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Introduction

The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2089 enacted on February
17, 2009. The Act provides for incentive paymeantkligible Professionals (EP)
and Eligible Hospitals (EH) to promote the adoptma meaningful use of
certified electronic health records (EHR).

Eligible health care providers who serve Oregordstaulnerable individuals can
access up to $63,750 over six years in federahineefunds to help support the
implementation and use of certified electronic tieedcord systems in clinics and
hospitals across the state.

The use of electronic health records improves tradity of care provided to
patients by providing immediate access to patieméslical histories, reducing
repetitive testing and preventing harmful drugreatment interactions.

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMiinisters the Medicare
EHR Incentive Programs, and the Oregon Health Atthe Division of Medical
Assistance Programs administers the Medicaid EHRritive Program. Providers
must choose between the Medicare and Medicaid fivesn Program
requirements differ between the two programs, aedib&id incentives are about
$20,000 more than Medicare incentives per eligiotevider.

Prepare and Apply

The Oregon Administrative Rules for the MedicaidREHhcentive Program can
be found anttp://www.dhs.state.or.us/policy/healthplan/guideshri/main.html

The Medicaid EHR Incentive Program application proc  ess overview
Initiating an application for a Medicaid EHR incemt payment requires a two-
step, overnight process. Providers must first tegisith CMS, and then apply
(or “attest”) with the State of Oregon.

The Medical Assistance Provider Incentive Repogi(tMAPIR) is a Web-based
program administered by the Oregon Health Authebtyision of Medical
Assistance Programs’ Medicaid EHR Incentive Progtiaa allows Eligible
Professionals and Eligible Hospitals to apply farantive payments to help defray
the costs of a certified EHR system.



CMS opened registration for Oregon providers stgrtin September 5, 2011, and
Oregon began accepting applications for the MediE&R Incentive Program on
September 26, 2011.

Graphic: Preparation and Application Steps for Ince ntive Program

Step 1 - Prepare to apply by completing all "preparation steps”

Step 2 - On or after September 5th, register with CMS for the Medicaid

EHR Incentive Program ‘

Overnight process

-

Step 3- On or after September 26th, Apply and attest to eligibility criteria
for the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program in Oregon

High-level information about the incentive prograntluding eligibility
requirements and frequently asked questions, iaded on our program website:
www.MedicaidEHRIncentives.oregon.gov

Preparation Steps

Before an application can be completed, the folmisteps need to be taken.
There is a videohttp://youtu.be/bnoSc4wjwH8o help step through these items.
It has a particular focus on accessing the Prowideln Portal, but the first 15
minutes is a general overview of the process. Manyiders may already have
some of these in place as part of their normalr®ass activities:

1. Adopt, implement, or upgrade to a certified EHRtsys If you have not
done these, sedssistance with EHR systeras needed
(http://www.medicaidehrincentives.oregon.gov/OHA/thhi
ehr-support.shtml).

2. Be an Oregon Health Plan provider. If you are mwtently enrolled as an
active Oregon Health Plan providenroll now
(http://www.oregon.gov/OHA/healthplan/tools_provisiderenroll.shtm.

3. NPl is registered with the Division of Medical Astsince
Programs (DMAP).

If you have not registered your NP1 with DMA&yntact them now
(https://apps.state.or.us/Forms/Served/oe1038.lldHu do not have an
NPI, apply for one with thélational Plan and Provider Enumeration




System(NPPEShttps://nppes.cms.hhs.gov/INPPES/
StaticForward.do?forward=static.instructipns

Sign upfor direct deposit for the Oregon Health Plan
(www.oregon.gov/dhs/healthplan/tools _prov/provideodirshtmi#signup.
The Medicaid EHR Incentive Program will depositantve payments
directly into your designated account.

Oregon's financial system must be set up to allvectideposit to the
correct tax identification number (TIN) bank accbun

Assignment of payment is not done until registesitp CMS in the R&A
system by identifying the TIN and NPI of the reeif.

Whether or not you plan on assigning a paymenasgensure now that the
account to receive the payment is set up for doteposit with DMAP. The
provider’'s TIN would be a social security number.

. Access to the Provider Web Portal. The DMR®Vvider Web Portalill be

the only mechanism for providers to apply for Omredtedicaid EHR
incentive paymentsftps://www.or-medicaid.gov/ProdPortal/default.gspx
The person who completes the Medicaid EHR IncerRnagiram
application must be assigned to the provider's pagtal account. If a
provider would like a representative to compleiticentive application,
the representative must be designated in the sySttriing on September
26, 2011, the provider and/or person with authdotgssign roles for the
provider in the Provider Web Portal, must assignriépresentative to the
role of “EHR Incentives.” If you or providers in yoclinic need to enroll
with the Provider Web Portal, please be awareitltain take 4 — 6 weeks
for the enrollment process.

Application Steps
1. Register now with CMS. The Medicare & Medicaid EHigentive

w N

Program Registration and Attestation System (R&A,;
https://ehrincentives.cms.gov/hitech/login.ac}isarves as a federal
repository to register hospitals and track paymemteospitals for the
Medicare and Medicaid EHR Incentive Programs. Reggisn is required
for all providers seeking incentive payments. Forennformation on what
you need to do to prepare for registration with Cg&e the Registration
User Guide PDFhttp://www.cms.gov/EHRIncentivePrograms/Downloads/
EHRMedicaidEP_ReqistrationUserGuide pd@MS also has a video
(www.youtube.com/watch?v=kL-d7zj44Favailable to help explain the
registration process.

Review thisManualto understand the program and prepare for attestat
Enter your data into thgligible Providers Worksheet
(http://www.medicaidehrincentives.oregon.gov/OHA/tfdocs/




eligible-professional-worksheet.XI® help organize your information to
attest with Oregon.

4. Review this Manual’s appendix section on how to plate your
application in the MAPIR system.

5. Complete an application with Oregon’s Medicaid EHBentive Program.
Starting on September 26, 2011, providers can totp dheProvider Web
Portalto access the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program agipdn
(https://www.or-medicaid.gov/ProdPortal/default.gspx

Payments

Maximum amount

An eligible professional can receive up to $63,8%6r six years. Pediatricians
who meet a 20% Medicaid patient volume but fallrsbbthe 30% Medicaid
patient volume are can receive two-thirds of tleemtive payment for a total of up
to $42,500.

Years of participation

Payment years do not need to be consecutive (fampbe, if providers adopt a
certified EHR but do not meet the meaningful useca in the next year, they
may choose to skip payment years). Eligible Prodesss (EP) must initiate
participation no later than 2016.

Payment structure

In the first year of the program, EPs will rece$241,250. Providers are eligible
for $8,500 for each of the subsequent five yeagsadicipation. The program
ends with payment year 2021. Incentive paymentpddiatricians who meet the
20% Medicaid patient volume but fall short of tH@/@Medicaid patient volume
are reduced to $14,167 in the first year and $5i66&lbsequent years.

Provider Incentive Payment Payout Examples

EP participates in EP participates in EP initiates
Payment : : .
oar consecutive years, non-consecutive payments in
y starting in 2011 years 2016
2011 $21,250 $0 $0
2012 $8,500 $21,250 $0
2013 $8,500 $0 $0



Payment
year

2014
2015
2016
2017
2018
2019
2020
2021
Total

EP participates in
consecutive years,
starting in 2011

$8,500
$8,500
$8,500
$0

$0

$0

$0

$0
$63,750

Processing and Payments
Most applications are requiring some additionatifitation or documentation
from applicants. Therefore, after you submit ygoplacation, you should
anticipate getting a communication from progranff steking for some additional
documentation.

EP participates in
non-consecutive
years

$8,500
$8,500
$8,500
$0

$0
$8,500
$8,500
$0
$63,750

EP initiates
payments in
2016

$0

$0
$21,250
$8,500
$8,500
$8,500
$8,500
$8,500
$63,750

Once your application has been completely reviewed,have provided any
necessary supplemental documentation, and youicapph is approved, you will
then receive your payment within 45 days of approva

Your payment will be processed as an ElectroniadFtnansfer, and will be
indicated on the Provider Remittance Advice (RABsstems Payouts — Non-
claim specific.



Participation Guidelines

Length of participation

DURATION OF PROGRAM
The Medicaid EHR Incentive Program begins in 20dd eoncludes
in 2021.

YEARS OF PARTICIPATION
Providers may participate for up to six years amy skip
participation years.

IMPLEMENTATION YEARS

Providers can start the program in any year frodil20 2016. Eligible
professionals have 60 days after the end of thenpayyear to apply for an
incentive payment. The payment year for eligiblefggsionals is based on the
calendar year (i.e., Jan. 1 - Dec. 31). For exani@b. 29, 2012 is the last day to
apply for a 2011 payment.

One state
Providers may receive an incentive payment frony onk state for
a payment year.

One incentive program

Providers must choose to participate in eitheMledicare EHR Incentive
Program or the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program. Tim&y not participate in
both in any given payment year.

Switch between Medicare and Medicaid

A one-time switch between the Medicare and Medi&aiR Incentive Programs
in either direction is allowed after receiving @ast one incentive payment, and
only for a payment year before 2015. If an eligipefessional (EP) switches
programs, in no case may an EP exceed $63,75@entine payments (which is
the Medicaid limit of $63,750).

Assignment of payment
Assignment of payment is permitted but must meefdlowing criteria:
» The assignment must be voluntary.



* The assignment may only be to the eligible protessis employer or an
entity that has a contractual arrangement to bdl eeceive payment for the
eligible professional’s covered professional sessic

» The decision on whether or not an incentive payneta be assigned is an
issue for the eligible professional and employecantractual entity to decide.
CMS and Oregon will not become involved to resalisputes about
assignment of payment. In the case of fraud, Orsegdedicaid EHR
Incentive Program staff will report the informatitomthe appropriate law
enforcement agency.

* The entire incentive payment amount must be asdignene entity for any
given payment year.

How will the question be asked in Oregon’s MAPIR ap  plication system?
Assignment of payment is set up at the CMS Redgistraite. Information
needed to assign a payment includes the assighi®¢and NPI. The payee
information will display at the top of each MAPIRreen based on the
information given at the CMS Registration site.

NOTE: The payee for an incentive payment must lvelkea with Oregon’s
Division of Medical Assistance Programs (DMAP). Tdreoliment must be in
place before an Oregon’s Medicaid EHR IncentivegRam application can be

completed.
\
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Eligibility and participation in the Medicaid EHR | ncentive Program: An overview
of eligibility requirements

Am | eligible for a
Medicaid EHR
incentive payment?

Sanctions;
HIPAA-

Certified compliant?

EHR Eligible
Technolog provider

type?

—

Hospital- -
Based Meet minimum
==} Medicaid

patient volum

11



Eligibility

Provider type
RULE

The following types of providers, or Medicaid Elig Professionals (EPSs),

may be eligible for the Medicaid EHR Incentive Pang if they meet all

other requirements:

* Physicians (MD, DO) - Doctor of Medicine and DoctdOsteopathy

» Pediatricians — a Physician who predominately tiredividuals under 21 years
of age (special eligibility and payment rules apply

* Nurse Practitioners (NP), including Nurse PraatiéoNurse-Midwives

» Dentists

DETAIL

The eligible professional needs to meet and folleevscope of practice
regulations, as applicable (as defined in 42 CHR42). Licensing board and
data in MMIS will be used to verify provider types.

Pediatricians with Medicaid patient volume 20% weader, but less than 30%
need to select the Pediatrician type. Pediatriomtis Medicaid patient volume of
30% or more need to select the Physician typederdio receive the full incentive
payment amount.

A\

How will the question be asked in Oregon’s MAPIR ap  plication system?

Providers will be asked to select their providgretyn both the CMS registratior
system and again in the application for an Oregewlibhid EHR incentive
payment.

12



Hospital-based Providers

RULE

Hospital-based providers are not eligible for thedidare or Medicaid EHR
Incentive Programs because hospitals can recereatives directly. “Hospital-
based” means 90% or more of “covered servicespereided in an inpatient or
emergency department setting. This rule does ray ap eligible professionals
who practice predominantly in a Federally Qualifiéglalth Center (FQHC) or
Rural Health Center (RHC).

HoOw IT IS DETERMINED
To figure out if a provider is hospital-based, tbkowing calculation method
should be used:

For all paid Medicaid encounters the prior calengkar

Total count of all Medicaid encounters that occdiirean emergency department
(Place of Service 23) or inpatient setting (Plac8ervice 21)

Total count of all Medicaid encounters that occdrireall settings

DETAIL
Hospital-based is NOT based on or determined kaiceoccupations
or employers.

EXAMPLE

Doctor A is a cardiologist, works for a hospital+wad clinic, and worked in three
settings in 2010. He is applying for a Medicaid EldBentive payment for
payment year 2011 but is concerned he may be labspised.

2010 MEDICAID ENCOUNTERS

Place of Service Number of paid Medicaid Encounters

Inpatient 100
Emergency Room 50
Office 200
Total 350

13



EXAMPLE CALCULATION
In the entirecalendar year 2010:

Total count of all Medicaid encounters that occdiirean emergency
department
(Place of Service 23) or inpatient setting (Plac8earvice 21)

Total count of all Medicaid encounters that occdireall settings
150 ‘

350

EXAMPLE OUTCOME:
Doctor A is not hospital-based for payment yearl2@®.9% of all paid Medicaid
encounters in 2010 took place in a hospital setting

How will the question be asked in Oregon’s MAPIR ap  plication system?
Providers will be asked to answer “yes” or “no’tasvhether they are hospital-

based when they apply for an incentive payment.

Adopt, Implement, or Upgrade (AlU) to certified EHR  technology

RULE

In the first year of participation, providers dameed to meet meaningful use

reporting requirements. Rather, they will attedhi® adoption, implementation

or upgrade (AlU) of certified EHR technology.

» Adopt: Acquire, purchase, or secure access tdieerfctHR technology

* Implement: Install or commence utilization of cketl EHR technology
capable of meeting meaningful use requirements

» Upgrade: Expand the available functionality of fied EHR technology
capable of meeting meaningful use requirementsegptactice site, including
staffing, maintenance, and training, or upgradefexisting EHR technology
to certified EHR technology per the ONC EHR cectifion criteria

14



HoOw IT IS DETERMINED

A CMS EHR Certification ID is obtained from ti@&dNC Certified HIT Product
List (CHPL,; http://onc-chpl.force.com/ehrcgmhich has a complete up-to-date
list of certified EHR systems.

DETAIL

Adopt, Implement, or Upgrade is unique to the MatldEHR Incentive Program.
Providers who participate in the Medicare EHR Ins@nProgram must report
meaningful use in all years of participation. Thisrao reporting period for

AlU, which means providers can adopt at any timergo applying for an
incentive payment.

Complete EHRs and EHR modules are required to hi#iee through an
Authorized Testing and Certified BodfTCB;
http://healthit.nhs.gov/portal/server.pt?open=512%e=2&0bjID=312(
designated by the Office of the National Coording@NC). The certified EHRs
on the list are identified with the name of thetifgng ATCB, the ONC
certification number, vendor information, produdformation, and product
version number. All modules used must be seleoted & a complete certified
EHR is used — e.g., a certified complete systensesl with a separate data
repository that is certified as a module. Both nhesselected.

m will the question be asked in Oregon’s MAPIR ap  plication system? \
adopte

Adopt, Implement, or Upgrade: Providers will select whether they have
implemented or upgraded to certified EHR technology

Certified EHR Technology: Providers will be asked to enter their 15-digl€
EHR Certification ID from the ONC Certified HIT Ritact List website.

Documentation: At the end of the application, providers shouldoapl
documentation as proof of adopting, implementingjmgrading to a certified
EHR technology.

CMS is requiring that Oregon validate this eligtgikriterion by verifying at least
one of the four following types of documentation:

» copy of a software licensing agreement

» contract

* invoices

* receipt that validates your acquisition

Vendor letters and other documents may also be isiglohas a supplement to the

items on the documentation list above. Howeversdtmipplemental documents
will not satisfv proaram eliaibilitv reauirements dreir own
N # 15




Practices Predominantly in an FQHC or RHC

RULE

Eligible professionals who practice predominamiyan FQHC or RHC

may use “needy individuals” rather than strictlyéicaid” in the patient volume

calculation. Needy individuals include the follogin

* Person who is receiving assistance under Title piib€dicaid);

* Person who is receiving assistance under Title gCHIP);

* Person who is furnished uncompensated care byrtvedpr;

» Person for whom charges are reduced by the prowitarsliding scale basis
based on the individual's ability to pay

For more information about calculations for eligilplrofessionals who practice
predominantly in a FQHC or RHC, see the “Eligibleeder Manual for
Federally Qualified Health Centers and Rural He@lgmters.”

How will the question be asked in Oregon’s MAPIR ap  plication system?
Providers will be asked “yes” or “no” as to whethieey practice predominantl
in an FQHC or an RHC.

Patient volume
OVERVIEW
Providers must meet at least 30% Medicaid patiehtrae (20% for pediatricians)
calculated at the individual provider or the gralipic level. There are multiple
ways to calculate patient volume; “patient encotiraad the more complex,
“patient panel.” Most providers who will qualify féthe Medicaid EHR Incentive
Program will meet the minimum Medicaid patient vokithreshold using the
patient encounter method which is represented ist wicthe program
documentation and guideline detail. However, fasthproviders who do not
gualify using the patient encounter method, pafoamel is an option.

Part of the application process for the MedicaidRHHcentive Program requires
the applicanto provide and attest to their patient volume d@éta understand that
this might be a challenge for some providers, paldrly if they are still in the
process of moving from paper to an EHR, but comgithat information is part of
the application process. The Medicaid EHR Incenflvegram staff is not able to
provide patient data to providers to use in thppli@ations. Data sources used to
support patient volume attestations are requirdzbteetained for seven years.

16



CMS “Patient Encounter” Calculation requirement

Total Medicaid patient encounters*

Total patient encounters
*In any representative 90-day period in the pridermaar year. See CHIP Proxy
section below.

INDIVIDUAL PROVIDER PATIENT VOLUME OPTION

Providers can choose to calculate their patientmel individually, selecting
one or more clinic locations where they practiagethe prior calendar year,
and reporting aggregate patient encounters fonairemus, representative
90-day period.

GROUP/CLINIC PATIENT VOLUME OPTION

If you are part of a practice or clinic, the patigalume may be calculated on a
group level, which means the encounters for aktjgraners (eligible and non-
eligible providers) in a group practice are useddtermine patient volume. You
will need to individually demonstrate meaningfuéws certified EHR technology
after your first year and will be eligible for omeentive payment each year,
regardless of the number of practices or locations.

Patient Patient
Encounter Panel

Group Individual Group Individual

RULE

A Medicaid encounter means:

» Services rendered on any one day to an individbarerMedicaid paid for part
or all of the service or,

» Services rendered on any one day to an individharerMedicaid paid for part
or all of the premiums, co-payments, and/or coatisly.

Out of State Medicaid patients may be includedegatient volume.

17



CHIP PrRoxy

The following information will help providers deteine their patient volume,
especially regarding the Children's Health InsueaPlan (CHIP). Because the
Oregon Health Plan (OHP) includes both Medicaid @RdP funding, providers
do not have a way of knowing which funding streammger their OHP patients.
The federal rule around the Medicaid EHR IncenBvegram does not allow
encounters paid by CHIP to be counted as parteoMédicaid patient volume
unless the patient is seen at an FQHC or RHC. mplgy calculations, Oregon
determined a CHIP proxy of 4.4% (based on stateaigeages) which has been
approved by CMS for patient volume calculationg@vrters applying for an
Oregon Medicaid EHR incentive should calculatertpatient volume by applying
the CHIP proxy. Providers reduce their OHP encasritg 4.4% before
submitting their patient volume using the followifagmula:

Oregon's “Patient Encounter” Calculation requiretnesing CHIP proxy

Oregon Health Plan encounters* x 0.956

Total patient encounters
*In any representative 90-day period in the prialeadar year.

If you do not meet the patient volume thresholeshgshe CHIP proxy, and believe
you meet the patient volume threshold because gwa heason to believe that
your CHIP patient volume is lower than 4.4% (peghbpcause you see few or no
children in your practice), please contact the mtiwe Program staff for assistance
at the time of attestation to determine your aculedlicaid patient volume.

EXAMPLE

Doctor X is applying for a Medicaid EHR incentivayment for payment year
2011. She has chosen a representative 90-day fertegort patient volume
in 2010 from January 15 to April 15, 2010.

EXAMPLE ENCOUNTERS — JANUARY 15, 2010 — APRIL 15, 2010

Payee Number of rendered encounters

OHP 200
OHP *0.956 191
All other sources, not including Medicaid 100
Total 300

18



EXAMPLE CALCULATION
OHP x 0.956

Total patient encounters '
191

300

EXAMPLE OUTCOME

Doctor X meets the patient volume threshold forrpewt year 2011. 63.7% of
all encounters were rendered to Medicaid clientking Doctor X potentially
eligible for a Medicaid EHR incentive payment.

(/' How will guestion be asked in Oregon’s Incentive Pa  yment Application? \

The application will calculate the percentage fatignt volume. Providers will
enter their rendered encounters for the 90-dayftamnee:

Which clinics? Provider selects which clinic omatis for which they
will be reporting patient volume

90-day period Enter start date and the 90-day gesicalculated

In state numerator | Total OHP*0.956

Total numerator Add “in-state numerator” plus any-of-state patient
encounters

\ Denominator Total encounters )

Patient Volume: Patient Encounter — Group

DETAIL
The group patient volume may not be appropriatdlinircumstances and may
only be used when all of the following apply:

(I) The group’s patient volume is appropriate* seun the patient volume
calculation for the eligible professional;

(Il) There is an auditable data source to sup@igtroup’s patient volume data;
(111) All eligible professionals in the group musse the same patient volume
calculation method for the payment year;

19



(IV) The group uses the entire practice or clingéient volume, including non-
eligible providers who are billing, rendering amtidlary providers, and does not
limit patient volume in any way; and

(V) If an eligible professional works inside andside of the group, then the
patient volume calculation includes only those emters associated with the
group, and not the eligible professional’s out®deounters.

*Appropriate” has been further refined to reflélat an eligible professional (EP) can use the gisopatient

volume when both:

» The provider was a part of the practice at any fimtbe prior calendar year, AND

e The provider served at least one Medicaid patiehefe Medicaid paid at least part of the serviteny
practice in the prior calendar year.

How THIS WORKS
EXAMPLE 1: GROUP PATIENT VOLUME INCLUDING NON-EPS

All encounters for each provider in the group atded together to achieve the
patient volume threshold

Physician A - Nurse Practitioner B — Registered Nurse C —

100 OHP patient encounters 100 OHP patient encounters 100 OHP patient encounters

(96 adjusted by CHIP proxy) (96 adjusted by CHIP proxy) (96 adjusted by CHIP proxy)

400 Total patient encounters 200 Total patient encounters 150 Total patient encounters
25% Individual Medicaid volume 50% Individual Medicaid volume 66% Individual Medicaid volume

GROUP CALCULATION

Total Medicaid Encounters =300
Total Patient Encounters = 750
Group Patient Volume = 40%

Result: Physician A and Nurse Practitioner B cgolyafor an incentive payment using the
group patient volume

20



EXAMPLE 2

Group patient volume for a provider with no Medetaisits during 90-day period
In 2010 Doctor B was a part of Practice ABC andeaerat least one (but probably
more) Medicaid patients at that location. In Octdd@10, Doctor B moved to
Practice XYZ and did not serve Medicaid patientsthe rest of 2010. Doctor B
did start to see Medicaid patients again in 201Rrattice XYZ.

Practice XYZ adopted certified EHR technology il2@nd the five eligible
professionals in the clinic, including Doctor Beapplying for Medicaid EHR
incentive payments. They will be using JanuaryMarch 30, 2010 as their 90-
day patient volume period, and will apply usingitiggoup patient volume.

Even though Doctor B did not contribute to any cddtice XYZ's Medicaid
encounters for the 90-day patient volume periogl dibctor can still use Practice
XYZ's group patient volume. The reason is that Dot was a part of Practice
XYZ in 2010 and had at least one Medicaid encountére previous practice.

ExXAMPLE ENCOUNTERS — JANUARY 1, 2010 — MARCH 30, 2010

PAYEE NUMBER OF BILLED ENCOUNTERS FOR THE
CLINIC

OHP 1000

OHP *0.956 956

ALL OTHER SOURCES, NOT INCLUDING 1700

MEDICAID

TOTAL 2700

ExAMPLE CALCULATION

OHP x 0.956

Total patient encounters '
956

2700
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EXAMPLE OUTCOME

The five eligible professionals meet the patierittivee threshold for payment year
2011. 35.4% of all encounters were rendered to déedliclients, making each
eligible professional potentially eligible for a Bieaid EHR incentive payment.

fl—low will the question be asked in Oregon’s MAPIR ap  plication system? \
The application will calculate the percentage fatignt volume. Providers will
enter their groups billed encounters for the 904ilagframe:

90-day period Enter start date and the 90-day gesicalculated

In-state numerator Total OHP*0.956

Total numerator Add “in-state numerator” plus amy-of-state patient
encounters

Denominator Total encounters J

o
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Patient Volume: Patient panel - Individual

RULE

If providers cannot meet at least 30% Medicaidgraitvolume (20% for
pediatricians) threshold using the patient encauntthod, they may choose to
calculate using the patient panel method by incatony the patients assigned

to the individual provider’s panel. Providers céspause the patient panel method
using a group patient panel calculation.

HoOw IT IS DETERMINED
Providers select any representative 90-day penidld prior calendar year and

apply it to the following formula:

Total Medicaid patients assigned to
the provider’s panel* with at least +
one encounter in the prior year

Unduplicated Medicaid
encounters

Tota! pat’|ents asilgr?ed to the N Unduplicated
provider’s panel* with at least one encounters

encounter in the prior year j

*Panel is defined as: A managed care panel, medrda¢alth home program
panel, or similar provider structure with capitatior case assignment that assigns
patients to providers.

*In Oregon, all providers will use theHIP proxyfor the Medicaid encounters

DETAIL

Although some managed care providers may benefi frsing this method, other
managed care providers may not be able to uséhieyfdo not have an auditable
data source or the ability to determine which pasi@re on a panel.
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EXAMPLE

Patient Panel Calculation

Step Calculation Action Example Notes Example
Component formula input
Step 1 | Time frame Pick a 90-day period in Jan 1,2010 —
the prior calendar year Mar 31, 2010
Step 2 | Numerator 1 Count patients on your| Example - 300 OHP | 250*95.6%=239
panel in the selected | patients on a panel in
90-day period who had the 90-day period. Of
at least one OHP those, 250 were seen
encounter in the entire| at least once in 2010.
prior calendar year ang Reduce 250 by 4.4%
reduce by CHIP proxy | to eliminate CHIP
of 4.4%. If you are patients.
including out-of-state
patients, be sure to ad(
these in to your
calculation.
Step 3 | Numerator 2 Count all other OHP | Example - 100 100*95.6%=96
patients not assigned t( additional OHP
any panel in the clinic | patients were seen in
but who were seen in | the 90-day period whd
the selected 90-day | were not on any other|
period and reduce by | providers' panel in the
CHIP proxy of 4.4%. If| clinic. Reduce 100 by
you are including out- | 4.4%.
of-state encounters, be
sure to add these in to
your calculation.
Step 4 | Total Numerator Add Step 1 and Step 2| 239 + 96 335
Step 5 | Denominator 1 | Count all patients on | Example - 500 total | 450
your panel in the 90- | patients on a panel in
day period selected 90-day period; of
who had at least one | those, 450 were seen
encounter in the entire| in Jan-Dec 2010
prior calendar year
Step 6 | Denominator 2 | Count all other patients Example - 200 200
not assigned to any additional patients
panel who were seen il were seen who were
the selected 90-day not on any other
period providers' panel
Step 7 | Total Add step 5 and step 6 | 450 + 200 650
Denominator
Step 8 | Calculate Divide results of Step 4 335/650 52%
Patient Volume | by results of Step 7
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How will the question be asked in Oregon ’'s MAPIR application system?

The application will calculate the percentage fatignt volume. Providers
will enter their panel figures for the 90 day timeahe:

90-day period Enter start date and the 90-day gesicalculated
Total Medicaid (Total OHP*0.956) + (any out-of-state Medicaid
Patients on the patients) on your panel in the 90-day timeframel, an
Individual were seen at least once in the prior calendar year
Practitioner Panel 1

(numerator)

Unduplicated (Total OHP*0.956 encounters) + (any out-of-state
Medicaid Only Medicaid encounters) for patients not on your panel
Encounter Volume 2 who were seen in the 90-day selected timeframe
(numerator)

Total Patients on the Total panel who were seen at least once in the prig
Individua