, 2018 $112.50
Prorated Fee for applications received
7-12 months before expiration date
July 1, 2018 - December 31, 2018 $75.00
Prorated Fee for applications received
1-6 months before expiration date
January 1, 2019 - June 30, 2019 $37.50


We are unable to accept credit cards or payment by phone. Please make your check or money order payable to the Oregon Health Authority.  

Step 5: Send in

A. The certification application,
B. The correct fee,
C. Your examination results, and
D. A copy of your high school diploma, GED certificate, or your high school transcript to 

Health Facility Licensing and Certification Program
Oregon Health Authority
PO Box 14260
Portland, OR 97293-0450

Step 6: When the Oregon Health Authority has received your complete packet, your application will be processed and the certification will be mailed to qualified applicants.

Once granted, Full Certification is valid until June 30, 2019 and can be renewed for two years.

Renewal Certification

If you have been fully certified in Oregon you can apply for renewal of your certification. Applications for 2019 - 2021 full certification renewals must be postmarked on or before May 30, 2019. Hemodialysis technicians cannot legally work after the certification expires. In order to have your certification renewed you must:

Step 1. Complete continuing education units (CEU) during the two year certification period. The number of CEUs you need is prorated if you have been fully certified for a less than two years. Consult the CEU chart below to determine how many CEUs you need.

CEUs are prorated based on your certification date Certification Dates CEUs
Full CEUs for certification received 
17-24 months before expiration date
July 1, 2017 - December 31, 2017 20 CEUs
Prorated CEUs for certification received
16-18 months before expiration date
January 1, 2018 - March 31, 2018 15 CEUs
Prorated CEUs for certification received
13-15 months before expiration date
April 1, 2018 - June 30, 2018 12.5 CEUs
Prorated CEUs for certification received
10-12 months before expiration date
July 1, 2018 - September 30, 2018 10 CEUs
Prorated CEUs for certification received
1-9 months before expiration date
October 1, 2018 - June 30, 2019 7.5 CEUs

Step 2: Complete the hemodialysis technician work hours. The number of work hours you need is prorated if you have been fully certified for less than two years. Consult the Required Work Hours chart below to determine how many work hours you need.

Required Work Hours are prorated by your certification date Certification Dates Required Work Hours
Full Work Hours for certification received
17-24 months before expiration date
July 1, 2017 - December 31, 2017 1000 hours
Prorated Work Hours for certification received
16-18 months before expiration date
January 1, 2018 - March 31, 2018 750 hours
Prorated Work Hours for certification received
13-15 months before expiration date
April 1, 2018 - June 30, 2018 625 hours
Prorated Work Hours for certification received
10-12 months before expiration date
July 1, 2018 - September 30, 2018 500 hours
Prorated Work Hours for certification received
1-9 months before expiration date
October 1, 2018 - June 30, 2019 375 hours

Step 3: Complete the PDF iconcertification application and check the box for Full Certification Renewal

Step 4: Send in

A. The certification application; and
B. Documentation of CEUs completed during the previous 2 year certification period;
C. Documentation of hours worked as a hemodialysis technician during the previous 2 year certification period;
D. The $150.00 renewal fee. Renewal applications postmarked after May 30, 2019 must include the $150.00 renewal fee and a $25.00 late fee. We are unable to accept credit cards or payment by phone. Please make your check or money order payable to the Oregon Health Authority;

Health Facility Licensing and Certification Program
Oregon Health Authority
PO Box 14260
Portland, OR 97293-0450

Step 5: When the Oregon Health Authority has received your complete packet, your application will be processed and the renewal certification will be mailed to qualified applicants.

 
Once granted Renewal Certification is valid for two years and must be renewed every two years.

If you have any questions about the hemodialysis technician certification, please e-mail your inquiry to mailbox.hclc@state.or.us
 
                              If you need any of this information in large print, please contact us:
Phone: 971-673-0540     Fax: 971-673-0556     TTY: 711

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how

×