Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image
Tools for Schools

Facilitating Certification

Cosmetology student  
The Health Licensing Office (HLO) created this "Tools for Schools" Web page to facilitate the certification process for graduating students. Our goal is to help qualified candidates obtain certification as quickly as possible so they can start working.
Do you have ideas for the "Tools for Schools" page? What information do you think would be helpful to schools and students? Call 503-378-8667 or email hlo.info@state.or.us to let us know.
Back to Top

Transcript Requirements

HLO and the Board of Cosmetology require the following information to be on each transcript received for students. Transcripts must be sent to HLO directly from the Oregon educational institution (private career school, community college or high school). If the following information is not provided, the transcript will not be accepted:
  • Student’s name, address and birth date 
  • School name and address 
  • School license number 
  • School seal or notary stamp 
  • Total hours for each field of practice taken including safety and sanitation and infection control. 
    • Barbering - 1100 hours 
    • Esthetics - 250 hours 
    • Hair Design - 1450 hours 
    • Nail Technology - 350 hours 
    • Safety/Infection Control - 150 hours 
    • Career Development - 100 hours
  • Enrollment date and any prior enrollment dates or transferred hours (enclose transcripts from previous school) 
  • Graduation date 
  • Withdrawal date if applicable 
  • Date of practical examination 
  • Authorized signatures listed on the “Authorized Representative Form” filed with agency
Fax transcripts to 503-370-9004. Schools can also submit official transcripts via email. School representatives can contact the Office at 503-378-8667 to request the Authorized Representatives for Official Transcripts Form.
Back to Top

Transcript Submission

Under Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) 817-030-0015 (2a), only authorized school personnel may submit completed official transcripts.
These transcripts must be issued by an Oregon educational institution of barbering, hair design, esthetics or nail technology.
Completed original official transcripts of practical examination must be signed by an authorized school personnel proctoring the sanctioned examination, certifying that criteria for the practical examination were met and that the applicant satisfactorily demonstrated minimum competencies established by the Higher Education Coordinating Commission (HECC), Private Career Schools Licensing Unit (PCS), in collaboration with HLO and the Board of Cosmetology.
For most current transcripts, call HECC's Private Career Schools Licensing Unit at (503) 947-5751.

Back to Top

Recertification of Training

OAR 817-030-0065 requires applicants to obtain recertification of training after failing any section of the written examination on the third and sixth attempts.
Please contact HLO to obtain certificate of additional training forms for each field of practice and the Oregon Laws & Rules section of the examination. These certificates must be submitted by the school to HLO upon completion of the applicant’s recertification.
Requirements for retaking the examination

Back to Top

Office Closures

The Health Licensing Office is closed on state holidays. 
Back to Top

Career School Communications

Following is correspondence to Oregon cosmetology career schools from the Health Licensing Office. 


August 20, 2015 20 most common final ordered civil penalties
July 23, 2015 Electronic transmission of official transcripts from licensed career schools
​March 1, 2014 ​Laws and Rules Examination Updates
Back to Top

Quarterly Examination Reports

Back to Top

New cosmetology exams coming in January 2016

On Aug. 17, 2015, the Oregon Board of Cosmetology voted to adopt new blueprints for the barbering, hair design, esthetics and nail technology field of practice written examinations.

The new exam blueprints provide career schools with the information they need to prepare for the new written exams, which will be implemented on Jan. 1, 2016.

The blueprints, linked below, provide the following information for each exam: the number of questions, the time allotted, the sources used to reference each question, the percent of questions from each domain (or category), and the percent of questions asked from each skill set listed with in each category. The number of questions and the time allotted for exams has not changed; however, the percentage of questions from each domain and each skill set within each domain has changed substantially.

HLO office hours for testing remain 8 a.m.-1:30 p.m. Mondays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays, and 9 a.m.-1:30 p.m. Tuesdays.

If you have any questions or need additional information, please contact the Health Licensing Office at 503-373-1816 or check out our website.

Barber exam blueprint
Esthetics exam blueprint
Hair exam blueprint
Nail exam blueprint

To stay up-to-date on Board of Cosmetology business, join our interested parties mailing list.
Back to Top