Tools for Schools
The Oregon Health Licensing Agency (OHLA) created this "Tools for Schools" Web page to facilitate the certification process for graduating students. Our goal is to help qualified candidates obtain certification as quickly as possible so they can start working. |
Do you have ideas for the "Tools for Schools" page? What information do you think would be helpful to schools and students? Call 503-378-8667 or e-mail email@example.com to let us know.
|OHLA and the Board of Cosmetology require the following information to be on each transcript received for students. Transcripts must be sent to OHLA directly from the Oregon educational institution (private career school, community college or high school). If the following information is not provided the transcript will not be accepted: |
Fax transcripts to 503-370-9004.
- Student’s name, address, and birth date
- School name and address
- School license number
- School seal or notary stamp
- Total hours for each field of practice taken including safety and sanitation and infection control.
- Barbering - 1100 hours
- Esthetics - 250 hours
- Hair Design - 1450 hours
- Nail Technology - 350 hours
- Safety/Infection Control - 150 hours
- Career Development - 100 hours
- Enrollment date and any prior enrollment dates or transferred hours (enclose transcripts from previous school)
- Graduation date
- Withdrawal date if applicable
- Date of practical examination
- Authorized signatures listed on the “Authorized Representative Form” filed with agency
Authorized Representatives for Official Transcripts Form
|Under Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) 817-030-0015 (2a), only authorized school personnel may submit completed official transcripts. |
These transcripts must be issued by an Oregon educational institution of barbering, hair design, esthetics or nail technology.
Completed original official transcripts of practical examination must be signed by an authorized school personnel proctoring the sanctioned examination, certifying that criteria for the practical examination was met and that the applicant satisfactorily demonstrated minimum competencies established by the Department of Education, Private Career Schools, in collaboration with OHLA and the Board of Cosmetology.
For most current transcripts, call Oregon Department of Education at (503) 947-5751.
|How to Get Certified|
|Click on the link below to find out how to become certified in one or more fields of cosmetology. |
How to Get Certified
|Recertification of Training|
|OAR 817-030-0065 requires applicants to obtain recertification of training after failing any section of the written examination on the third and sixth attempts. |
Please contact OHLA to obtain certificate of additional training forms for each field of practice and the Oregon Laws & Rules section of the examination. These certificates must be submitted by the school to OHLA upon completion of the applicant’s recertification.
Click here for more information on requirements for retaking the examination.
|Career School Communications|
Following is correspondence to Oregon cosmetology career schools from the Oregon Health Licensing Agency.